PDA

View Full Version : Yasd #45108


Estie
May 29, 2010, 17:38
http://angband.oook.cz/ladder-show.php?id=10259

This one is nasty: recalled down, superb feeling, room full of hounds. White in the light radius of my lantern, grey outside. So i start meleeing...

You hit the Clear Hound....The Gravity Hound breathes....

Zikke
May 29, 2010, 17:39
That has happened to me many times. It's not probable that there will be multiple types of Hounds in the same room but sometimes it happens. Sorry to hear it!

Magnate
May 29, 2010, 18:15
That has happened to me many times. It's not probable that there will be multiple types of Hounds in the same room but sometimes it happens. Sorry to hear it!This is the reason I keep the monster list subwindow open. A quick glance tells you whether that pack of white Zs is all one type or not, without a single keypress. It's a no-brainer, IMO.

Zikke
May 29, 2010, 18:54
This is the reason I keep the monster list subwindow open. A quick glance tells you whether that pack of white Zs is all one type or not, without a single keypress. It's a no-brainer, IMO.

But I play fullscreen and the window is under the main window. :(

Sirridan
May 29, 2010, 20:03
Might be considered cheating, might not, but you can always change the color of the nastier hounds to purple so you know to avoid (at least the kind that are rather ambiguous with the color)

Fendell Orcbane
May 29, 2010, 21:26
Damn that sucks...but today or last night was bad...a lot of YASD's to go around. I'll have to be careful around the hounds.

Estie
May 30, 2010, 15:13
This is the reason I keep the monster list subwindow open. A quick glance tells you whether that pack of white Zs is all one type or not, without a single keypress. It's a no-brainer, IMO.

Excellent. I had aquired that habit in ToME, but it escaped me that V also has the option (since when ?). Fixed.

d_m
May 31, 2010, 17:19
It's worth noting that even if you play full screen you can always view the monster or item lists with [ and ] (respectively). This is also nice when the list overflows (you can scroll through the output of the list commands).

Derakon
May 31, 2010, 23:00
You can also use one display for the dungeon view and another display for lists, if you have two displays. :)