PDA

View Full Version : Problems angband winxp


smokie007
November 7, 2007, 14:30
Moin,

i've been playing angband & variants for some time. Every version (including 307s-309) runs fine until now. I don't know what have changed, but the versions 307s-309 don't want to run anymore. Older versions 305 & 306 and variants are running without problems. It seems to be a WinXP-Problem.
When i start angband.exe the process got started in the taskmanager. For short time the cursor shows the working sandclock and then ... nothing happens. The process keeps running, but no window was opened. It seems to me, that the "UI" couldn't been started.
I don't use any special options in angband (no graphics, just plain ascii) and i don't know something i installed, that should be the source of this error.
Is there any way to find the source of this error? Some debug-output or anything else? Am i the only one with this problem?

In hope for helping answers
greetings
smokie

Mondkalb
November 7, 2007, 14:47
It can't be WinXP alone, because I have no problems with 3.06/3.09.
Could it be any anti-virus software or firewall?

smokie007
November 7, 2007, 14:54
Just deactivated anti-virus and got no change. The only Firewall i use is the WinXP-thing and there seems to be no problems.
Thanks for every hint
smokie

Lipa
November 7, 2007, 15:46
If I understand correctly, you've already played other (or even the same) variants under WinXP successfully? So all of the sudden, they stopped responding?

Or is this a fresh WinXP install, on which you can't get Angband to work?

smokie007
November 7, 2007, 16:12
Hm,

the Windows-System runs for long time and every version (including 305 to 309) has been running perfectly. I don't know what happened, but from one day to another the versions 307s-to 309 (and oangband 110) don't show up anymore (the process is running). In the last time i don't play angband daily (or just , so i can't say what changed between status going to status not going. But the "oldies" 305 & 306 and the most of the variants are running. I think i have something installed (i don't think it was a windows update, but i don't really know) that starts the problem with the displaying of the game window. The main problem is: i don't know where to look.
I think some library (dll?) used for displaying angband has been overwritten (could it be the new gimp??) but this is just a shot into the dark...
So, what is the difference between 305, 306, variants & 307-309, oangband?

smokie

Lipa
November 7, 2007, 16:15
I'm almost embarrassed to ask - you did try to redownload and reinstall the games, right?

Otherwise, I'm afraid I can't help you. I've never had any such problems with any of the Angband variants...

Good luck!

smokie007
November 7, 2007, 16:23
Yes, i've downloaded it again (angband 309) and got the same result :(

Mondkalb
November 7, 2007, 17:59
I had sometimes a similar error with display settings. I got an error message saying that something was to large or out of borders of the screen or whatever. I believe, this was related with the settings in the angband.ini.
Try to use settings from the angband.ini from the older working version.

zaimoni
November 7, 2007, 18:23
I had sometimes a similar error with display settings. I got an error message saying that something was to large or out of borders of the screen or whatever. I believe, this was related with the settings in the angband.ini.
Try to use settings from the angband.ini from the older working version.Or simply delete the current angband.ini and let angband regenerate it.

Mondkalb
November 7, 2007, 18:50
But the creation seems to be part of the problem, if a fresh downloaded and installed version won't work.

Nick
November 7, 2007, 19:53
I've had this problem with Oangband 110 on XP too. I've been blaming the savefile loading system, but maybe that isn't the problem after all. Windows seems to be making things increasingly difficult...

Kandrew
November 7, 2007, 22:03
I get exactly the same problem. I download the game, unzip to a folder, run the exe and nothing happens. The service is running but no game. I'm running it on Vista. Tried running in XP compatibility and as an admin but no luck. 3.0.6 works fine but nothing after that.

andrewdoull
November 8, 2007, 02:26
I get exactly the same problem. I download the game, unzip to a folder, run the exe and nothing happens. The service is running but no game. I'm running it on Vista. Tried running in XP compatibility and as an admin but no luck. 3.0.6 works fine but nothing after that.

There's an Unangband thread also relating to this. Apparently, removing all the *band versions you have, restarting and reinstalling them fixes it.

Andrew

smokie007
November 9, 2007, 12:59
Well, it happens as it have to happen.
Yesterday i have booted my Windows, right after the Desktop was displayed i've clicked the shortcut to start angband. And mystically after a short while the angband windows popped up.
I waited until the System started all services and Programs, opened my Standardsoftware (Mail, Browser ...) and tried it again. And ... it started perfectly and fast, again. "Ok it could be ... well, yeah ... i don't know, try it again tomorrow."
And so i did. Today i booted Windows and waited until everything was started. Open the standards as everyday (read mail ...) and at last started angband. It started with no Problem and so it does hours later.
I've changed nothing. I tried it at the last days very often, but the only thing that happens was that running angband process without any window. In this state i've let it "run" longer times (over 1 hour) and no window comes up. I don't know why it runs perfectly now.

So, i hope that Problem don't show up again and if somebody find a reason why it happens... i like to hear.
Thanks for any clue until now
smokie

PS: I don't know that thread for unangband (i've searched just here, i think), but in my case un.*(wip7a) was running with ui and i didn't delete or "reinstall" (unpacking zips) any *Band or something else.

zaimoni
November 9, 2007, 14:52
Ah...have seen a related problem with arbitrary variants. Windows eventually gets laggy assigning OS windows to *band, and then the lag gets too large causing a hang.
* Close all remaining *band windows
* CTRL-ALT-DEL to bring up the button that launches the Task Manager
* Move to the Processes Tab in Task Manager
* Right-click/End Process Tree on all *band executable images
* Wait about thirty seconds for Windows to reorient.

smokie007
November 9, 2007, 15:07
Hmm, but why does the 305, 306 & the most variants runs without any Problem when 307s-309 & o don't like to over the whole day? Was it just a pure, tragically and randomly event that every try for 309 hangs when on the other side every 305 start up perfectly?
I tried it with process killing and restarting...

Are there significant changes in the source for displaying the main window from <=306 to >=307 and what about o 110? I think it came out before 307 vanilla...

Mystical greetings from
smokie

zaimoni
November 9, 2007, 15:50
Yes, there was a moderate rewrite of the main-win.c between V3.0.6 and V3.0.7. Part of it was ditching support for Win16 (Windows 3.0/3.1), but there were other changes to the graphical display code.

Pete Mack
November 9, 2007, 19:21
Is this a problem with launching, or a problem with running? Can you run the thing from the command line, either via cygwin or DOS?

I always run from the command line in WinXP, using cygwin. I've never seen this problem, only bad fonts-file problems.

zaimoni
November 9, 2007, 20:01
Technically, Smokie and I are talking about different issues, as I'm on W2K.

For W2K, it's a launch issue; it's not getting the OS term windows it needs to continue launching. Sometimes once the "bad processes" are all killed the others will come up before I can finish.

Nick
November 9, 2007, 21:03
Is this a problem with launching, or a problem with running? Can you run the thing from the command line, either via cygwin or DOS?


Dunno; after months of not working, O is running perfectly for me now :rolleyes:

Pete Mack
November 9, 2007, 21:11
Technically, Smokie and I are talking about different issues, as I'm on W2K.

For W2K, it's a launch issue; it's not getting the OS term windows it needs to continue launching. Sometimes once the "bad processes" are all killed the others will come up before I can finish.


Sorry, I wasn't clear on what I meant. I understand that it doesn't launch properly from the file explorer.
But can you run angband.exe from a DOS window?
(Start up cmd.exe or cygwin, cd to the Angband root directory, and run angband.exe from there.)

zaimoni
November 9, 2007, 22:11
No, DOS command line does not work for V3.0.9/W2K once W2K starts refusing to hand out OS windows to Angband instances. The first instance to hang did manage to get more memory than the following instances, but is consuming 99% CPU. Killing the 99% CPU one enabled opening more instances, including those queued after the initial failure.

(For my system:
* opened savegame: 8,192K
* before opening savegame: 5,912K
* first hang, 99% CPU: 4912K
* later hangs, 0% CPU: 2324K)

Pete Mack
November 10, 2007, 01:32
No, DOS command line does not work for V3.0.9/W2K once W2K starts refusing to hand out OS windows to Angband instances. The first instance to hang did manage to get more memory than the following instances, but is consuming 99% CPU. Killing the 99% CPU one enabled opening more instances, including those queued after the initial failure.


The only time I've seen something like this was when I selected fontsize 200 (or something silly) on OS X. It opened a monster canvas, and pinned all resources attempting to render it. I don't see how this can happen with a clean Windows install, since Windows uses the installation directory for storing preferences, rather than ~/Library/Preferences. Until I see it happen on my (WinXP) box, I am stumped.

If you can get a stack trace (via gdb or--better--Visual Studio) of where it is spinning, that might help. You need a debug build for that to work.

zaimoni
November 10, 2007, 03:14
I'm thinking that something getting a Windows resource isn't reality-checking the return value. Either that, or there's some system resource that's unusually limited that most programs don't use. (I checked that I could launch other programs fine even when Angband instance 64 went into 99% CPU mode rather than open. This limits my empirical testing of the RNG.)

I don't have a clear idea of when I'd allocate time for an "irrationally cautious" version of main-win.c.

smokie007
November 12, 2007, 10:42
It's me again :)
and what can it be... angband don't run again.
Today i start everything as usual and after checking mail and a little web-browsing and starting all the programs i need for the day, i give a try for angband, just to be secure. And it just start the process (0% CPU and 2.764 K Memory) and nothing else.
At this time i think it must be a program i start just before. For now there are two questions: which program & why it runs on Thursday and Friday (on these days i use the same programs as today and every other day). On the next days i try to find that #*.~#,: program.

Can it be that angband is bound to any (whatever) resource and have this problem if some other program was faster to occupy this special resource...? The other way seems to run fine for all programs. Maybe i just have to put angband in the autostart group ;)

In search for any clue i wish a good start in the new week (but today for me no angband ;( )
smokie