PDA

View Full Version : Moving servers


pav
March 14, 2011, 13:14
I will be moving Angband.oook.cz to a new server today. There will be an outage, hopefully less than an hour.

To maintainers who host their variant websites here and lost access: update your FTP clients to a new hostname. Set it to angband.oook.cz to be future proof.

EDIT: it's done.

Mondkalb
March 14, 2011, 14:04
Wow, that went fast!

And the interim picture was funny. :)

pav
March 14, 2011, 14:05
Glad you liked it :)

Max Stats
March 14, 2011, 21:03
Wow, that went fast!

And the interim picture was funny. :)Wah! I missed it! :(

pav
March 14, 2011, 21:06
Don't despair. The placeholder page can be viewed here http://raven.vol.cz/moving.html

Timo Pietilš
March 18, 2011, 13:18
I will be moving Angband.oook.cz to a new server today. There will be an outage, hopefully less than an hour.

To maintainers who host their variant websites here and lost access: update your FTP clients to a new hostname. Set it to angband.oook.cz to be future proof.

EDIT: it's done.

New server seems to be a lot slower in responses than the old one was. I get timeouts almost every single time I return to discussion from some thread by pressing either "vanilla" or...what was that other selection, I'm getting only timeouts from another tab...ok now it's working again "angband".

Is there something wrong in the server? Old one was very reliable, this one seems to be very unstable.

Timo Pietilš
March 18, 2011, 13:26
New server seems to be a lot slower in responses than the old one was. I get timeouts almost every single time I return to discussion from some thread by pressing either "vanilla" or...what was that other selection, I'm getting only timeouts from another tab...ok now it's working again "angband".

Is there something wrong in the server? Old one was very reliable, this one seems to be very unstable.

RNG is reading this forum again. Immediately after posting every single link works like charm. Everything happens "snap" like that. No delays whatsoever.

pav
March 18, 2011, 14:24
Sad to hear that. The new server should perform reliably (I haven't noticed any problems so far) and it's much beefier hardware than the old one.

Problem might be on the network somewhere between you and the server, as the old one was here in Prague, Czech republic and the new one is on OVH network in Roubaix, France. According to traceroute, traffic switches from OVH backbone to NORDUnet in Amsterdam's AMSIX. You can monitor this weather page http://weathermap.ovh.net/amsterdam that particular link utilization is now at cca 60% which leaves a lot of headroom. Each link is 1Gbit, I think.

Timo Pietilš
March 18, 2011, 15:01
Sad to hear that. The new server should perform reliably (I haven't noticed any problems so far) and it's much beefier hardware than the old one.

Problem might be on the network somewhere between you and the server, as the old one was here in Prague, Czech republic and the new one is on OVH network in Roubaix, France. According to traceroute, traffic switches from OVH backbone to NORDUnet in Amsterdam's AMSIX. You can monitor this weather page http://weathermap.ovh.net/amsterdam that particular link utilization is now at cca 60% which leaves a lot of headroom. Each link is 1Gbit, I think.

It's a bit odd behavior, either pages come like snap, it's there, or there is a long wait, nothing between those. I seem to get long wait every time I press F5, but fast response with ctrl-F5 (Firefox 3.6.15). It's like something is wrong with cache-behavior. Definitely something is broken, I'm just not sure what.

pav
March 18, 2011, 15:06
And if you look at the browser's status bar when it's stuck, what's the message? Is it resolving (looking up), or sending request, or waiting for reply?

This might well be some DNS resolving problem.

Timo Pietilš
March 18, 2011, 16:13
And if you look at the browser's status bar when it's stuck, what's the message? Is it resolving (looking up), or sending request, or waiting for reply?

This might well be some DNS resolving problem.

Mostly waiting for reply, though I noticed that sometimes you get a page without anything in thread-display, which means some part of the site is not coming thru.

Does anybody else have same problems? If I'm the only one then it might be something between here and there. If everybody or many are having same problem, then it is the new site.

pav
March 18, 2011, 16:18
That's odd then, and rules out DNS. Since I'm not seeing anything like that, I'm too interested in hearing from others, if they see any problems or if the site loads fine.

Derakon
March 18, 2011, 16:40
I haven't noticed any issues, connecting from the United States.

Timo Pietilš
March 18, 2011, 17:05
That's odd then, and rules out DNS. Since I'm not seeing anything like that, I'm too interested in hearing from others, if they see any problems or if the site loads fine.

Actually now that I tested it a bit more most cases it gets stuck messages are "Connecting to angband.oook.cz".

When it works it works fast, but when it doesn't it really doesn't. Some routing problem I guess.

I need to test this at home too, unfortunately my cablemodem broke three days ago and I need a replacement. I hope I get one today.

Timo Pietilš
March 19, 2011, 19:19
Actually now that I tested it a bit more most cases it gets stuck messages are "Connecting to angband.oook.cz".

When it works it works fast, but when it doesn't it really doesn't. Some routing problem I guess.

I need to test this at home too, unfortunately my cablemodem broke three days ago and I need a replacement. I hope I get one today.

OK, got a replacement modem, and from home there is no problem whatsoever. At least no longer. Weird that university connection which has really massive tubes to net this thing gets stuck every now and then.

Maybe it is my workmachine. Need to test with another machine in Monday.