PDA

View Full Version : Ironband update


Antoine
February 8, 2008, 12:36
Hi

Just a quick note about progress on Ironband,

I'll soon release a 'v1' - no more betas. Changelist from the second beta is:

======================
Put some options back in that were removed earlier, and changed a couple of defaults.
Options are now displayed properly in the character dump.
Walls are now visible under Vista.
You can now run through sand.
Poison still hurts a lot, but wears off quicker than before.
Getting confused will occasionally make you hallucinate for a short period, if you don't have confusion or chaos resistance.
If you try to teleport away a monster that resists nexus, it is not teleported but its energy is drained.
For convenience, wands still give a mana bonus even when you cast the spell from a book.
Glowing stones and glowing jewels can now have special properties.
Various changes to edit files.
Pseudo-id produces 'magic' instead of 'good', 'splendid' instead of 'excellent'
Elemental rings no longer activate for resist element (since they already give immunity)
Fixed bug where text appears on the wrong line during character generation
Plural of 'knife' is 'knives'
=======================

You can see that I am getting down to small fry - I think all the big changes I had intended to make are already done.

I am aware that there is some stuff I haven't managed to do, including fixing install/compile problems for some users on different platforms. Apologies for these platform issues and I'll certainly publish any fixes that come in from players.

On balance, I have also decided not to implement some of the features requested by players (for example, the request for a 'quickstart' option as per some other variants). But have done all the ones I agree with :)

Will do the release in the next few days - preferably sort out an irritating tileset issue first.

Cheers
A.

Nick
February 8, 2008, 12:45
Walls are now visible under Vista.


So how did you do that?

Antoine
February 9, 2008, 02:54
So how did you do that?

Er, well, I haven't actually tested it, I just used a fix that I read on the internet - going into the font prf file and changing some /127s into /4s. I hope it works and no doubt someone will tell me if it doesn't...?

zaimoni
February 9, 2008, 03:07
Considering that the problem is "Vista is too smart to print unprintable characters", I doubt CTRL-D is going any further than ESC in printing.

The next release of Zaiband will deal with this by going back to #. It may be while (although I may force a 3.0.8 pre-alpha if V releases first, or if anyone actually notices the bugs I've fixed since 3.0.7.)

Antoine
February 9, 2008, 04:36
Considering that the problem is "Vista is too smart to print unprintable characters", I doubt CTRL-D is going any further than ESC in printing.



Oh. A guy 'pgraham' posted on oook and said

"I used softy to discover that ascii code 4 is a dark grey block. In font-win.prf I replaced all instances of 1/127 (which should be light grey block but isn't for some reason) with 1/4 and the walls are now dark grey blocks in Vista."

Is that not right?

A.

zaimoni
February 9, 2008, 07:16
No, that does not work for Zaiband (which is using the new V fonts). However (contrary to my expectations), something *does* print.

It's just not a block. It's a pair of capital F's, the first one superscripted and the second one subscripted.

takkaria
February 9, 2008, 22:17
No, that does not work for Zaiband (which is using the new V fonts). However (contrary to my expectations), something *does* print.

It's just not a block. It's a pair of capital F's, the first one superscripted and the second one subscripted.

That's the form-feed character.

Matthias
February 9, 2008, 22:31
That's the form-feed character.

I usually map mushrooms to this character so i don't confuse them with mushroom patches... FF... food found :D

zaimoni
February 10, 2008, 01:02
Ok (although the traditional ASCII code point for form-feed is CTRL-L)

Antoine
February 10, 2008, 02:22
Ok (although the traditional ASCII code point for form-feed is CTRL-L)

Hmm. Well, it seems like the Vista problem is not fixed then.

Has anyone got a better solution?

A.

Antoine
February 24, 2008, 03:50
Hmm. Well, it seems like the Vista problem is not fixed then.

Has anyone got a better solution?

A.

Hi

I'm no further ahead on this. Is anyone successfully playing NPP (or Ironband or Quickband) on Vista, without tiles? If so, how?

A.

ekolis
February 24, 2008, 04:10
Renaming the font-win.prf file so that Angband can't find it works for Vista users - the game then reverts to the default # sign for walls. I don't know of any solution that allows the game to work as intended in both Vista and XP, unfortunately.