PDA

View Full Version : Dwarf Fortress!

Svladd Cjelik
May 15, 2008, 08:00
I cannot get enough of this game! I have not touched *band since I started playing it.

http://www.bay12games.com/dwarves/

Spread the word and enjoy!

Djabanete
May 15, 2008, 08:25
I have not touched *band since I started playing it.

GTFO

No, just kidding :)
I did try DF once, but I've never been really captivated by "sandbox" type games so eventually I got tired of it. But it seems to be an excellent game for those who like that sort of thing.

David Dark
May 15, 2008, 15:57
yup I started to play DF few days ago, f*in awsome, can't stop playing :D

Narvius
May 15, 2008, 19:00
It's absolutely brilliant, yes, but it's not really a roguelike, so it doesn't replace my precious Angband. Parallel play: if I'm tired of one, I play the other.

andrewdoull
May 16, 2008, 07:36
It's absolutely brilliant, yes, but it's not really a roguelike, so it doesn't replace my precious Angband. Parallel play: if I'm tired of one, I play the other.

If I tire of Angband, I've tired of life...

Jude
May 16, 2008, 14:41
I will be checking that out on my next break from work, which is supposed to start right now...

Jude
May 18, 2008, 06:29
OK holy crap

The learning curve is ridiculously steep but OMG

I think my life is going to be destroyed by this game's addictiveness.
Right now, I just tried to build an underground aqueduct to bring drinking/irrigating water into my base, but I put one floodgate in the wrong spot and the entire channel flooded...so now I won't have control over how much water to let in, so I had to seal off the entire cistern. However I'm still figuring out a way to tap into it again.
The first caravan was a ripoff though - they barely had anything I needed, and because of weight restrictions they wouldn't buy any of my stuff (granted, most of it was stone mechanisms and stuff)

Svladd Cjelik
May 20, 2008, 06:24