Angband Forums

Angband Forums (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/index.php)
-   Vanilla (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   An option to disable the "command menu" (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/showthread.php?t=3403)

AnonymousHero June 25, 2010 05:21

An option to disable the "command menu"
 
I've put up a patch to disable the "command menu" on <ENTER>. Any chance of getting it applied?

Description and rationale here:

http://trac.rephial.org/ticket/1166

kaypy June 25, 2010 05:53

You could also just assign it a null keymap without needing to tweak the code at all...

AnonymousHero June 25, 2010 06:08

I suppose, but that falls under the category of extremely non-obvious, plus macros are "advanced" (that's what the '=' menu says) :).

There's also a little weirdness when using a keymapping in that the cursor (I'm running with "highlight player with cursor") moves up into the upper left corner when pressing ENTER (with a null mapping).

Pete Mack June 25, 2010 07:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by AnonymousHero (Post 36132)
I suppose, but that falls under the category of extremely non-obvious, plus macros are "advanced" (that's what the '=' menu says) :).

There's also a little weirdness when using a keymapping in that the cursor (I'm running with "highlight player with cursor") moves up into the upper left corner when pressing ENTER (with a null mapping).

Don't map to null; map to \e or ' '

bryguypgh March 13, 2012 01:04

Let me add my voice to request this option. The new menu is jarring, I've been playing Angband/Moria for almost 20 years and this is a long-established habit, I'm sure I'm not the only one. New features good, frustrating interface elements that are not necessary to play the game and can't be turned off bad.

I fixed it in 3.09 using a keymap, but I'm never quite sure without reading a ton of docs if I'm going to suddenly find that the enter key does something else important that my keymap has broken. In 3.3.2, the newest version as of this post, the keymap/macro interface has totally changed again meaning I have to relearn all this when there was a perfectly good patch that would have fixed the whole issue with an option.

Is there a fear that preserving too many options will make the menus too crowded and confusing? This could go along with Roguelike keys and other options in a new "legacy behavior" menu that new players would (hopefully) ignore.

Mikko Lehtinen March 13, 2012 07:44

Quote:

Originally Posted by bryguypgh (Post 67494)
This could go along with Roguelike keys and other options in a new "legacy behavior" menu that new players would (hopefully) ignore.

Roguelike keys are actually extremely important for newbies with laptops. The option shouldn't be buried away. (Renaming roguelike keys to laptop keys might help newbies?)

Legacy behavior menu might be a good idea.

LostTemplar March 13, 2012 07:50

FAangband had an option to disable/enable command menu by 'enter' key.

nppangband March 13, 2012 12:56

Quote:

Originally Posted by LostTemplar (Post 67496)
FAangband had an option to disable/enable command menu by 'enter' key.

In NPP I changed the command menu to CTRL-H. IMHO the enter key is much better used for other things.

fph March 13, 2012 23:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mikko Lehtinen (Post 67495)
(Renaming roguelike keys to laptop keys might help newbies?)

Approval <+1>

ghengiz March 14, 2012 08:58

Quote:

Originally Posted by fph (Post 67505)
Approval <+1>

Approval of the approval :D
Perhaps using both denominations would be even better, for veterans, who would recognize the "rogue" part, as well as for newbies, for obvious reasons...
I propose "rogue keyset (good for laptops)", or something


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:55.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.