Angband Forums

Angband Forums (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/index.php)
-   Variants (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Variants on Android (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/showthread.php?t=10039)

Pete Mack March 24, 2021 11:14

The soft keyboard disables echo in Termux until words are complete, and it tries to form actual words, which ... doesn't really fit the unix philosophy. I even tried messing around with stty, but it doesn't actually propagate up to the keyboard as it should.

KesTheHammer March 24, 2021 14:13

Quote:

Originally Posted by Archenoth (Post 151989)
Oh! That should be frogcomposband

You can tab complete it pretty early into the name to avoid needing to type the whole thing too~

I tried again, no success. (I retyped the lines below, I did not copy and paste them from my phone)

Code:

$ apt install frogcomposband
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree... Done
E: Unable to locate package frogcomposband


Archenoth March 24, 2021 19:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by KesTheHammer (Post 152147)
I tried again, no success. (I retyped the lines below, I did not copy and paste them from my phone)

Code:

$ apt install frogcomposband
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree... Done
E: Unable to locate package frogcomposband


Ohh! You might not have your repos populated! You might need to "apt update" first.

After that, you should be able to see it.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Pete Mack (Post 152133)
The soft keyboard disables echo in Termux until words are complete, and it tries to form actual words, which ... doesn't really fit the unix philosophy. I even tried messing around with stty, but it doesn't actually propagate up to the keyboard as it should.

Oh huh, that seems...wrong. (And like it would be pretty annoying :o)

What keyboard are you using? gboard for me doesn't buffer anything--it just instantly sends my keystrokes to the games.

Pete Mack March 24, 2021 19:16

Just the default installed keyboard. I tried Google keyboard but it was worse. I'll try gboard, thx.

Archenoth March 24, 2021 19:25

It also occurs to me there is another reason it could be buffering.

If you swipe left on the custom keys area, you get a textbox for typing literal text with added OS-level support. That will also buffer keystrokes until you swipe right again on the box.

That mode is designed for typing actual sentences and stuff into Termux, but would suit roguelikes poorly. ^^'

KesTheHammer April 7, 2021 13:27

After running

Code:

apt update
and then

Code:

apt install frogcomposband
I typed in frogcomposband and got this message:
Code:

frogcomposband: Angband needs an 80x24 'curses' screen

Archenoth April 9, 2021 21:55

Oh good! You managed to get it~ ^^

That message means that Termux doesn't have enough space to show you the game. You can pinch the screen to zoom it out, or if you have an overlay keyboard (Or an external one), you can rotate the screen to be landscape. That should give you more screen real-estate

When your terminal can fit 80 characters horizontally, and 24 vertically, it should run..!

KesTheHammer April 14, 2021 11:49

can you please lastly assist with adding the characters for the keyboard as discussed earlier. I am absolutely not Unix-literate.

Archenoth April 16, 2021 22:55

For my layout, you should be able to just paste...

Code:

wget https://gist.githubusercontent.com/Archenoth/0ef3a2eddb1ddebbcadc46aafc500984/raw/cb33e1fe5fddbcc22ab84e1960a520e9cde10879/termux.properties -P ~/.termux
...into your terminal and restart Termux. ("~" is your home folder, and ".termux" is the place a lot of configuration for the terminal goes. The wget is just downloading my config into that folder for the next time it gets read!)

If you get a message that wget doesn't exist, you can install it with "apt install wget", and then you can try the above again!

And if you aren't familiar with the Termux keybindings, Volume Down is like holding Ctrl, so Volume Down + X should save and quit when you're in any bands. You can also Volume Down + D to exit the terminal when you are at the command line.

I hope that's helpful! ^^
Unix stuff can be kinda confusing if you aren't familiar with it

KesTheHammer April 17, 2021 17:40

Thank you very much. It works 100%.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:10.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.