Angband Forums

Angband Forums (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/index.php)
-   Vanilla (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   New nightly up on angband.live (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/showthread.php?t=8533)

Gwarl September 4, 2017 09:04

New nightly up on angband.live
 
In case anyone didn't know, the latest development version of Angband is available to play on http://angband.live/

I'll be trying to keep up with new builds as they come out, and looking to automate that process before long.

Bostock September 4, 2017 12:23

Is it savefile-compatible with the previous version?

Nick September 4, 2017 14:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by Bostock (Post 123678)
Is it savefile-compatible with the previous version?

Yes; everything going into the master branch for now will be heading for 4.1.1, and the plan is for all 4.1.x releases to be savefile compatible.

Gwarl September 4, 2017 16:16

You'll get a seperate savefile for the development branch. Both stable and development versions will be available; the development version will be replaced as it gets updated.

Ingwe Ingweron September 8, 2017 13:34

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gwarl (Post 123684)
You'll get a seperate savefile for the development branch. Both stable and development versions will be available; the development version will be replaced as it gets updated.

Gwarl, assuming Nick has a solution to my savefile, any way you can move it to the nightly development branch for my continued play? Originally, weren't you updating the "stable" version with nightlies anyway, so it isn't actually the same as the 4.1.0 download?

Gwarl September 8, 2017 13:39

I was keeping up with the dev versions until 4.1.0 came out. I've left 4.1.0 where it is and added the new nightly as a seperate game in the list. I'll be overwriting the dev version as new builds come out, but 4.1.0 will stay on the list until 4.1.1

I'll copy your savefile over to the development version.

Nick September 8, 2017 15:10

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ingwe Ingweron (Post 123812)
Gwarl, assuming Nick has a solution to my savefile, any way you can move it to the nightly development branch for my continued play? Originally, weren't you updating the "stable" version with nightlies anyway, so it isn't actually the same as the 4.1.0 download?

Have just checked this, and it's basically the same bug as the "single staircase + vault level and try to phase" bug - @ is in a vault which is the only room on the level, so nothing can teleport (as teleporting into vaults isn't allowed). In the dev version these levels are (I believe) no longer possible, and also teleport will return with an error rather than hanging the game.

Ingwe Ingweron September 8, 2017 22:16

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nick (Post 123817)
Have just checked this, and it's basically the same bug as the "single staircase + vault level and try to phase" bug - @ is in a vault which is the only room on the level, so nothing can teleport (as teleporting into vaults isn't allowed). In the dev version these levels are (I believe) no longer possible, and also teleport will return with an error rather than hanging the game.

Not sure I follow. I thought that bug was about teleport self. Here, @ is trying to TO. In any event, after Gwarl moved the savefile to the development version, @ was able to successfully TO the shimmering vortex on the 1st try. Not that it matters much... he's still in a mess of hot water with a ton of other vortices and elementals, all awake in some special thematic cavern, and no stairs in sight....

Nick September 9, 2017 00:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ingwe Ingweron (Post 123832)
Not sure I follow. I thought that bug was about teleport self. Here, @ is trying to TO.

It was, but it applies here too, because teleporting the player away and teleporting a monster away both use the same code to find a grid for it to land.

Gwarl September 25, 2017 11:01

Updated with today's build.

Sky December 4, 2017 14:32

i'm trying this now, and i'm wondering, if there is any way to have this in tile mode, rather than ASCII ?

Talharim December 4, 2017 15:54

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sky (Post 126752)
i'm trying this now, and i'm wondering, if there is any way to have this in tile mode, rather than ASCII ?

This leads me to wonder. Do people play in tiles mode? I don't like it because I feel I get much more information (can see further in the dungeon) by playing in ascii mode.
Or is it just my age showing?
I usually pester my kid by saying, "Well, I'm off playing a game with good graphics, not the rubbish you play!" and then go play Angband in ASCII mode.

Derakon December 4, 2017 16:02

Quote:

Originally Posted by Talharim (Post 126755)
This leads me to wonder. Do people play in tiles mode?

Given that you're posting this in response to someone asking for tiles mode, I think you can safely assume the answer is "yes". :)

This is one of those things that I've come to the conclusion isn't really worth arguing about. There are people on both sides with very strong opinions, and nobody seems likely to change their minds.

Sky December 4, 2017 16:26

i've learned with tile mode, and playing with ascii means i need to learn everything again. i can tell straight away what is what, which in text mode i cannot. file under "because i like it".
if anything, i feel the opposite way - why does anyone *not* play tile mode.

kandrc December 4, 2017 16:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by Derakon (Post 126756)
This is one of those things that I've come to the conclusion isn't really worth arguing about. There are people on both sides with very strong opinions

<troll>
...and the people on the pro-tiles side are wrong.
</troll>

Talharim December 4, 2017 16:58

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sky (Post 126757)
i've learned with tile mode, and playing with ascii means i need to learn everything again. i can tell straight away what is what, which in text mode i cannot. file under "because i like it".
if anything, i feel the opposite way - why does anyone *not* play tile mode.

I can understand that. When I play DCSS I always play in tiles mode because I have learned to play it in tiles mode. I tried playing angband in tiles mode but I remebered stuff like drolems and such and decided against it.

Gwarl December 4, 2017 19:05

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sky (Post 126752)
i'm trying this now, and i'm wondering, if there is any way to have this in tile mode, rather than ASCII ?

Not yet. Hopefully I find the time to get round to it in the future. In principle it should be easy, but that doesn't mean quick or straightforward.

PowerWyrm December 5, 2017 09:02

Problem is not tiles vs ASCII, it's having unsual monsters to display. if you meet a dragon, with either ASCII or tiles, you will think immediately of a dragon. If you meet a "gelugon", you will probably have no idea wth it is.

Sky December 5, 2017 11:38

unless you have played for years AD&D. the monster icons are plain ol' ripped off of the Monster Manual.

Tibarius December 5, 2017 18:12

why play in asc mode and not in tile mode?
 
My answer on Sky's yesterday's question:

Because the player in front of the computer screen can see more dungeon area in asc mode than in tile mode. In asc mode i see something about 30x40 spaces, while it is something about 9*15 in tile (graphics) mode.

For me it is mainly a matter to see all possible monsters in shoot range (20 spaces).

Kind regards,
Tibarius

Grotug December 9, 2017 20:00

Not sure if this is the right place to post this, but from Dec 1 nightly game blink dogs can blink me but I can't blink myself while wearing teleportation curse. Is this correct or a bug? Currently taking on maeglin with teleportation curse (and now Jaws of Thirst), wish me luck!

Pete Mack December 9, 2017 20:17

Does anti-teleport prevent TO? That would be a real problem with Maeglin. Otherwise, it's no big deal so long as you have plenty of heal.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:22.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.