Angband Forums

Angband Forums (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/index.php)
-   v4 (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   Randart Phial troubles (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/showthread.php?t=5386)

CunningGabe March 29, 2012 14:43

Randart Phial troubles
 
I just finished a randart game of v4 this morning, and decided to look through the randart log a bit. The first thing I noticed was that there had been some difficulty generating a randart Phial. Indeed, the randart log shows 200 tries to generate a Phial, and the one it finally kept had a too-high power rating (according to the log), with a min depth of 151! Needless to say, I never found this Phial.

In fact, though I found plenty of artifact weapons and body armor, the only other artifact I found was a set of gauntlets. But maybe I was just unlucky.

Magnate March 29, 2012 22:41

Interesting. I don't think I've heard of that happening before. I'll have to try some randart games in v4 and see if it's common. It's certainly possible to pick 200 too-expensive powers, as even a humble +1 STR is too good for the Phial, but it should be pretty rare.

CunningGabe March 29, 2012 23:33

Quote:

Originally Posted by Magnate (Post 67995)
Interesting. I don't think I've heard of that happening before. I'll have to try some randart games in v4 and see if it's common. It's certainly possible to pick 200 too-expensive powers, as even a humble +1 STR is too good for the Phial, but it should be pretty rare.

Looking more closely at the randart log, it seems the problem was that every Phial generated had a pval of +4 instead of the real Phial's usual +2. As a result, the power from the light radius and no fuel alone usually pushed the power too high.

Magnate March 30, 2012 07:33

Quote:

Originally Posted by CunningGabe (Post 67999)
Looking more closely at the randart log, it seems the problem was that every Phial generated had a pval of +4 instead of the real Phial's usual +2. As a result, the power from the light radius and no fuel alone usually pushed the power too high.

Ooops. I think I know why that's happening, and I think that bug might be in 3.4-dev as well. Will fix. Opened as #1636.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:50.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.