Angband Forums

Angband Forums (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/index.php)
-   Vanilla (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   angband for dos? (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/showthread.php?t=6225)

hyperactive July 29, 2013 08:15

angband for dos?
 
Hello there.
I am totally blind and I use a speech synthesiser to read out loud text on the screen.
I was wondering if it was possible for you kind folks to develop a dos port of angband 3.4.1?
I remember earlier versions of angband being put out for dos, and I had a great time playing with it.
I find this is the easiest platform to play with because the game uses ascii text. The windows port on the other hand doesn't really play nice with my speech software.
Cheers and thanks.

Nick July 29, 2013 09:49

The dos port has been gone for a while - I'm not sure how hard it would be to resurrect it.

There is another poster on these forums called Dark who is blind and uses a screen reader. His posts may be worth reading to get tips on things that help.

Timo Pietilš July 29, 2013 11:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nick (Post 82820)
The dos port has been gone for a while - I'm not sure how hard it would be to resurrect it.

There was Windows console port not very long ago. Not same as dos which is ancient. Tried to find that, but haven't found it yet.

takkaria July 29, 2013 11:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by Timo Pietilš (Post 82821)
There was Windows console port not very long ago. Not same as dos which is ancient. Tried to find that, but haven't found it yet.

It would be easy to put out a release using the Windows console. I'll try and release 3.5 with that port included.

PowerWyrm July 29, 2013 13:54

Quote:

Originally Posted by takkaria (Post 82822)
It would be easy to put out a release using the Windows console. I'll try and release 3.5 with that port included.

Can't you use the GCU port? I've included that for my variant and it looks like a Windows console port to me...

takkaria July 29, 2013 14:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by PowerWyrm (Post 82831)
Can't you use the GCU port? I've included that for my variant and it looks like a Windows console port to me...

Yup, it is the GCU port, compiled using PDCurses.

hyperactive July 30, 2013 07:31

Even if you were to make a windows console version, I still won't be able to play it effectively, because modern screen readers like jawas.. er.. Junk.. oops. I mean jaws for windows and NVDA are not primarily designed to work with complicated console applications that use punctuation marks as graphics, therefore, the best way I have found to play these types of games is to use some legacy hardware and an old tsr program called automatic screen access program or ASAP for short and then load angband over the top of it. Until the dos port was discontinued, it worked quite well.
I hope some kind of arrangement can be made so that I can continue to enjoy playing 3.4.1.
Thanks.

Timo Pietilš July 30, 2013 08:39

Quote:

Originally Posted by hyperactive (Post 82882)
Even if you were to make a windows console version, I still won't be able to play it effectively, because modern screen readers like jawas.. er.. Junk.. oops. I mean jaws for windows and NVDA are not primarily designed to work with complicated console applications

I found some mentions in NVDA community messages that BRLTTY could work with conjunction to NVDA to better access to console. Can't find precompiled version though, and I'm not blind so I have absolutely no experience if that's any good or not.

Pete Mack July 30, 2013 09:30

I think what would work best is a real audible interface, such as F-keys printing various Term-contents to console, even if terms aren't visible. That doesn't help with what the layout of the dungeon is. I have no idea how you can do that without seeing it.
Any pointers on how you do this?

EDIT: Also, do you really want to play angband, with all 100 levels? games like Sil/Quickband/Ironband seem to make more sense, since they have a lot fewer levels.

eMeM July 30, 2013 09:31

It would be nice to see proper native W32 full screen ASCII or Dos ASCII coming back. I don't understand why it was scratched in first place (maybe because all developers are linux guys). I dig every thread about this and I was searching for it on other forums as well. I remember that I wasn't impressed with pdcurses version. It was like playing in emulator, very very slow.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:07.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.