Angband Forums

Angband Forums (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/index.php)
-   Vanilla (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   very newbie questions on angband and unangband (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/showthread.php?t=306)

Halloween Jack October 19, 2007 16:56

very newbie questions on angband and unangband
 
hi all,

i'm just wondering whether to get into angband. in my wanderings i found unangband and liked the look of it. i downloaded both, and they seemed to install easily enough but i don't get a couple of things.

i've got unangband vers 0.6.0 beta2 and angband 3.0.6.

i'm not sure which i want to play. unangband i guess as i like the LotR setting and the isometric tiles.

so here's what i'm rambling about:

1) in angband i don't like the way if you go up some stairs and then straight back down again you're in a new dungeon. i thought the Generate dungeons with connected stairs option would govern this but it makes no difference. is this just the way it is and i'm stuck with it? or am i doing something wrong?

2) in unangband if i start to generate a char i get the option of male or female and then it whizzes me straight to hobbiton as an istari. what's wrong there?

sorry if these questions are really basic or i should've found the answers somewhere, but my computer knowledge isn't great and i don't have much spare time with work and family so i was kind of hoping someone would give me a nice easy solution.

cheers.

Big Al October 19, 2007 17:26

1) That's the way it is in Angband and nearly all its variants (including Unangband I think). It's part of the challenge, knowing that anything left on the ground when you leave the level will pretty much be lost forever. The 'connected stairs' option makes it so that if eg. you go down a stair set, you won't land on an up stair on the next level. There are (a few) variants that do keep the previous levels. There is also some way to play with graphical tiles too in vanilla angband, though I'm not quite certain how.

2) The very first time that you started up Unangband, you had a choice of something like "a) never played any 'band variant before, b) never played Unangband before, c) played unangband before". If you picked a) then you go into a kind of "tutorial mode" which automatically chooses an istari since it's the easiest class. As you go farther in the game, more classes and races get unlocked. If you want access to all the races/classes, I think that you'll need to delete the pref files for your user. Keep in mind that Unangband is still beta.

P.S. Angband 3.0.6 is old now - try version 3.0.9.

Halloween Jack October 19, 2007 18:24

great. that makes sense. i'll give the tutorial a go.

cheers

andrewdoull October 20, 2007 00:10

Quote:

Originally Posted by Big Al (Post 3213)
2) The very first time that you started up Unangband, you had a choice of something like "a) never played any 'band variant before, b) never played Unangband before, c) played unangband before". If you picked a) then you go into a kind of "tutorial mode" which automatically chooses an istari since it's the easiest class. As you go farther in the game, more classes and races get unlocked. If you want access to all the races/classes, I think that you'll need to delete the pref files for your user.

The file you need to delete is startup.prf which will usually be in the lib/user directory.

andrewdoull October 20, 2007 00:17

Quote:

Originally Posted by Halloween Jack (Post 3212)
hi all,

i'm just wondering whether to get into angband. in my wanderings i found unangband and liked the look of it. i downloaded both, and they seemed to install easily enough but i don't get a couple of things.

i've got unangband vers 0.6.0 beta2

You'll want to download a more recent version fairly soon. Links to downloads are available from http://unangband.blogspot.com. However, from reading your other emails, it sounds like you have 0.6.2 as opposed to 0.6.0.

Andrew

petebull October 20, 2007 08:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by Big Al (Post 3213)
2) ... If you want access to all the races/classes, I think that you'll need to delete the pref files for your user.

Nah, just hit '=' on the first question, go to 6) Birth options and switch the first option (birth_beginner) to no, or the third option (birth_first_time) to yes to be asked all the questions again.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:19.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.