Angband Forums

Angband Forums (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/index.php)
-   Development (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   I am too stupid to use gdb with Angband. (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/showthread.php?t=6183)

TricksterWolf July 1, 2013 05:12

I am too stupid to use gdb with Angband.
 
In Netbeans I have the Run executable pointing to the place angband.exe gets copied at project root level. But when I try to Debug, all I get is assembly code I can't step through (it decompiles angband.exe which is dumb). Basically I can pause execution and peek at the decompiled code, and that's all I can do. I know that gdb is running through either Cygwin or DOS just fine because the decompiled code has a stack trace etc.

Trying to attach angband.exe to the debugger directly ends up failing, though if I really muck it up I can get it to do the same not-useful thing by attaching it directly.

Is there something I must do to configure gdb (and/or the project) so that I can see debugging data at C-file level? I haven't used a C-only debugger ever, and it's been many years since I did it with C++ so things have changed.

I may need to post on gdb forums and NetBeans forums as well but I figured I'd give this one a shot first. :) Thanks.

TricksterWolf July 6, 2013 04:44

Solved it. Someone from the NetBeans forums was kind enough to inform me I needed to use the cross-compiler's -g flag to retain debug information with the binary. I updated the Makefile.win and it works like a charm.

Submitted here in case anyone else has gdb woes someday...

APWhite July 6, 2013 18:15

Which is why I use Visual Studio. Its free now, BTW.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:12.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.