Angband Forums

Angband Forums (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/index.php)
-   Variants (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   [Announce] FrogComposband 7.1.salmiak released (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/showthread.php?t=10152)

CyclopsSlayer August 3, 2020 03:15

I always play with auto-center map ON, otherwise deeper there are things that can all too easily one-shot you from off map.
Using run down a long corridor has led to a ton of near-death encounters and many deadly ones.

CyclopsSlayer August 5, 2020 20:13

An odd and very specific Bug,

I recently started an Archer under salmiak and and went to manage my quiver, only to find I cannot.
On other characters 'i' 'e' 't' give the options Inventory|Equipment|Quiver (except for t).
On the Archer, only Inventory|Equipment show.
I can swap the quiver with another quiver, add arrows to it, fire arrows from it, but cannot take the quiver off, remove or sell arrows from it.

edit: Also, the arrows in the quiver cannot be enchanted by scroll or shop.

Sideways August 5, 2020 22:06

I can't reproduce your problem with Archer quivers. There is a known bug with 'floor' sometimes not showing as an option in the object prompt when it ought to, but this sounds unrelated to that. This behavior is what I'd expect from a character with no quiver or no ammo in their quiver, but if you're switching quivers and firing ammo from them I presume that's not the case here. The only other thing I can think of is that either your quiver or the ammo in it have somehow had their locations corrupted so the game thinks they aren't actually equipped, though I have no idea how that could happen (or even if it would produce symptoms like this, rather than, say, a plain crash).

Did the problem only appear some time into the game, or immediately the first time you put ammo in your quiver? Can you drop or unequip the quiver if you shoot away all the ammo in it?

CyclopsSlayer August 6, 2020 01:49

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sideways (Post 147640)
Did the problem only appear some time into the game, or immediately the first time you put ammo in your quiver? Can you drop or unequip the quiver if you shoot away all the ammo in it?

I honestly didn't check until I had the ability to Craft arrows and had reached Clvl12. I made 40some Sheaf arrows and wanted to add them to my then full quiver. Arrows (0, 0) Quiver was a 60 space. When I noticed the issue I tried to change quiver, the only one for sale was size 70. The 70 vanished and the old 60 appeared in my inv. The issue persisted.

edit: Just made a new Archer (Female, Demigod-Artemis, Lucky) This one started with a size 80 Quiver that does not appear, bought a new size 60 quiver and can swap them back and forth. While never showing on the listings.

My base game must be corrupted, I'll DL a fresh copy do a fresh install later today.

edit2: I DL'd the frogcomposband-7.1.salmiak-win.zip package and the problem persists. Try installing an instance of that and see it that shows the issue to you as well?

edit3: I DL'd the Exe and Source code separately. Combined them and the issues still persists. Reinstalled 'chocolate' and the quiver showed. So the compiles seem to have an issue?

HugoVirtuoso August 6, 2020 03:52

Windows 10, right? I am wondering if any other Microsoft Windows users are affected? Be it Windows 10? Windows 8.1? etc.

Sideways August 6, 2020 13:22

I cannot reproduce the bug, even in a freshly installed copy of salmiak-win on a lucky female Artemis demigod.

CyclopsSlayer August 6, 2020 15:41

@HugoTheGreat2011 - Yes, Win10.

@Sideways - Okay, thanks for trying. Might be Win10, but so odd that previous versions worked fine. Ah, well, no Archer for me. :p

ShadowTechnology August 7, 2020 04:36

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sideways (Post 147658)
I cannot reproduce the bug, even in a freshly installed copy of salmiak-win on a lucky female Artemis demigod.

I created a Win 10 Salmiak Lucky Female Demigod Artermis Archer and played up to CL 25 (at Instant Coffee speed) last night. No problems loading/unloading or changing quivers. Having fun so I think I'll keep going. :D

CyclopsSlayer August 7, 2020 04:56

Quote:

Originally Posted by ShadowTechnology (Post 147674)
I created a Win 10 Salmiak Lucky Female Demigod Artermis Archer and played up to CL 25 (at Instant Coffee speed) last night. No problems loading/unloading or changing quivers. Having fun so I think I'll keep going. :D

Damn, so what could possibly be wrong on my end... mutter, mutter, curse, mutter...

Saeldanya August 13, 2020 11:08

Edit: moved to a new thread, as it was in the wrong place.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 23:57.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.