Angband Forums

Angband Forums (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/index.php)
-   Vanilla (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Preparing for 4.2 release (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/showthread.php?t=9455)

Gwarl August 16, 2019 20:53

Quote:

Originally Posted by tangar (Post 139619)
Is it possible to make auto-load my character when I open the game? So there won't be need to 'open' manually every time

if you right click the exe there should be a field in properties somewhere where you can add -utangar to the command line where tangar is the name of your savefile

MattB August 16, 2019 21:35

Hi all,

picked it up again after a break and I'm delighted to say that, despite your best efforts to the contrary Nick, running around as a Half-Troll Warrior is largely unchanged! :-D
I did get seriously flummoxed by some trees at one point though... that was cool.
Just one question, what's the mechanic behind shield bashes?
I seemed to stumble *Every* time and miss my attack. Was I just unlucky or is it coz I is a troll?
Because if so, I think I'd rather not try and shield bash, given the choice.

Anyway, loving all the work.
Thanks as ever.

Matt

tangar August 17, 2019 09:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gwarl (Post 139627)
if you right click the exe there should be a field in properties somewhere where you can add -utangar to the command line where tangar is the name of your savefile

Thanks, but I got an error:

Quote:

Cannot find required file:
-utangar
(also I've tried to add simple -tangar , it didn't help too)

And I've got 'tangar' savefile there ..\lib\user\save ; it works when I load it manually: file -> open

takkaria August 17, 2019 10:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gwarl (Post 139627)
if you right click the exe there should be a field in properties somewhere where you can add -utangar to the command line where tangar is the name of your savefile

This is a unix-only feature - the windows port doesn't support this in V at least.

Werbaer August 17, 2019 12:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by takkaria (Post 139639)
This is a unix-only feature - the windows port doesn't support this in V at least.

In windows, you need to include the path of the save file.
If you have the angband folder as working directory, add lib\user\save\savefilename to the command line (otherwise, you need the full path).

tangar August 17, 2019 20:30

Quote:

Originally Posted by Werbaer (Post 139641)
In windows, you need to include the path of the save file.
If you have the angband folder as working directory, add lib\user\save\savefilename to the command line (otherwise, you need the full path).

Do you mean that it's possible to make auto-load in Windows right now? Or you just describing algorithm how developers could solve this issue?

Werbaer August 18, 2019 21:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by tangar (Post 139651)
Do you mean that it's possible to make auto-load in Windows right now? Or you just describing algorithm how developers could solve this issue?

It is possibe in 4.0.4 (the version i'm playing). I assume it is still possible.
It was buggy in 4.0.2.

tangar August 19, 2019 07:58

But how? Please could you describe it in details. I tried to add in command line path to my save file:
C:\games\angband\angband.exe -C:\games\angband\lib\user\save\tangar
or
C:\games\angband\angband.exe -uC:\games\angband\lib\user\save\tangar
or
C:\games\angband\angband.exe -"C:\games\angband\lib\user\save\tangar"
but it didn't help

Werbaer August 19, 2019 11:38

Quote:

Originally Posted by tangar (Post 139678)
But how? Please could you describe it in details.

Without - or -u:
C:\games\angband\angband.exe "C:\games\angband\lib\user\save\tangar"

Or, if you have the angband directory as working directory, just:
angband.exe lib\user\save\tangar

tangar August 19, 2019 12:14

Quote:

lib\user\save\tangar
worked, thanks! :DDD


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:19.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.