Angband Forums

Angband Forums (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/index.php)
-   Vanilla (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Angband on the Nintendo DS (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/showthread.php?t=1330)

Donald Jonker January 20, 2009 21:02

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dragonboneman (Post 14014)
Did the thing with the Win32 GUI patcher and R4-specific patch, got the "Patch successful" message, no joy though.
The same thing happens with Doom DS, though I have got the Tetris Attack clone running.

A lot of things have to go right for these things to work... took me forever, at least. I'd suggest giving a shot at the other DS roguelikes: nethack, POWDER, faangband, I think there's one for rogue as well, emulation, &c, and see what works.. as well as R4 sites and stuff. Individual games will have people whining on their forums about specific cards not working and people troubleshooting, and that's how I eventually got mine working. Nick will probably come around with ideas as well.

Dragonboneman January 20, 2009 21:11

Thanks Donald. I had no idea DS homebrew was so finicky. However, I have managed to get C64 emulation working, so have Wizball and the like to tide me over til I get my head round this. ;)

Nick January 20, 2009 21:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dragonboneman (Post 14004)
At risk of looking like a complete halfwit (I only got my R4 version 2 today!) I tried running this but only got a pair of black screens.
What am I doing wrong?

I don't think I have a good answer, I'm afraid. It does look like it's a patching issue. You could try a different patching tool, maybe. Sorry I haven't any better ideas.

Dragonboneman January 20, 2009 21:30

Idiotic question - how long should this version of Angband take to load?

Donald Jonker January 20, 2009 21:44

Around 5 seconds on my cart.

Dragonboneman January 20, 2009 21:59

Well, that's not it then. ;)

Immir January 21, 2009 05:54

New version (2.65)
 
Hi all.

I've updated the page. End game now allows dumping char etc, a bit too late for my comp char :-(

--- this took quite some effort to track down (stack overflows usually do). So only minor additional changes for the moment...

Dragon Bone Man: I've added 4 different additional DLDI patched programs for R4 cards in general. If you are feeling adventurous enough, you might find one of these works for you --- in which case let me know which one and include precise details of your card (product name, revision number, production date, everything you can find), and I'll make sure I produce similar patched versions in future.

Cheers,
Michael.. err, Immir.

Dragonboneman January 21, 2009 14:15

Michael/Immir,

I have tried all four of the patched versions, but haven't been able to start any of them. Unfortunately I can't tell you much about my R4. It says on the back of the box that it supports DLDI auto-patching and the firmware it is running os Moonshine(is that the right name?) 1.18. But the product itself is unlabeled. The storage is a 2 gig Kingston Micro SD card and appears to be working perfectly.
As I pointed out I am extremely new to DS homebrew so the problem could well be user error.

I have downloaded all the NDS files you put up, put them in Angband's NDS folder, and tried loading each one in turn. I have also tried running them from the Angband folder (I remember some GP2X stuff being fussy about directories.
Do I need to have everything on the root of the card?

Nick January 21, 2009 20:17

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dragonboneman (Post 14069)
Moonshine(is that the right name?)

Moonshell?

Quote:

I have downloaded all the NDS files you put up, put them in Angband's NDS folder, and tried loading each one in turn. I have also tried running them from the Angband folder (I remember some GP2X stuff being fussy about directories.
Do I need to have everything on the root of the card?
You have angband.nds, and angband (which is a directory). angband needs to be at the root of the card. angband.nds can I think be anywhere; I'v never tried it within angband, though.

Donald Jonker January 21, 2009 20:22

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nick (Post 14097)
angband.nds can I think be anywhere; I'v never tried it within angband, though.

On my system, angband.ds it has to be at the root of the card, outside the angband folder.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:44.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.