Angband Forums

Angband Forums (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/index.php)
-   Variants (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=4)
-   -   Equipment optimiser for frogcomposband characters (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/showthread.php?t=9602)

ShadowTechnology October 3, 2019 16:20

Quote:

Originally Posted by schatz (Post 140310)
Yes, that's what it does. It looks at all possible combinations that meet the minimal requirements. For each of these combinations, it naively does a sum of the attribute pluses and minuses of each equipment set and the equipment set with the highest sum is selected and presented as the solution.

That's usually not optimal at the start since the solution will favor equipment that gives the highest pluses and minuses, e.g. Rings of Archery, which might not be what you want. So you start adding more item exclusions and attribute constraints. For instance it was giving me too much stealth previously so I ended up specifying Sl <= 8 or increase other requirements like Sp until it gives you something that looks more reasonable.

I like it! It's not hard to figure out and it's very quick compared to manually scanning hundreds of wieldable items and testing combinations for "holes". My active character is CL50 but only at DL76 at this time. His home is a cluttered mess, but most of the attributes he wants in his kit are represented at least once. I expect the next 24 levels to yield even more artifacts (half randarts in this case) with even longer strings of abilities and bonuses attached to them. This is the part of the game where I usually get bogged down and spend as much time optimizing gear as I do exploring the dungeon.

I wanted to force @ to use a melee weapon 2-handed. I set Left Hand = 0 and this seems to have worked in that shields were no longer showing up in the mix. But I'm not sure whether the advantages of wielding 2-handed are being applied when selecting "the best" of those combinations that meet the minimal requirements. Am I doing this right?

Related question: Can I set it to only consider dual wielding combos (a melee weapon in each hand)?

schatz October 3, 2019 17:54

Yes, that's precisely why I wrote this tool. It's meant for late stage of the game when there's just too many items in the Home inventory to go through to pick out the stuff to fit what I want. By the way, you can also look at the list of items the parser generated from the character dump file to look at items with a particular attribute, e.g. the list of all equipment with Sp attribute.

Quote:

Originally Posted by ShadowTechnology (Post 140325)
I wanted to force @ to use a melee weapon 2-handed. I set Left Hand = 0 and this seems to have worked in that shields were no longer showing up in the mix. But I'm not sure whether the advantages of wielding 2-handed are being applied when selecting "the best" of those combinations that meet the minimal requirements. Am I doing this right?

Related question: Can I set it to only consider dual wielding combos (a melee weapon in each hand)?

The solver is not aware of such things as what bonus you get with pure 2-handed wielding vs 1-hand and shield. That said, that's what I would do to get 2-handed wielding.

For dual wielding, set weapon == 2 and left_hand == 0. Alternatively you can just remove the left_hand slot constraint altogether leaving only weapon == 2. Let me know if that doesn't work for you.

Kruzifixxion October 4, 2019 17:32

yesterday it was working fine for me but today it keeps saying infeasible no matter what even if im just trying to do 1 pip of acid for my constraints

Kruzifixxion October 4, 2019 18:08

I think maybe you should be able to delete character from the character list instead of the character page itself because my char just server error (500) so Im not able to delete it or add it again to try to figure out whats wrong

Even on a new acct it tell me the char already exists and to update it

schatz October 5, 2019 08:26

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kruzifixxion (Post 140346)
yesterday it was working fine for me but today it keeps saying infeasible no matter what even if im just trying to do 1 pip of acid for my constraints

I just had a look at the html dump file. The reason it says infeasible is two-fold:

1. There is a slot constraint of light == 1 but the parser was somehow ignoring the non-randart Feanorian lamp that the character is carrying and there are no other light items in your inventory or Home inventory.

2. The attribute constraint of Ac == 1 is the only attribute constraint that was set. For some reason that I don't currently understand, the solver requires that at least one of the attribute constraint to be '>=' or '<='. If all the attribute constraints are '==' in nature, the solver will fail. I am catching the failure now and added a message as follows:
Status: infeasible - please specify at least one Attribute Constraint as ">=" or "<=".
If all the Attribute Constraints are "==", the solver will fail to find a solution.
Just pushed the fix. Thanks for reporting the bug!

schatz October 5, 2019 08:51

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kruzifixxion (Post 140348)
I think maybe you should be able to delete character from the character list instead of the character page itself because my char just server error (500) so Im not able to delete it or add it again to try to figure out whats wrong

Even on a new acct it tell me the char already exists and to update it

Added to the todo list.

Gwarl October 5, 2019 12:12

Can you put this up into a public repo?

We spoke about this a little before on angband live, I have more time to spare now and can take a closer look. If it makes it onto the site as an integrated feature I'll be sure to credit you somewhere visible.

Kruzifixxion October 7, 2019 19:16

I've been using it again the past 2 days and all seems to be working fine :) but I think I've found another bug, for some reason the weapon The Cutlass 'Mandible' (2d9) (+13,+6) {|CaV/U} won't show up in Optimiser

other than that it's been working great again & thank you so much for taking the time to make this it is amazing

schatz October 8, 2019 06:27

Quote:

Originally Posted by Gwarl (Post 140371)
Can you put this up into a public repo?

We spoke about this a little before on angband live, I have more time to spare now and can take a closer look. If it makes it onto the site as an integrated feature I'll be sure to credit you somewhere visible.

I will have to do quite a fair bit of cleanup (removing aws secret keys and the like) before I am able to put this up on a public repo. Unfortunately, due to personal reasons I don't have the time to look into this for now. Will add to the todo list.

schatz October 8, 2019 07:04

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kruzifixxion (Post 140417)
I've been using it again the past 2 days and all seems to be working fine :) but I think I've found another bug, for some reason the weapon The Cutlass 'Mandible' (2d9) (+13,+6) {|CaV/U} won't show up in Optimiser

Bug should be fixed now.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:51.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.