Angband Forums

Angband Forums (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/index.php)
-   Vanilla (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=3)
-   -   Current master post 4.2.0 (http://angband.oook.cz/forum/showthread.php?t=9659)

mrfy April 30, 2020 06:00

Not just unidentified scrolls, but reading an already identified scroll on the floor gives this:

You see no more scrolls titled "inventum" of Enchant Weapon To-Hit.

It then lets you select the weapon. Canceling the action then says:

You feel something roll beneath your feet.

So you pick it up to read it but then drop it again? I guess that makes sense. Does it also take a turn of time to read but then drop?

backwardsEric April 30, 2020 07:00

Quote:

Originally Posted by mrfy (Post 145061)
Not just unidentified scrolls, but reading an already identified scroll on the floor gives this:

You see no more scrolls titled "inventum" of Enchant Weapon To-Hit.

It then lets you select the weapon. Canceling the action then says:

You feel something roll beneath your feet.

So you pick it up to read it but then drop it again? I guess that makes sense. Does it also take a turn of time to read but then drop?

While the messages changed for that case, the time taken should not. Both the old version and the new one don't take a turn if the item is not used and no knowledge was gained. If the enchant weapon scroll was not identified when you read it and canceled the action, it would take a turn of time in the new and old versions.

DavidMedley April 30, 2020 13:32

Quote:

Originally Posted by backwardsEric (Post 145062)
While the messages changed for that case, the time taken should not. Both the old version and the new one don't take a turn if the item is not used and no knowledge was gained. If the enchant weapon scroll was not identified when you read it and canceled the action, it would take a turn of time in the new and old versions.

I can confirm this from "nightly" play on Angband.live about 12 hours ago.

Nick April 30, 2020 13:49

Quote:

Originally Posted by backwardsEric (Post 145058)
Could tweak it so that stuff from the pack is handled the old way, but stuff from the floor is handled with special care since that's the case that triggers one of the reported problems with Rune of Protection.

I now have this (I believe) completely fixed in development. The solution was to revert the previous fix, and then take out the call to push_object() in effect_handler_GLYPH (in the case of a scroll being used), which was unnecessary because it was done at the end of use_aux() anyway.

Sphara April 30, 2020 15:33

Staff of Power worked outside LOS. I don't know how many squares its radius was from me but: I was in a very very long corridor when I started emptying Staff of Power charges at an approaching night mare. It was the only monster in the screen (Telepathy included) but I also got "it barely notices" or "it shudders" messages. Finally Vecna appeared on the screen in that corridor from the distance 0 N 20 W and he was missing one health star.

I have no idea if it is a bug so I don't report it.

EDIT: Oh, and I also found weird that Gilim (ice) and Nan (fire) do not have resistances for their flavor elements.

backwardsEric April 30, 2020 17:47

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nick (Post 145068)
I now have this (I believe) completely fixed in development. The solution was to revert the previous fix, and then take out the call to push_object() in effect_handler_GLYPH (in the case of a scroll being used), which was unnecessary because it was done at the end of use_aux() anyway.

Does it handle scrolls of teleport level read from the floor? If the level change happens in the effect handler and non-persistent levels are used, the object that represents the scroll no longer exists when the effect handler returns. Also, from the fix for #4131, pushing objects from use_aux() wasn't enough to always place the glyph of warding.

Nick April 30, 2020 23:07

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sphara (Post 145070)
Staff of Power worked outside LOS. I don't know how many squares its radius was from me but: I was in a very very long corridor when I started emptying Staff of Power charges at an approaching night mare. It was the only monster in the screen (Telepathy included) but I also got "it barely notices" or "it shudders" messages. Finally Vecna appeared on the screen in that corridor from the distance 0 N 20 W and he was missing one health star.

I have no idea if it is a bug so I don't report it.

I think this is probably OK.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sphara (Post 145070)
EDIT: Oh, and I also found weird that Gilim (ice) and Nan (fire) do not have resistances for their flavor elements.

I'm going to call this one a bug, though.

Quote:

Originally Posted by backwardsEric (Post 145072)
Does it handle scrolls of teleport level read from the floor? If the level change happens in the effect handler and non-persistent levels are used, the object that represents the scroll no longer exists when the effect handler returns. Also, from the fix for #4131, pushing objects from use_aux() wasn't enough to always place the glyph of warding.

I'm not sure - I'll test those.

EDIT: Teleport level is fine, but it does bring back #4131. My feeling is that our difficulties here indicate an underlying problem of how the code is approaching this; let me think about it for a bit.

matronboy May 1, 2020 08:45

Hello, sorry if this is in the wrong place or has been asked before, I tried to use the search function best i could to check!

I'm trying to play through Terminal on my Mac using the version downloaded with Homebrew, but I'm crashing and getting a message after the title screen saying: "angband: Broken savefile - probably from a development version"

I've tried deleting and reinstalling and stuff like that but to no avail! Wondered if there was an easy fix for this? The download version works fine, so it's no bother, I just like having it all neat and tidy in my console.

Thanks in advance!

fph May 1, 2020 09:37

Quote:

Originally Posted by matronboy (Post 145092)
Hello, sorry if this is in the wrong place or has been asked before, I tried to use the search function best i could to check!

I'm trying to play through Terminal on my Mac using the version downloaded with Homebrew, but I'm crashing and getting a message after the title screen saying: "angband: Broken savefile - probably from a development version"

I've tried deleting and reinstalling and stuff like that but to no avail! Wondered if there was an easy fix for this? The download version works fine, so it's no bother, I just like having it all neat and tidy in my console.

Thanks in advance!

Savefiles on Mac are in Documents/Angband/, I believe (or maybe Library/Preferences/Angband/save ? I never had a mac, so I'm just reading this stuff up). Probably you have a leftover one from a previous install.

Savefiles are the files that hold your current characters. They are usually named with your username, without extension, and their content begins with the characters "SaveVNLA" (you can use "head filename -c 8" from the command line to display the first 8 characters of a file's content). They are usually not compatible along different major versions.

It is not clear to me from your description what you are trying to do. Anyway:

1. If you had an active game saved with a previous version and wish to finish playing that character, you will need to reinstall the old version you were using.

2. If you wish to play different characters with two different Angband versions at the same time, you will need to tell them to load different savefiles with the command-line option "-u <savefile>" when running Angband.

3. Otherwise, if you only wish to play the new version, just delete the old savefile and a new one will be created.

Nick May 1, 2020 14:25

Quote:

Originally Posted by backwardsEric (Post 145072)
Does it handle scrolls of teleport level read from the floor? If the level change happens in the effect handler and non-persistent levels are used, the object that represents the scroll no longer exists when the effect handler returns. Also, from the fix for #4131, pushing objects from use_aux() wasn't enough to always place the glyph of warding.

OK, I think I finally have a fix for this; it is incredibly ugly, but seems to work in every situation so far. If it survives further testing, it should get pushed in the next couple of days.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:56.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.