Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutDownloadVariantsLadderForumCompetitionSpoilersComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 3, 2012, 12:19   #1
Timo Pietilš
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: In a hole, digging.
Posts: 3,425
Timo Pietilš is on a distinguished road
Plead to change shop UI

Hello from a long hiatus. I just recently started playing 3.4 beta release and again did a mistake in shop like I have made about zillion times before: I buy the first item into list. In normal game I would just sell them back, but this is no-selling game.

This mistake is because of very simple UI change in shops compared to everything else in game. In shop sequence is item-action. Everywhere else it is action-item.

So could someone please change shop interface back to how the rest of the world works? At least put that as an option (now that Takkaria is no longer in control, this should not be a problem).

I also noticed that mini-keyhelp for certain commands like targetting and look are gone (from info line). With this break in playing I don't remember which keys did what so I bet newbies are a way more confused than I am. You need to read help to see which key switched between targets, which to use to look at specific grid instead of jumping around etc. It seems that with look-command you can no longer look at any position, you have to jump around. Targetting at least allows me to look at the wall (to see if it is permanent wall for example.
Timo Pietilš is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2012, 14:44   #2
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 4,992
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate Send a message via Skype™ to Magnate
This is a really thorny one. IIRC takkaria's position was that item-action was the way the game was going, and the shop UI was first but eventually everything would work that way. That was 3.1.0, and here we are staring down the barrel of 3.4.0 and it hasn't gone any further.

Blubaron has done the most UI work in the last couple of versions - mainly on mouse support, which is inherently item-action (you click on the item and get an action context menu). Blubaron - how much work would it be to convert the main UI to item-action? Specifically, would it be more or less work than putting in an option-dependent shop UI (which sounds terrible!).
__________________
"3.4 is much better than 3.1, 3.2 or 3.3. It still is easier than 3.0.9, but it is more convenient to play without being ridiculously easy, so it is my new favorite of the versions." - Timo Pietila
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 3, 2012, 17:26   #3
Blue Baron
Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 103
Blue Baron is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnate View Post
Blubaron has done the most UI work in the last couple of versions - mainly on mouse support, which is inherently item-action (you click on the item and get an action context menu). Blubaron - how much work would it be to convert the main UI to item-action? Specifically, would it be more or less work than putting in an option-dependent shop UI (which sounds terrible!).
The inventory command already uses item-action. Is there another command that it is appropriate for? (with the other item commands the action is implicit in the command, so would always be action-item.)

for instance, in a store, item-action for selling only makes sense if the players inventory was already on screen.

the only area I see that can use an item-action interface is a generic "interact with terrain" command, but I might be missing something.

Purchasing in a store:
Lets say the player wants to buy item 'f'. the current way is by pressing "f,p". the old way is by pressing "p,f". Adding an if block that would ignore the current selection and pick another letter in the buy and examine commands would be easy to do.

It would also be possible to make it so that any of "p,f", "f,p,f", or "f,p,enter" would work, by adding another confirmation prompt between the purchase command and the actual number prompt/buy confirmation.

BTW, I prefer the old way, and also make purchase errors, but that preference is not very strong. Any of the four ways (current, old, option, or hybrid), is fine with me. I am willing to go with/implement the consensus, but as usual, I don't know when I will get to it.
Blue Baron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 02:19   #4
Malak Darkhunter
Knight
 
Malak Darkhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: US
Age: 37
Posts: 696
Malak Darkhunter is on a distinguished road
I get used to the shop ui, but i dont much care for it, can be kind of aggravating, i prefer the old way, very simple, but if the changes where meant for something greater then by all means have at it.
__________________
let me try this workaround...oh crap computer just went black
Malak Darkhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 02:44   #5
buzzkill
Prophet
 
buzzkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 2,910
Donated: $8
buzzkill is on a distinguished road
I've mentioned this about a million times before but it never gets any traction. In a no-selling game, double-tap to buy is superior to any other store option I've ever played. Want to buy the item in the a slot, just type aa. Want 6, just type aaaaaaa. It's hard to screw that up. To examine the item in slot a, type al.
__________________
www.mediafire.com/buzzkill - Get your 32x32 tiles here. UT32 now compatible Ironband and Quickband 9/6/2012.
My banding life on Buzzkill's ladder.
buzzkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 04:16   #6
Malak Darkhunter
Knight
 
Malak Darkhunter's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: US
Age: 37
Posts: 696
Malak Darkhunter is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzkill View Post
I've mentioned this about a million times before but it never gets any traction. In a no-selling game, double-tap to buy is superior to any other store option I've ever played. Want to buy the item in the a slot, just type aa. Want 6, just type aaaaaaa. It's hard to screw that up. To examine the item in slot a, type al.
Im glad you prefer to do things that way, but i dont, but hey to each is own
__________________
let me try this workaround...oh crap computer just went black
Malak Darkhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 09:28   #7
Nomad
Swordsman
 
Nomad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: England
Posts: 450
Nomad is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzkill View Post
Want to buy the item in the a slot, just type aa. Want 6, just type aaaaaaa.
What if you want 99?
Nomad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 10:11   #8
ghengiz
Adept
 
ghengiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Roaming in Terry Pratchett's Discworld
Posts: 178
ghengiz is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomad View Post
What if you want 99?
probably he has hired a monkey to press the key repetitively
ghengiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2012, 13:13   #9
buzzkill
Prophet
 
buzzkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 2,910
Donated: $8
buzzkill is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nomad View Post
What if you want 99?
I don't know if I've ever done that.

One could always type aa, then respond to prompt for quantity, then respond to prompt for confirmation, which BTW is the way the current DAJ implementation works. IMO, that's more clunky than what I described. I never buy massive quantities, usually 20 max. I was just hyping the system I prefer then tweaking it further to suit my preferences. I could see it being cumbersome for heavy shoppers.
__________________
www.mediafire.com/buzzkill - Get your 32x32 tiles here. UT32 now compatible Ironband and Quickband 9/6/2012.
My banding life on Buzzkill's ladder.
buzzkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2012, 02:21   #10
Blue Baron
Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 103
Blue Baron is on a distinguished road
This has been implemented in the latest nightly. Please try it out and make sure it works as expected.

it is the hybrid option I talked about before. To use the same example as before, {p,f} works to buy item f, but if item f is already selected, {p, enter} works as well (that is {f,p,enter} works, or {f, p, f}, or {a-z,p,f})

it is the same to examine a store item.

One problem is that pressing escape at the new prompt does not abort the purchase, a fix for this will be in my next pull request.
Blue Baron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Walking around a shoe shop Timo Pietilš Development 5 March 11, 2011 20:08
Adding a new shop to Angband 3.1.1 Kyle Development 9 October 30, 2010 20:56
If you were a shopkeeper; which shop would you own? Bandobras Vanilla 27 March 22, 2008 16:14
Shop observations ish Vanilla 7 August 29, 2007 00:32
Magic Shop - Rings/Amulets SocietalEclipse Vanilla 2 July 21, 2007 20:28


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.