Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 22, 2009, 09:52   #1
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Trying to trace a randart bug (or two, in fact)

I'm trying to work on this ticket: http://trac.rephial.org/ticket/833. At the moment I can't reproduce the problem with standart artifacts getting randart names, because I can't play a game with standard artifacts at all unless I use a savefile that has never used randarts!

I'd be really grateful if anyone who switches between standard and random artifacts could post in this thread - even if you don't notice either bug. Please say which version you're using (3.1.0beta or which trunk revision you compiled), and what platform (both which OS and which main-xxx engine).

I need to know whether you get the problem with birth options changed during character generation not being saved (i.e. reverting to their previous state once the character is created), and whether you've ever seen standard artifacts with random names. And anything else related to these issues that isn't as it should be.

At the moment I don't understand the naming problem at all, but I can't work on it until I can solve the option-reverting problem.

Thanks in advance.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23, 2009, 04:38   #2
BlackKnight
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
BlackKnight is on a distinguished road
Bug still occurs on Mac OSX r1375

I opened the ticket at trac. I still see this on r1375:

Example: [Eorlingas]

g) The Lance of Quenim (3d8) (+13,+21) (+2)
+2 strength, dexterity, speed.
Slays evil creatures, orcs, trolls.
Provides resistance to fear.
Cannot be harmed by acid, electricity, fire, cold.
Grants the ability to see invisible things.

Combat info:
1 blow/round.
Average damage/round: 57 vs. evil creatures, 72.1 vs. orcs, 72.1
vs. trolls, and 41.9 vs. others.

The workaround is also still working for me to correct the names.

To recreate:
- start a character with rantarts enabled in a new savefile
- quit
- restart angband with same save flie
- disable randards and generate new character
- generate an artifact in wizard mode, note random name for standard art
- quit
- start new character (another new savefile) with defaults
- quit
- restart prior character from first save file
- note that standard artifact name is restored
BlackKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 23, 2009, 21:06   #3
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlackKnight View Post
To recreate:
- start a character with rantarts enabled in a new savefile
- quit
- restart angband with same save flie
- disable randards and generate new character
- generate an artifact in wizard mode, note random name for standard art
- quit
- start new character (another new savefile) with defaults
- quit
- restart prior character from first save file
- note that standard artifact name is restored
Ok, I can finally recreate this - and we're looking at one bug, not two. When you generate an artifact in wizard mode, check your options (either before or after). You'll notice that randarts are set to Yes, even though they are not actually randomised.

Somehow, un-setting that option during character creation is randomising the artifact names but not the properties. If you unset the option at any time except character creation, it works fine - the next character is generated with normal artifacts.

I think I know why the workaround works: randarts are saved in the savefile, but normal artifacts aren't. So when you reload the savefile, it loads the normal artifacts with their correct names.

No idea why it randomises the names in the first place. Will investigate.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2009, 22:10   #4
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Fixed in r1377 - thanks for the report.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New randart code in trunk Magnate Vanilla 1 February 8, 2009 15:17


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.