Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 12, 2009, 15:46   #1
RogerN
Swordsman
 
RogerN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 308
RogerN is on a distinguished road
3.1 subwindow display settings

I just started playing the new competition character (#63) with the 3.1.0 beta. I've been rather frustrated by the subwindow display settings, which keep reverting back to the defaults. I want to display monster recall information in Term-1 and the monster list in Term-2. However, the subwindows keep reverting back to their original contents when I exit the menu system. If I go back to the subwindow settings then my preferences are still there, but the subwindows are not displaying what they ought to be.

Term-1 wants to display my character equipment, while Term-2 keeps switching back to recent messages.

Has anyone else experienced this behavior?
RogerN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 13, 2009, 22:55   #2
RogerN
Swordsman
 
RogerN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 308
RogerN is on a distinguished road
I found a workaround which appears to fix the behavior:

1) Disable all options for the affected subwindows
2) Exit the menu
3) Go back and re-enable the subwindow items you want
RogerN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14, 2009, 22:17   #3
Big Al
Swordsman
 
Big Al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary
Age: 32
Posts: 327
Donated: $18.32
Big Al is on a distinguished road
I get similar behaviour; I normally play with 2 term windows open: object and monster lists. When I quit and start up again, it lists equipment and recent messages. If I change manually remove and re-add the settings for object list and monster list, it now "flickers" between the two (ie. it shows the message recall whenever I get a new message and shows object recall whenever I find a new object, and sometimes seems to just change at random).
__________________
Come play Metroplexity!
Un, V MX H- D c-- f- PV s- d+ P++ M+
c-- S I++ So+ B+ ac- !GHB SQ RQ+ V+
Big Al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14, 2009, 22:48   #4
Stossel
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Stossel is on a distinguished road
Same here. I play with all seven term windows so having to redo my subwindows each time this weak little rogue dies is a hassle.

Also, the behavior of inven/equip seems to have changed, and I don't think for the better. If there was some way I could just toggle which one I'm viewing that window would be so much more useful. Currently if I equip an item I get the equip screen until I pick something up. Would like inven/equip to stick to inventory a little more since that's why I have it there.
Stossel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 14, 2009, 23:40   #5
Stossel
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Stossel is on a distinguished road
I'm also having problems with a term window set to monster recall and object recall. It keeps showing my inventory for some reason, though this might be because the defaults for Elen have the window for inven/equip. If that's the case, then the default inven/equip shows the inventory a lot more often than the one I set for myself, though again this might be due to the defaults of Elen. I'll make a few new characters and see if there's the same oddities.
Stossel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15, 2009, 05:27   #6
Stossel
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 9
Stossel is on a distinguished road
So it looks like term windows work just fine with new characters. There just must be some oddness using the savefile and the presets they've already got.
Stossel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15, 2009, 08:02   #7
NeoWizard
Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sherbrooke, Quebec
Posts: 102
NeoWizard is on a distinguished road
I Haven't experienced any of the problems you list.

I use term1 for messages, term 2 for monster recall, and term 3 for the monster list. I've set my subwindow dislplay on the first char I made and never had to redo my settings and it is my 10th char so far. And the version command says "3.1.0 beta"

Windows XP sp3
NeoWizard is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Information display inconsistencies Bodkin Vanilla 0 January 11, 2009 19:25
How to display subwindows in Linux? dfreer Vanilla 4 October 4, 2008 10:07
message display improvements DaviddesJ Vanilla 9 April 3, 2008 10:35
What are your Angband 3.0.9 display settings? Berserker Vanilla 3 February 26, 2008 21:37
Minor display glitch in 3.0.9 Dragonboneman Vanilla 17 October 26, 2007 18:04


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.