Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 30, 2010, 21:33   #1
fph
Knight
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Pisa / DL0
Posts: 991
fph is on a distinguished road
Carrying missiles in quiver only

I think that the pickup code should be changed so that shots/arrows/bolts always go in the quiver rather than in the inventory.
Unless I am missing something, I see no reason why I should carry them in the inventory...
fph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2010, 22:50   #2
Sirridan
Knight
 
Sirridan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 560
Sirridan is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by fph View Post
I think that the pickup code should be changed so that shots/arrows/bolts always go in the quiver rather than in the inventory.
Unless I am missing something, I see no reason why I should carry them in the inventory...
They can be cursed.
Sirridan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2010, 22:58   #3
PowerDiver
Prophet
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,712
PowerDiver is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by fph View Post
I think that the pickup code should be changed so that shots/arrows/bolts always go in the quiver rather than in the inventory.
Unless I am missing something, I see no reason why I should carry them in the inventory...
If I ever get around to it. The one drawback is that you will only be able to carry 10 slots of ammo. Currently you can pick up ammo even when the quiver is full.
PowerDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 11:43   #4
Timo Pietilš
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Climbing up from hole I just dug.
Posts: 4,096
Timo Pietilš is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerDiver View Post
If I ever get around to it. The one drawback is that you will only be able to carry 10 slots of ammo. Currently you can pick up ammo even when the quiver is full.
One thing for quiver is that it does not allow you to sort things and it does not have any kind of auto-sort. First ammo picked goes to first slot and so on.

My current char has xbow and sling and I would like to have some sort of auto-select there so that when I use sling F0 refers to first applicable sling ammo and when xbow first xbow ammo. Within quiver there should be some method of sorting things. If I have macro for F0 and F1 I would like to keep my F1 slot ammo in that slot even if I run out slot F0 ammo. Or override quiver slot numbering based on inscriptions.
Timo Pietilš is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 15:10   #5
fizzix
Prophet
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Madison, Wisconsin, US
Posts: 3,023
fizzix is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timo Pietilš View Post
Or override quiver slot numbering based on inscriptions.
I'm pretty sure it currently does this.
fizzix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 18:16   #6
d_m
Angband Devteam member
 
d_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age: 41
Posts: 1,516
d_m is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timo Pietilš View Post
One thing for quiver is that it does not allow you to sort things and it does not have any kind of auto-sort. First ammo picked goes to first slot and so on.

My current char has xbow and sling and I would like to have some sort of auto-select there so that when I use sling F0 refers to first applicable sling ammo and when xbow first xbow ammo. Within quiver there should be some method of sorting things. If I have macro for F0 and F1 I would like to keep my F1 slot ammo in that slot even if I run out slot F0 ammo. Or override quiver slot numbering based on inscriptions.
If you inscribe ammo as @f0 it moves into slot 0. Same goes for @f1, @f4, whatever. I usually inscribe slay evil and branded ammo @f6-9 just so i never accidentally use it if other ammo is available.
__________________
linux->xterm->screen->pmacs
d_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 19:16   #7
PowerDiver
Prophet
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,712
PowerDiver is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timo Pietilš View Post
My current char has xbow and sling and I would like to have some sort of auto-select there so that when I use sling F0 refers to first applicable sling ammo and when xbow first xbow ammo.
I was thinking that you could inscribe ammo with priorities 0 thru 9, with default prioirty of 5. Ties could be broken by price. I guess a UI option to choose cheapest or most expensive first. I am not wedded to this idea. It is just what occured to me. If anyone has a better approach, be sure to speak out.

I definitely plan to at least sort the ammo the way magic books are sorted, with usable ones coming before others.

Your problem seems related to an old peeve of mine. When using inscriptions such as @f1, if you inscribe both shots and bolts with it, one does not work because the thing that reads the inscription stops at the first one.
PowerDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2010, 22:36   #8
buzzkill
Prophet
 
buzzkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 2,939
Donated: $8
buzzkill is on a distinguished road
DaJ handles this nicely. If you have a sling equipped, then f0 is your first sling ammo. If a bow's equipped then f0 is your first bow ammo, f1 your second and so on. Beyond this, the firing dialog only gives you ammo choices applicable to your current launcher, and, I'm not sure but it may even sort ammo by relative value, the weakest being placed in slot 0. Also in DaJ, if you put cursed ammo in your quiver, your quiver becomes (temporarily) cursed, meaning that you can't fire any of your (non-cursed) ammo until you either uncurse the cursed ammo, or get rid of all the cursed ammo through use.
__________________
www.mediafire.com/buzzkill - Get your 32x32 tiles here. UT32 now compatible Ironband and Quickband 9/6/2012.
My banding life on Buzzkill's ladder.
buzzkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1, 2010, 06:21   #9
will_asher
DaJAngband Maintainer
 
will_asher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,123
Donated: $10
will_asher is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzkill View Post
DaJ handles this nicely. If you have a sling equipped, then f0 is your first sling ammo. If a bow's equipped then f0 is your first bow ammo, f1 your second and so on. Beyond this, the firing dialog only gives you ammo choices applicable to your current launcher, and, I'm not sure but it may even sort ammo by relative value, the weakest being placed in slot 0. Also in DaJ, if you put cursed ammo in your quiver, your quiver becomes (temporarily) cursed, meaning that you can't fire any of your (non-cursed) ammo until you either uncurse the cursed ammo, or get rid of all the cursed ammo through use.
The DaJAngband quiver is taken directly out of NPP. (giving credit where credit is due ..unless of course NPP took it from another variant.) The only changes I made were to make it work in the DAJ code and some tweaks for throwing weapons.
__________________
Will_Asher
aka LibraryAdventurer

My old variant DaJAngband:
http://sites.google.com/site/dajangbandwebsite/home (defunct and so old it's forked from Angband 3.1.0 -I think- but it's probably playable...)
will_asher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 1, 2010, 06:40   #10
PowerDiver
Prophet
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,712
PowerDiver is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzkill View Post
DaJ handles this nicely. If you have a sling equipped, then f0 is your first sling ammo. If a bow's equipped then f0 is your first bow ammo, f1 your second and so on.
What if you do not have any ammo f0. Does f1 switch to first or does it remain second?
PowerDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quiver not in 3.1.1? Tiburon Silverflame Vanilla 1 May 14, 2010 22:09
A Quiver Rizwan Vanilla 5 February 15, 2010 05:56
Quiver Problem Gordon Vanilla 2 January 21, 2010 16:06
Quiver bug in v1802 miyazaki Vanilla 10 December 1, 2009 06:51
[O110u] Quiver stacking Donald Jonker Variants 4 November 20, 2008 11:04


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.