AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > AAR

Old June 18, 2011, 12:26   #1
Remuz
Apprentice

Remuz is on a distinguished road
[V 3.2.0] Hyathlos, your common dwarf priest

Hi everyone,

Since I started playing again after a long hiatus, I figured I would need to learn everything again, partly because the game changed, and partly because, well, I forgot how to play.

So, I figured out I would start with a common, if dull, character. The problem is, I have no idea what the gameplay should be like. Right now, I am not using any launcher, nor any melee. I basically OoD everything to death, which is fine so far. It does not do a lot of damage, but my (I think) pretty good AC allows me to get meleed without any problem at all.

No close call so far, should I dive or not? My stats are far from maxed, I could use a few more levels (for HP mainly), I lack some resistances, and my permanent speed of +5 means that a quick opponent can double-move on me. On the other hand, nothing seems really dangerous, and when I expect trouble, 0% fail heal and teleport other is enough to avoid problems.

Well, here it is, comments more than welcome:
http://angband.oook.cz/ladder-show.php?id=11463

Thanks!

Edit: Just made an interesting find: a =oSpeed +5 in a small vault. The trouble is, I do not dare swapping out those rings of rPoison and Con+5 for it. Other good news are, my constitution is now maxed, and I found a nice bow with +2 Con, that gets me to the wooping 741 hp. Removing that ring of constitution +5 gets me to 570 hp. Should I aim for more HP or more speed?

Last edited by Remuz; June 18, 2011 at 13:14.
Remuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 18, 2011, 17:03   #2
buzzkill
Prophet

Donated: $8
buzzkill is on a distinguished road
Speed +5 (at +5) trumps rPoison in my book, even at DL50. Then again Stealth +5 probably would also. I'm not a big believer in resists.
Old June 18, 2011, 20:07   #3
Timo Pietilš
Prophet