Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 31, 2010, 16:51   #1
Hajo
Adept
 
Hajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 142
Hajo is on a distinguished road
How do players of graphical tiled display use the "/" identify command?

Angband has the "/" command to identify a letter. It helps new players to learn about the game, and it also accesses the monster memory.

Now, it requires to type the letter that you want to have information about.

My problem is, if I kill, say, a grey mold with graphical tile display, and want to access the monster memory to learn more about grey molds, I do not know which char to type for the "/" command.

How do people who play with graphical tiles work with the "/" command?
__________________
I have a project problem? I have no project problem. I start a project, I work on it, it fails. No problem
Hajo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31, 2010, 20:16   #2
Jungle_Boy
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 434
Jungle_Boy is on a distinguished road
I usually only use that command by accident when I'm trying to hit '.' Things that you can do to find the correct monster symbol:

1 - guess
2 - use the 'l'ook command before killing the monster
3 - use the '~' knowledge menu
Jungle_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 31, 2010, 22:27   #3
Hajo
Adept
 
Hajo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 142
Hajo is on a distinguished road
I just came across the problem when I was testing my isometric view addon and noticed I have forgotten which character skeletons have

Thanks for the answer
__________________
I have a project problem? I have no project problem. I start a project, I work on it, it fails. No problem
Hajo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 1, 2010, 19:04   #4
fyonn
Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 217
fyonn is on a distinguished road
I've played for so long now that I know most of the monster letters off by heart I think. and if I can't remember, I use the knowledge menu for monsters, or just search though the monsters spoiler file.
fyonn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
An option to disable the "command menu" AnonymousHero Vanilla 11 March 14, 2012 17:37
"Great" drops replaced by "good" drops in vaults: bug or feature? PowerWyrm Vanilla 14 February 27, 2010 16:54
"repeat" Command just little bit "smarter" ClaytonAguiar Vanilla 8 June 17, 2009 16:01
3.0.6. Drop command "Are you sure?" Fonzie684 Vanilla 2 June 11, 2009 08:41
"You have nothing to identify." Magnate Vanilla 13 May 29, 2009 23:30


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.