Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 31, 2016, 13:50   #1
Abaxvahl
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3
Abaxvahl is on a distinguished road
How to get the old ASCII?

How do I make my Angband ASCII look like this in game: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HFE8...JPMCOZ_7GS4zoy

When I select no tiles/graphics mine uses # for walls, the main screen gets smaller, and when I try to make it bigger the worlds and letters get massive spaces between them.

I'm using 4.0.5 btw.
Abaxvahl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31, 2016, 18:25   #2
Ingwe Ingweron
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA
Posts: 1,947
Ingwe Ingweron is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abaxvahl View Post
How do I make my Angband ASCII look like this in game: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HFE8...JPMCOZ_7GS4zoy

When I select no tiles/graphics mine uses # for walls, the main screen gets smaller, and when I try to make it bigger the worlds and letters get massive spaces between them.

I'm using 4.0.5 btw.
In the game play options, turn on "Solid Walls" and turn off "Hybrid Walls". By the way, gotta love Fizzix's "Let's Play Angband" series. Definitely gave me a huge leg-up in my playing ability.
__________________
“We're more of the love, blood, and rhetoric school. Well, we can do you blood and love without the rhetoric, and we can do you blood and rhetoric without the love, and we can do you all three concurrent or consecutive. But we can't give you love and rhetoric without the blood. Blood is compulsory. They're all blood, you see.”
― Tom Stoppard, Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead
Ingwe Ingweron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3, 2016, 10:01   #3
Werbaer
Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 137
Werbaer is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abaxvahl View Post
When I select no tiles/graphics mine uses # for walls, the main screen gets smaller, and when I try to make it bigger the worlds and letters get massive spaces between them.
If you're on windows, use the Angband Windows->Font menu to select a larger font. I'm using 10X20X.FON for the main window, and 8X12X.FON / 7X13X.FON for the others.
Werbaer is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 3, 2016, 21:40   #4
Pete Mack
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,773
Donated: $40
Pete Mack is on a distinguished road
Make sure "tile size" agrees with your font. Sometimes it gets messed up when you enable then disable gfx
Pete Mack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can anyone recommend an ascii engine? TJS Development 9 October 15, 2014 08:52
ASCII or Tiles? EvilScoop Vanilla 30 August 30, 2014 01:36
Ascii Dreams poll Antoine Idle chatter 116 December 27, 2011 06:42
(Un, G, FA, etc) High ASCII walls? Taqq Variants 6 December 5, 2007 15:26
Ascii Dreams slashdotted andrewdoull Idle chatter 9 November 23, 2007 23:02


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.