Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 28, 2011, 19:29   #101
Danath
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Age: 36
Posts: 2
Danath is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Problem with Bigtile Mode

Hello! I'm new around here.

Unfortunately my first post is about a problem i have with the 3.2 version.

I have Windows 7 x64 and a 1680x1050 20" LCD, and if i use the BigTile mode with the 32x32 tiles the status line on the main window, the one that says if you are confused, afraid, hungry, searching etc. doesn't show, no letters are displayed. I have to use BigTile mode with this LCD or else the tiles are fugly ( vertically distorted ). Increasing tile width and height manually ( deactivating "nice" mode and BigTile ) doesn't help, tiles are still distorted.
Strangely, the 16x16 font works fine even with BigTile mode and 32x32 tiles, but that font is very uncomfortable for me. The font i love to use is the 12x20B but that has the problem i said, all the big fonts have the same problem except strangely the 16x16 one.

The 3.1.1 version doesn't have this problem and works great, but i would love to be able to play the newer version because i think is overall better and has great features like the increased money mode without need to sell and the encumbrance display on item list.

If anyone knows any posible solution to this i would be grateful, or if there isn't a solution at the moment i am just posting my feedback for this version and i hope it will be solved at a future patch.
Danath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 28, 2011, 23:00   #102
buzzkill
Prophet
 
buzzkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 2,939
Donated: $8
buzzkill is on a distinguished road
I have a similar problem when I play older variants on my laptop (presumably something to do with screen size) but not with V3.2 or anything that has big tile/double tile support.

That said, the problem I usually have is that the status line (hungry, searching) is pushed off the bottom of the screen. The fix is to set your tile to 32x32 and then reduce the tile height by a pixel at a time until the status area becomes visible again. Usually it's around 32x30 IIRC (which will only cause a slight distortion/ you'll get used to it).

It's not a perfect solution, but I hope it helps.
__________________
www.mediafire.com/buzzkill - Get your 32x32 tiles here. UT32 now compatible Ironband and Quickband 9/6/2012.
My banding life on Buzzkill's ladder.
buzzkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29, 2011, 10:03   #103
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,060
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by scud View Post
Cheers both.

Couple of things which I hadn't noticed prior to 296ffa6475 of 25 Jan (same rev code as 21 Jan?). Which isn't to say they're new, obviously.

a) I saw an awful lot of bad rings before I first got the option to '(destroy? ignore?) all rings that are bad'. Can't recall which ring gave me the option, but I think it was most likely a damage or accuracy.

b) If I run over an artifact when my inventory is full, it's signposted eg 'You have no room for The Long Sword' rather than 'a Long Sword'.

You'll gather from b) that the artifacts are now ticking along nicely.

Still not sure about 'repair item'. Repaired Mices and to a lesser extend Dogs are a *huge* boost in the early game.
See ticket #1319 for the proposed changes to ?restore item: it will only work on artifacts, so this early-game exploit will go.

Thanks for the walkover bug - that's #1335.

The one about squelching bad rings could be a serious bug or could be a misunderstanding. The "mixed blessing" rings (dog, mouse, escaping, etc.) are not considered "bad" for squelch. "Bad" means a cursed version of a good ring, i.e. where the pval or +hit/dam is normally positive but has been flipped to negative. Did you find any of those before being invited to squelch all bad rings?
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29, 2011, 13:30   #104
scud
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sarf Laaaahdon
Posts: 323
scud is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnate View Post
The one about squelching bad rings could be a serious bug or could be a misunderstanding Did you find any of those before being invited to squelch all bad rings?
Yep, fo' sure. Seemed like the first example of any character stat-changer I found was cursed, and I *must* have found a few cursed Stealths, but it was well into the game before I was given the 'kill all bad'uns' option.

That said (and despite my elsewhere-stated intention to retire) in my latest game I was given option C on my first cursed ring.
scud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29, 2011, 14:08   #105
scud
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Sarf Laaaahdon
Posts: 323
scud is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by scud View Post
in my latest game I was given option C on my first cursed ring.
I take it all back...

I am holding a Ring of Searching <–3> {cursed} and my only k options are 'This item only' and 'All Ring (singular? of Searching'.

Not sure what I k'ed to get the 'ignore all rings that are bad', but my ring quality squelch is set to 'bad' and I definitely didn't change it via the options menu.

If I pick up a cursed non-artifact the ignore option is 'ignore all x apart from artifacts'. With 3.1.2 wasn't it 'ignore all x that are cursed'?

Is there a new and necessary distinction between 'bad' and 'cursed' that I'm failing to appreciate?
scud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29, 2011, 15:20   #106
Zyphyr
Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 135
Zyphyr is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by scud View Post
Is there a new and necessary distinction between 'bad' and 'cursed' that I'm failing to appreciate?
Bad = has a penalty
Cursed = Can't take it off (pretty much always also Bad)
Zyphyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 29, 2011, 22:03   #107
merenbach
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
merenbach is on a distinguished road
Compiling Angband 3.2 on Mac OS X

Hello, all. First-time poster here. I haven't very much liked the appearance of the Mac OS X Carbon port of Angband, so I've always compiled it and played it in the Mac OS X Terminal.app program--with great success (perhaps that's a little strange, but it always worked well in Terminal.app). Until I moved to 3.2, I'd always been able to compile it, then run it from any directory I might choose. 3.2 seems, however, to have changed my luck there. I get errors upon installation, and the option I especially want--to install it in my home directory--flat-out doesn't work. Here is what I do:

1. cd into the source directory
2. run the command: ./configure --prefix=$HOME
3. run the command: make
4. run the command: make install

I have tried sudo for the make install, too, to no avail. What I receive upon step 4 is the following error:

/bin/sh: .././install-sh: No such file or directory
Failed to install artifact.txt!
make[2]: *** [install] Error 1
make[1]: *** [install] Error 1
make: *** [install] Error 1

All prior steps had completed successfully; the make responses were all in green, whereas the Failed to install... message is in red. make install puts some things into the right folders--/Users/myname/etc and /Users/myname/share, as well as /Users/myname/games. Moving things manually into place doesn't help, either.

When I try to run Angband without moving anything, I get the following error:

./angband: Cannot access the '/Users/myname/share/angband/file/news.txt' file!

The 'lib' directory is probably missing or broken.
Perhaps the archive was not extracted correctly.
See the 'readme.txt' file for more information.

--- Once I move things into place, I get the following error upon running Angband:

./angband: Cannot open 'limits.txt'

I have tried using the absolute path, as well. I saw the following forum post here:

http://angband.oook.cz/forum/showthread.php?p=43886

It seemed to involve similar errors, but was for 3.1.2v2. No one appears to have responded to that. For the record, here's what appears at the end of the configure step:


Configuration:

Install path: /Users/andrew
binary path: /Users/andrew/games
config path: /Users/andrew/etc/angband/
lib path: /Users/andrew/share/angband/
var path: (not used)
(with private save and score files in ~/.angband/Angband/)

-- Frontends --
- Curses Yes
- GTK 2.x Disabled
- X11 No; missing libraries
- SDL Disabled
- Test No

- SDL sound No; missing libraries

--- And I have tried disabling the automatic inclusion of X11 (which appears to not be included in the above messages, anyway). I have tried configuring the lib path to be custom. I have also tried configuring the var path to be custom.

I apologize for the long post. I'm not sure how to proceed from here. For the record, I have tried a /usr/local install, too.

Thank you for any guidance.

Cheers,
Andrew
merenbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30, 2011, 02:00   #108
Danath
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Age: 36
Posts: 2
Danath is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzkill View Post
I have a similar problem when I play older variants on my laptop (presumably something to do with screen size) but not with V3.2 or anything that has big tile/double tile support.

That said, the problem I usually have is that the status line (hungry, searching) is pushed off the bottom of the screen. The fix is to set your tile to 32x32 and then reduce the tile height by a pixel at a time until the status area becomes visible again. Usually it's around 32x30 IIRC (which will only cause a slight distortion/ you'll get used to it).

It's not a perfect solution, but I hope it helps.
I tried that and unfortunately doesn't work, also tried to adjust the main window height manually to make the status line larger but that doesn't work either.
I have noticed that the graphical equipment interface ( above the char stats ) also disappears along the status line when BigTile is selected.

Thanks for the help anyway. Guess i will have to wait till next version.

On offtopic i wanted to say that i love the work you have done with the tiles on Z+, Buzzkill. It's starting to become my favourite Band.
Danath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30, 2011, 04:11   #109
d_m
Angband Devteam member
 
d_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age: 41
Posts: 1,516
d_m is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by merenbach View Post
Hello, all. First-time poster here. I haven't very much liked the appearance of the Mac OS X Carbon port of Angband, so I've always compiled it and played it in the Mac OS X Terminal.app program--with great success (perhaps that's a little strange, but it always worked well in Terminal.app).
Hi Andrew,

There's a weird issue with autotools on OSX. The way to fix the "install-sh" problem is to copy that file from root level down into some of the lib/ directories that need it... I forget which ones offhand, but if you need I can reply to this later when I'm on a Mac.

P.S. Even though this isn't the "supported" way to play on OSX I do personally play this way and it works for me, so I'm pretty sure I can help you get this working.
__________________
linux->xterm->screen->pmacs
d_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 30, 2011, 23:45   #110
merenbach
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 2
merenbach is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by d_m View Post
Hi Andrew,

There's a weird issue with autotools on OSX. The way to fix the "install-sh" problem is to copy that file from root level down into some of the lib/ directories that need it... I forget which ones offhand, but if you need I can reply to this later when I'm on a Mac.

P.S. Even though this isn't the "supported" way to play on OSX I do personally play this way and it works for me, so I'm pretty sure I can help you get this working.
You hit the nail on the head. I (perhaps) went overboard and copied the install-sh file into all of the lib subdirectories (as well as into lib itself) and recompiled, then ran make install. Successful installation and the program opens from Terminal.

Thank you so much for your help, d_m! I really appreciate it.

Cheers,
Andrew

P.S.: As an aside, I realize that I should perhaps have posted into the developer/compiling forum. Sorry about that...
merenbach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Angband 3.1.2 released! takkaria Vanilla 21 February 7, 2010 23:39
Angband 3.1.1 released takkaria Vanilla 107 September 24, 2009 04:56
Z+Angband 0.2.3 released Mangojuice Variants 58 October 29, 2008 20:37
Angband 3.0.9b released. takkaria Vanilla 3 April 12, 2008 12:58
Angband 3.0.9 released takkaria Vanilla 18 August 8, 2007 04:30


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.