Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 17, 2016, 20:27   #1
Ingwe Ingweron
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA
Posts: 2,123
Ingwe Ingweron is on a distinguished road
Should disarm traps command automatically repeat?

When disarming a trap, should it automatically repeat the attempts until success or setting it off?

Nick has pointed out in the "player knowledge branch", that disarm traps has always been this way, but I wonder if there's a consensus that it should be this way?

Unlike tunneling, picking a lock, or opening a door, my feeling is that trap disarming should not automatically repeat attempts. The former do not pose damage risk to @, but trap disarming does pose risk. I might want to risk it once, but not three times. The number of times I take that risk should be up to me, not an automatic reiteration.

Any thoughts?
__________________
“We're more of the love, blood, and rhetoric school. Well, we can do you blood and love without the rhetoric, and we can do you blood and rhetoric without the love, and we can do you all three concurrent or consecutive. But we can't give you love and rhetoric without the blood. Blood is compulsory. They're all blood, you see.”
― Tom Stoppard, Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead
Ingwe Ingweron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 17, 2016, 21:37   #2
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 57
Posts: 9,426
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enoughNick will become famous soon enough
The thing is that with traps there are three possibilities - no effect, disarm, and set off - and currently it just repeats as long as (up to a limit, IIRC) there is no effect. So you can think of the current situation as one attempt, which either disarms the trap or sets it off. Making the action not repeat would mostly just be adding a lot of mindless actions for the player - not that that's necessarily bad, the player does a lot of things fairly automatically anyway.

In any case, I'm inclined to think the rework of traps discussed here is likely to change the situation.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do you disarm traps? chrispitude Vanilla 9 February 16, 2014 02:02
Feature request: Auto-repeat the search command Marble Dice Vanilla 4 January 3, 2010 18:05
"repeat" Command just little bit "smarter" ClaytonAguiar Vanilla 8 June 17, 2009 16:01
bug with n (repeat last command) and engraving DaviddesJ Vanilla 0 March 31, 2008 09:20
[Feature Request] Make 'repeat last command' only repeat in-game commands CunningGabe Vanilla 7 March 22, 2008 21:13


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.