Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 6, 2015, 12:15   #1
Muscleguy
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 21
Muscleguy is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Nexus means -ve stat

So my Dwarf Priest on the Android version encountered some Nexus hounds, got drawn in by them and was breathed on. This swapped two of his stats: Wisdom and Intelligence BIG problem (after I had chugged through all the messages of forgotten spells).

I went from 18/30 Wis and 4 Int to the opposite. The problem is that with the Race and Class bonuses being strongly negative this means my base Wisdom is actually -ve but the Character screen shows both beginning and end as 4.

I guess this is a case for liberal quaffing of Contemplation potions. Fortunately after mangling my stats they sent me away, not far away from a necklace of Wisdom I had previously disdained and my Wis is now all the way up to a heady 7. I have stashed most of my spellbooks in my home and am reentering the mines manually as without being able to cast protectevil I'm toast at the level I was at (28). Not going anywhere near without resist Nex.
Muscleguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6, 2015, 13:14   #2
Muscleguy
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 21
Muscleguy is on a distinguished road
Edit

What I should have written was that my Race and Class bonuses are so positive (+5) that my starting Wis must be -1 to end up as 4. But the Character screen has my starting Wis as 4, applies the +5 and ends up as 4.
Muscleguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 6, 2015, 15:37   #3
Derakon
Prophet
 
Derakon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9,022
Derakon is on a distinguished road
So, wait, your WIS after applying race, class, and equipment modifiers was 4? That does sound like a bug to me. Nexus stat swap should swap your internal stats, i.e. before race/class/equip modifiers. A dwarf priest with an internal 4 WIS should still have an "actual" score of at least 9.

Do you know what version of Angband the Android build is based on?
Derakon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 7, 2015, 22:11   #4
Muscleguy
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 21
Muscleguy is on a distinguished road
3.4.1

I think that the character screen starts with 4 as the base, applies +2, +3 and gets 4 back out means the program 'knows' it doesn't make sense.

I have yet to find even a potion of contemplation. Failing 50% of my Beginner's book spells is a pill, though I've just found the gauntlets 'Paurhach' lying in a room so I've got a fire bolt to supplement the rods of lightning.
Muscleguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24, 2015, 16:51   #5
Muscleguy
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 21
Muscleguy is on a distinguished road
No bonuses applied

Mystery might be solved, I've belatedly noticed that NONE of my race or class bonuses are being applied to my stats. I did some digging in the options and in the birth options there's a No to 'maximise race and class bonuses'. Is it that in this case 'maximise' means 'apply at all'?

Another thing to notice when setting up my next character. The one before I didn't notice in the new desktop version that the shops wouldn't buy anything until it was too late.
Muscleguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 24, 2015, 22:06   #6
Derakon
Prophet
 
Derakon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9,022
Derakon is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muscleguy View Post
Mystery might be solved, I've belatedly noticed that NONE of my race or class bonuses are being applied to my stats. I did some digging in the options and in the birth options there's a No to 'maximise race and class bonuses'. Is it that in this case 'maximise' means 'apply at all'?

Another thing to notice when setting up my next character. The one before I didn't notice in the new desktop version that the shops wouldn't buy anything until it was too late.
"Maximize effect of race and class bonuses" is a weird option that should probably be removed (defaulted to always on). When it's off, functionally what happens is that your character is generated with the race and class stat modifiers applied to your internal stats. It's like if you were born as a classless human and then immediately chugged stat potions (and, uh, stat-draining potions) appropriate to your race and class. This has two main effects: first, your stat cap is 18/100 across the board, and second, your starting stats can be a bit more extreme (because "stat potion" modifiers are nonlinear).

When it's on, of course, your race/class modifiers are fixed values that are applied to your internal stats, much like equipment modifiers are.

Overall turning the option off has the effect of making characters less extreme in both directions: they aren't as innately powerful, but their weaknesses can be overcome. A mage with maximize-off can be just as innately strong as a warrior, given enough potions, but the warrior can be just as smart as the mage. Given how badly mages are nerfed physical-stats-wise, this is almost certainly more helpful for the mage than the warrior.
Derakon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25, 2015, 01:00   #7
krazyhades
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 428
krazyhades is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Muscleguy View Post
...the shops wouldn't buy anything...
This is actually for many players more fun and less busy-work. With no_sell=on, shops do not buy items, but the game generates many more coins (and their flavorful variants, but basically non-monster $ symbols) to make up for the lost income. With no_sell=off, the dungeon generates less money, and you're expected to be gaining cash by lugging equipment up from the dungeon to sell...which is basically a whole lot of slow busy-work hauling equipment that you never intend to actually use. I know that in my earlier Angband days, heading to town with a haul to sell was a big part of the fun, so if it's still enjoyable for you, by all means, swap that option until/unless you ever get tired of it!

You should have about the same amount of gold either way, but with nosell, you just have to walk over the piles of it.

Side note: with nosell you are still able to sell rechargable items (staves/wands) for 0 gold, so that the shop recharges them, allowing you to buy them back at normal cost fully loaded.

sanity check from Derakon or others would be nice, but I'm pretty sure this is all correct

Last edited by krazyhades; April 25, 2015 at 01:29.
krazyhades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25, 2015, 01:29   #8
Derakon
Prophet
 
Derakon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9,022
Derakon is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyhades View Post
Side note: you should I think still be able to sell rechargable items (staves/wands) for 0 gold, so that the shop recharges them, allowing you to buy them back at normal cost fully loaded.

sanity check from Derakon or others would be nice, but I'm pretty sure this is all correct
Har. I seem to have acquired a reputation. Can't imagine how that happened.

But yes, you can do this, if only for items that the shop normally stocks anyway. So no foolproof recharging of those Staves of Destruction.
Derakon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 25, 2015, 01:34   #9
krazyhades
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 428
krazyhades is on a distinguished road
Hey man I've been lurking on the forums for a long time. It's a hard-earned reputation.
krazyhades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 27, 2015, 09:07   #10
Timo Pietilš
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Climbing up from hole I just dug.
Posts: 4,096
Timo Pietilš is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyhades View Post
Side note: with nosell you are still able to sell rechargable items (staves/wands) for 0 gold, so that the shop recharges them, allowing you to buy them back at normal cost fully loaded.
I don't think this is the case anymore. I can't sell ID staff to magic shop even that I just bought it from there. It used to be the case when no sell was introduced.

I think it would be nice to have that possibility back. At least for wands and staves shop usually sells. Cost of that would need to be more than recharge scroll obviously.
Timo Pietilš is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
nexus stat swap is abuser dos350 Vanilla 0 July 9, 2014 07:20
Nexus help Scraper Vanilla 6 June 6, 2013 15:20
Nexus: remove stat swap effect Derakon Vanilla 43 May 1, 2010 15:14
When Nexus Works For You ElectricPaladin AAR 0 May 3, 2009 08:49
nexus scramble? orbs Vanilla 2 May 31, 2008 05:53


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.