AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Variants

Old April 16, 2014, 14:52   #1
FlayedOne
Rookie

FlayedOne is on a distinguished road
Newbie questions about Sangband

Hello,

Recently I started playing Sangband, and I must say, I'm really confused.

I'm trying to play a rouge / fighter kind of character using melee with light weapons, so I invest mainly in burglary and dodge.

1. What surprised me is the fact, that the more points I invest in burglary, the lower my hit-rate on dungeon level 1. Shouldn't it get higher, since I'm using a sabre (pretty light weapon, or is it too heavy for a burglar?)? A fresh character gets around 88 hit rate against a grey mold, but a character with 8 burglary gets ~75. Investing into swordsmanship doesn't seem to affect that either. Only my fighting skill description changes. Having a (+6,+6) sabre doesn't seem to change it either. The same goes for average damage. What is even more perplexing is that no matter whether I use a (+6,+6) sabre of (0,0) dagger my average damage after attacking a grey mold is stuck at 4 or 5.

Am I misunderstanding something? Should I ignore the values? It seems like I'm killing faster with a sabre than a dagger.

2. Is a short sword a better weapon for a burglar than a sabre? What does "light" mean in the burglary skill description?

3. Should I invest into swordsmanship as well, or is it better to invest only in burglary if I'm using light weapons?

4. How do I steal? Supposedly burglary lvl 4 should allow me to do it, but I don't know how I can use the skill.

5. Any advice for this type of character? Right now, I'm investing mostly into burglary, dodge and perception, with a few points in stealth and disarming. Is it too many skills? I'm dying horribly pretty often. I tried using swordsmanship instead of burglary, but it didn't seem to make any difference.

-edit-