Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Old September 2, 2021, 01:18   #1
just_zis_guy
Rookie

just_zis_guy is on a distinguished road
+4 Damage Reduction

Hello! Playing randarts I came across the Long Sword 'Andir' (2d5) (+9,+16) <+4>. The +4 is Damage Reduction. I never saw this feature before. Am I right that this reduces the damage done to you from an enemy attack? Is +4 a good reduction?

PS
I'm a new forum member - howdy! I've been playing Angband and stalking the forums for many years. I thought I should come out of my hole and ask a question or something.
just_zis_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 2, 2021, 02:01   #2
Nick
Vanilla maintainer

Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enoughNick will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by just_zis_guy View Post
Hello! Playing randarts I came across the Long Sword 'Andir' (2d5) (+9,+16) <+4>. The +4 is Damage Reduction. I never saw this feature before. Am I right that this reduces the damage done to you from an enemy attack? Is +4 a good reduction?
Yes, it's a flat 4HP reduction from every individual monster attack. So it's really good if you're surrounded by monsters that don't do a lot of damage (you'll be immune to giant fleas, for example), but almost useless against monsters that are doing 100s of HP in spell damage.

Quote:
PS
I'm a new forum member - howdy! I've been playing Angband and stalking the forums for many years. I thought I should come out of my hole and ask a question or something.
Welcome
Old September 3, 2021, 16:37   #3
sffp
Adept

sffp is on a distinguished road
Quote:

PS

Keep in mind it's 4 points of damage per attack

So an 8-headed which makes 8 2d6 attacks that average 7 points of damage apiece will have its damage reduced by 4 pts (averaging 3 points of damage.)