Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old February 1, 2019, 16:52   #11
PowerWyrm
Prophet
 
PowerWyrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,615
PowerWyrm is on a distinguished road
Use GimP: https://www.gimp.org/
__________________
PWMAngband variant maintainer - check http://powerwyrm.monsite-orange.fr (or http://www.mangband.org/forum/viewforum.php?f=9) to learn more about this new variant!
PowerWyrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1, 2019, 17:12   #12
takkaria
Veteran
 
takkaria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,928
Donated: $40
takkaria is on a distinguished road
I'm just wondering if it's something about using alpha channel vs having a palette colour that is 'transparent'. Maybe Angband only supports paletted transparency and not alpha channels?
__________________
takkaria whispers something about options. -more-
takkaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1, 2019, 17:29   #13
tangar
Knight
 
tangar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 522
tangar is on a distinguished road
Ok, there is a workaround which I found: to clear photoshop 'transparent' layer when you save .png; I use for it this addon http://www.fnordware.com/superpng/ (cause by default photoshop can't do it).

It's removes white artifacts

Some hints for Photoshop:
1) To make it easy to edit tileset - use grid:
'View' -> 'Show' -> 'Grid'
and then adjust grid to 32 px:
Edit > Preferences > Guides, Grids & Slices The Guides
2) lock position of layer so you won't move tileset accidentally


YAY! Editing tileset now - huge pleasure!

Thanks to everyone! Your replies helped to solve this riddle

...

but. New challenge. New problem!

Rubble got black 'background'... The same issue not only in Gervais tileset, but also in Shockbolt's. Why is it so? How to make it properly transparent?
__________________
http://tangaria.com - persistent online multiplayer roguelike game
tangar.info - my website ⍽⍽⍽⍽⍽⍽⍽⍽⍽⍽⍽⍽ My chars @ angband.oook.cz
youtube.com/GlazGame — streams in English ⍽ youtube.com/StreamGuild — streams in Russian

Last edited by tangar; February 1, 2019 at 17:38.
tangar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 1, 2019, 21:09   #14
t4nk
Swordsman
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 330
t4nk is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by tangar View Post
Rubble got black 'background'... The same issue not only in Gervais tileset, but also in Shockbolt's. Why is it so? How to make it properly transparent?
Interesting... I recall seeing rubble on black background quite a while ago, but I assumed that was because these tiles were placeholders, for lack of better ones... Now I'm looking at code, and it seems that rubble should have black background because its a feature, so it doesn't get a proper floor feature underneath it?
Nick, you might want to take a look at grid_data_as_text(). It should probably check whether feat is rubble, and if yes, it should save coordinates of floor tile in tap and tcp.
t4nk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 12, 2019, 11:56   #15
tangar
Knight
 
tangar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Moscow, Russia
Posts: 522
tangar is on a distinguished road
Lightbulb [tileset] Rubble problem: add new type of terrain - 'things'

Quote:
Originally Posted by t4nk View Post
Interesting... I recall seeing rubble on black background quite a while ago, but I assumed that was because these tiles were placeholders, for lack of better ones... Now I'm looking at code, and it seems that rubble should have black background because its a feature, so it doesn't get a proper floor feature underneath it?
Nick, you might want to take a look at grid_data_as_text(). It should probably check whether feat is rubble, and if yes, it should save coordinates of floor tile in tap and tcp.
I suppose this is right point, but I also wanna share my (maybe wrong) idea about this problem - as I work with tileset atm to make custom world map for Angband Online and there are similar problems with other objects like trees..

Why rubble atm got black background?

I suppose, it's because the game 'thinks' that rubble is not a separate object ('thing') to put it on the floor tile, but a 'floor'-like tile. Even if rubble tile is transparent - game can not put it above 'open floor' tile, because rubble is managed as 'floor'-like tile (even if it doesn't have FLOOR flag).

So if we would look at terrain.txt, we could divide all tiles there in two groups:

1) ie terrain objects like floors and walls - 'backgrounds'
2) terrain 'things' - rubble, veins, lava (there could be also included trees and some more new stuff) - 'textures'

So it would be great if objects in terrain.txt would have special transparent-friendly flag, so some objects could be noted as 'backgrounds' (floors, walls) and some would be like 'textures' - which means that at level genaration they would be placed after 'backgrounds' as transparent ones. Then this new terrain things would have proper (floor or wall - for veins or lava) background, like traps have, for example.

p.s.
(silly) idea: maybe right now it's easier just to make 'hack' which would make rubble handled like a trap or immobile monster (lol) with certain properties (to dig it, block vision)
__________________
http://tangaria.com - persistent online multiplayer roguelike game
tangar.info - my website ⍽⍽⍽⍽⍽⍽⍽⍽⍽⍽⍽⍽ My chars @ angband.oook.cz
youtube.com/GlazGame — streams in English ⍽ youtube.com/StreamGuild — streams in Russian

Last edited by tangar; February 12, 2019 at 13:22.
tangar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding terrain to V Therem Harth Development 14 March 22, 2013 21:15
Adding 3 dimensions to a 2D roguelike xibalba Idle chatter 12 February 22, 2012 12:41
Tile painters: request for a new tile takkaria Development 8 June 17, 2011 12:01
Adding a new shop to Angband 3.1.1 Kyle Development 9 October 30, 2010 20:56
Adding Effects to Angband PaulBlay Development 0 March 28, 2009 12:08


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.