Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 11, 2013, 02:45   #1
Ruin_Christmas
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Ruin_Christmas is on a distinguished road
Exclamation Angband 3.32 Slow/Laggy

First of all, hello. I last played Angband & Zangband between 1997-2004. I occasionally posted in newsgroups and used Thangodorim (sp) as a reference, but I'm new here. I really like the changes to the game in the intervening 10 years. My favorite is how item management has become so much saner with quivers/auto-squelch.

My problem is that the game (3.32) is running very slowly. It gets slower as I play. It lags when I am in a room with a group of monsters surrounding me. I might have to wait 15-30 sec between keypresses to see what happens next. Tunnelling starts at about 10 tunnels/second when I begin, and slows to about 1 per second (on the counter) after about 30 minutes of play.

My computer is a netbook running Lubuntu. I have 2 GB memory. Not sure about the processor, but it has to be light years faster than the machines I played on 10-15 years ago. No other applications run in this slow manner (within reason - I don't run Photoshop etc) .

So anyone have any ideas? I searched for Lag but couldn't find anything in the forums. Any further information that would help, I'd be happy to provide.

Hope to be active here and make new friends/learn about new variants. Thank you for your help!
Ruin_Christmas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11, 2013, 03:23   #2
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 7,058
Donated: $60
Nick is on a distinguished road
You could try turning various options on and off and seeing if it makes a difference, or (more work) try different versions and see if that makes a difference. It sounds a bit like a memory issue - was your version compiled in any different way to usual? Did you compile it, or install from a package (via the Ububtu software centre or whatever) ?

Sorry, not very helpful here. Other people would know more about specific potential problems with 3.3.2.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11, 2013, 03:37   #3
Ruin_Christmas
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Ruin_Christmas is on a distinguished road
What type of options should I try?

I used this version on my parents' Win 7 computer and it worked fine.

I did not compile it, I got it from Ubuntu Software Center (I use GTK version)
Ruin_Christmas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11, 2013, 07:12   #4
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 7,058
Donated: $60
Nick is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruin_Christmas View Post
I did not compile it, I got it from Ubuntu Software Center (I use GTK version)
OK, this might be the problem - the GTK version had some issues (and has been discontinued now).

I believe you should be able to make the SDL version work from the Ubuntu package (I don't have a working Ubuntu currently, but someone who has may be able to confirm), and I would recommend that, or x11 if you can't get SDL to work.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11, 2013, 08:49   #5
AnonymousHero
Veteran
 
AnonymousHero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,342
AnonymousHero is on a distinguished road
Do note that screen refreshes in the X11 version can also be quite laggy (with certain drivers), though nowhere as laggy as what you're describing.
AnonymousHero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11, 2013, 16:41   #6
Derakon
Prophet
 
Derakon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8,313
Derakon is on a distinguished road
Given that it gets worse as you play, it practically has to be some kind of resource buildup issue, and that almost always means a memory leak. I concur with Nick.
Derakon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11, 2013, 18:46   #7
Ruin_Christmas
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Ruin_Christmas is on a distinguished road
solutions

Thanks for the tips. I will try SDL then X11. How do I get graphics mode? Can I still have a window open showing messages? I'm assuming that to load a game i just need to move my savefile into the appropriate folder?
Ruin_Christmas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11, 2013, 18:52   #8
Ruin_Christmas
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 8
Ruin_Christmas is on a distinguished road
When I try SDL I found the graphics options but could not figure out how to load my game - it seems to use the same save folder as GTK? Additionally it only displays on 1/4 of the screen - given that I have a netbook, this is about the size of a deck of cards!

on X11 i didn't see how to get graphics or any option to load game.
Ruin_Christmas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11, 2013, 21:57   #9
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 7,058
Donated: $60
Nick is on a distinguished road
For SDL, in a terminal type
Code:
angband -msdl -uXXX
to load savefile XXX. You can then choose graphics modes from options tab. To cnahge the size just drag the corner (or choose fullscreen from the option menu); if you're really stuck, you can edit $HOME/.angband/Angband/sdlinit.txt (which has all the window and subwindow sizes in pixels) directly.

For x11, it's
Code:
angband -mx11 -uXXX -- -nN
for savefile XXX with N windows; you can't get graphics with x11.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11, 2013, 22:31   #10
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,054
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
For SDL, in a terminal type
Code:
angband -msdl -uXXX
to load savefile XXX. You can then choose graphics modes from options tab. To cnahge the size just drag the corner (or choose fullscreen from the option menu); if you're really stuck, you can edit $HOME/.angband/Angband/sdlinit.txt (which has all the window and subwindow sizes in pixels) directly.

For x11, it's
Code:
angband -mx11 -uXXX -- -nN
for savefile XXX with N windows; you can't get graphics with x11.
Note that the -u switch assumes that savefiles are actually named UID.XXX where UID is your UID on the system (usually 1000 on a standard single-user linux install).
__________________
"3.4 is much better than 3.1, 3.2 or 3.3. It still is easier than 3.0.9, but it is more convenient to play without being ridiculously easy, so it is my new favorite of the versions." - Timo Pietila
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3.32, lag, slow, vanilla


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the point of slow pseudo-ID? Starhawk Vanilla 13 June 5, 2013 05:10
Angband: Wy am I continuous slow? steffomio Oook! 4 January 22, 2013 11:00
r1357 laggy store UI ekolis Vanilla 10 April 14, 2009 08:25
Slow going Shade AAR 17 April 12, 2008 01:21
Item name: !Slow Poison Garrie Vanilla 13 February 22, 2008 20:19


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.