Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 5, 2011, 06:23   #1
Scraper
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Osaka, Japan.
Posts: 99
Scraper is on a distinguished road
Problem with stacked chests?

Not sure if this is the right area to put this but anyway... Last night while playing I found 2 chests stacked on the ground. I cast "unbarring" to destroy traps and unlock the chests. Received the message "Click!Click!" so assumed both chests had been unlocked etc. Here's where it gets tricky. I pressed the open command and one chest opened, spilled its contents on the ground as usual, but in the place previously occupied by "&" indicating more than one object, there was the tilde "~" indicating that a chest remained.

I was unable to open the second chest. I didn't try to pick up the chest which in hindsight would have been a good idea to investigate. I did however try to open the chest from different sides.

Anyway this is harldy a big issue, I just thought I'd post it to see if anyone else had had similar experiences...
Scraper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5, 2011, 08:35   #2
Timo Pietilš
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Climbing up from hole I just dug.
Posts: 4,096
Timo Pietilš is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scraper View Post
I was unable to open the second chest. I didn't try to pick up the chest which in hindsight would have been a good idea to investigate. I did however try to open the chest from different sides
That's a bug caused by now squelched chest being first in the stack. If you unhide squelched and move that out of the stack you can open the remaining, or if you move the chest you are trying to open out of the stack you can then open it.

That bug has been there for some time now. Empty chest get auto-squelched and that causes problems with opening other chests in same stack.
Timo Pietilš is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5, 2011, 09:00   #3
Scraper
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Osaka, Japan.
Posts: 99
Scraper is on a distinguished road
Oh I see. Thanks for the info.
Scraper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5, 2011, 17:41   #4
ewan
Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 108
ewan is on a distinguished road
This just happened to me. I tried to solve it by throwing the second chest to a new location, which allowed it to open but it was then empty. All very odd, but also very minor .
ewan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5, 2011, 19:28   #5
Zyphyr
Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 135
Zyphyr is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ewan View Post
This just happened to me. I tried to solve it by throwing the second chest to a new location, which allowed it to open but it was then empty. All very odd, but also very minor .
If the chest was 'empty' then it presumably contained something you already had squelched, so there was nothing to show upon opening.
Zyphyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 5, 2011, 20:09   #6
Derakon
Prophet
 
Derakon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9,022
Derakon is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zyphyr View Post
If the chest was 'empty' then it presumably contained something you already had squelched, so there was nothing to show upon opening.
What's even more confusing is when you read a scroll of Acquirement and get "nothing".
Derakon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 6, 2011, 02:00   #7
buzzkill
Prophet
 
buzzkill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 2,939
Donated: $8
buzzkill is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Derakon View Post
What's even more confusing is when you read a scroll of Acquirement and get "nothing".
Maybe one should receive "a lump of coal" or "a rock" instead .
__________________
www.mediafire.com/buzzkill - Get your 32x32 tiles here. UT32 now compatible Ironband and Quickband 9/6/2012.
My banding life on Buzzkill's ladder.
buzzkill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bug: "Find Traps, Doors & Stairs" doesn't work on chests Raggy Vanilla 26 June 29, 2011 13:28
chests are junk PowerDiver Vanilla 9 August 27, 2010 16:53
why keep opened chests? PowerDiver Vanilla 7 February 9, 2010 01:51
3.1.0: Chests, am I seeing things? NeoWizard Vanilla 12 January 20, 2009 05:39
[FA + others] Recharging stacked wands Psi Variants 2 June 28, 2007 11:55


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2023, vBulletin Solutions Inc.