Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Variants

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 19, 2018, 02:40   #1
ghost0087
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 4
ghost0087 is on a distinguished road
Cant get adom bolt tiles to work in frogcomposband

See title. The tileset wont open. I just get an error message saying the file cant be opened. The "old tiles" set work. I tried in both composband and frogcomposband. At the very least if no one knows how, can someone help me change the character symbol? I tried changing preference but I can only change color and nothing other than @ works. Id like to at least use a custom character or something.
ghost0087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19, 2018, 13:33   #2
Sideways
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 256
Sideways is on a distinguished road
Really, I would say "just play with ASCII"; it's so much easier to tell what's happening with an ASCII interface.

I'm not sure why you can't change the player character, though, even if you're playing with the old tiles. What I'd suggest doing is press '%' (interact with visuals) - '4' (change monster attr/chars) - 'v' (probably the handiest if you're playing with tiles) - pick the character or tile you want for the player - Esc - '1' to dump. Something weird is happening if this doesn't work.

(Edit: I can see one problem with this now that can cause the new character to be forgotten, even if it works to begin with. What you need to do is remove 75:24 and 75:25 from graf-xxx.prf; then if you're happy with the race/class-based instead-of-@ tile you get, you won't need to do anything else; if you still want a custom @ tile, edit and dump your visuals as above, then add a line at the bottom of graf-xxx.prf that says "%:yourdumpname.prf" and it ought to work.)
__________________
The Complainer worries about the lack of activity here these days.

Last edited by Sideways; April 19, 2018 at 13:55.
Sideways is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19, 2018, 14:16   #3
CyclopsSlayer
Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 215
CyclopsSlayer is on a distinguished road
Wasn't there a post a while back about someone trying to do Graphics for the progenitor Poschengband, only to find that Chirs had changed something about how graphics attributes were assigned, and breaking tilesets.

Here, found it,
Poschengband 32x32 tileset
CyclopsSlayer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 19, 2018, 20:43   #4
ghost0087
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 4
ghost0087 is on a distinguished road
well "old tile" set works but just not adom bolt tiles. Old tiles aren't bad but I just cant do ascii. I wish I liked it but I just cant get immersed. But I'm not knocking it, just not for me.
ghost0087 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FrogComposband 7.0.peppermint Sideways Variants 148 June 6, 2018 19:37
FrogComposband 7.0.strawberry Sideways Variants 40 April 18, 2018 07:27
Problems Getting Tiles to Work in SteamBand Xombin Variants 6 January 29, 2010 15:06
Feature request: lightning bolt wands and rods should work like the spell bron Vanilla 2 December 20, 2009 00:33
getting David Gervais' 32x32 tiles to work agentshags Vanilla 13 December 3, 2007 17:30


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.