Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 20, 2020, 13:32   #41
wobbly
Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 2,314
wobbly is on a distinguished road
You've done something funky. Some of the changes you're trying to pull in have been in master since September 2019
wobbly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20, 2020, 19:08   #42
DavidMedley
Knight
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 661
DavidMedley is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by wobbly View Post
You've done something funky. Some of the changes you're trying to pull in have been in master since September 2019
Hmm ok thanks for the tip.
DavidMedley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20, 2020, 19:11   #43
DavidMedley
Knight
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 661
DavidMedley is on a distinguished road
I guess I'll have to delete this and fork anew.
DavidMedley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20, 2020, 20:50   #44
DavidMedley
Knight
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 661
DavidMedley is on a distinguished road
I think I'm on the right track with github now. Question: is there a git setting to avoid updating a bunch of lines where the only change is my editor auto-trimmed some trailing whitespace?
DavidMedley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 20, 2020, 23:33   #45
moosferatu
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 96
moosferatu is on a distinguished road
If it's actually trimming spaces, you'll need to configure that in your editor.

What OS are you using? Windows? Most likely, it's converting line endings -- a highly irritating problem.

https://help.github.com/en/github/us...e-line-endings
moosferatu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21, 2020, 02:14   #46
DavidMedley
Knight
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 661
DavidMedley is on a distinguished road
It's not the newlines, but thanks. It's the odd extra space or tab.
DavidMedley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21, 2020, 03:00   #47
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 8,329
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Here is my recommendation for managing your own version of the angband git repository:
  1. Fork the official repo (angband/angband) using the fork button on github
  2. Clone/download this to get your own local copy
  3. Keep your master branch up-to-date with the official master branch, do not do development work on your master branch
  4. For development work, create a branch and do your work there. Once it's ready for inclusion, push it to your github repo and make a pull request
  5. The official master branch will be updated frequently. Make sure that you (fairly frequently):
    • Pull changes from the official repo and update your master (it should be just a fast-forward, since you are not developing on your master);
    • Rebase your development branch or branches against your master branch, resolving any conflicts that arise

This is how I work, and it should keep confusion to a minimum.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 21, 2020, 04:17   #48
DavidMedley
Knight
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 661
DavidMedley is on a distinguished road
OK, good tips. I know less about version control than I probably should.
DavidMedley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23, 2020, 20:37   #49
DavidMedley
Knight
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 661
DavidMedley is on a distinguished road
I got my changes into a new branch, rolled my master back (via CLI couldn't find this option on github), and can now pull in the 13 commits at the press of a button. Github gives me 3 choices for this:
- Create a merge commit
- Squash and merge
- Rebase and merge

Which do you recommend?
DavidMedley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23, 2020, 20:54   #50
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 8,329
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidMedley View Post
I got my changes into a new branch, rolled my master back (via CLI couldn't find this option on github), and can now pull in the 13 commits at the press of a button. Github gives me 3 choices for this:
- Create a merge commit
- Squash and merge
- Rebase and merge

Which do you recommend?
If you're pulling commits into your new branch from master and want to stay aligned with it, use rebase - that will bring your branch up to date with master, and then replay your new commits onto that base.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is there a code? jozmon Development 19 August 4, 2014 00:38
Questions regarding vanilla inscriptions Avenger Vanilla 8 December 13, 2013 21:15
Questions regarding vanilla dungeon design Cazliostro Vanilla 23 October 11, 2010 12:05
code help please will_asher Variants 22 March 15, 2010 19:00
Looking through the code K.I.L.E.R Vanilla 5 July 11, 2007 08:01


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.