Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 15, 2008, 20:40   #1
fmackenz
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 14
fmackenz is on a distinguished road
Gloves on a mage?

I've played various versions of *band for a long time, but I've never played a mage class.

After reading a post on fast diving with a HE mage, I thought I'd give one a try. Two questions:

1. When do you start wearing gloves? I'm a CL 31 and am still not wearing any... Is there a point where it makes sense?

2. Is there any value to having more than one Rod of Recall? Can they be stolen or destroyed?

Thanks.
fmackenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15, 2008, 21:10   #2
awldune
Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 113
awldune is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmackenz View Post
I've played various versions of *band for a long time, but I've never played a mage class.

After reading a post on fast diving with a HE mage, I thought I'd give one a try. Two questions:

1. When do you start wearing gloves? I'm a CL 31 and am still not wearing any... Is there a point where it makes sense?

2. Is there any value to having more than one Rod of Recall? Can they be stolen or destroyed?

Thanks.
1. Gloves that give + Agility or Free Action don't carry any penalty for mages. I would never wear gloves that do carry a penalty, though.

2. They can be stolen, although this is not a big concern. Usually as a mage you will have Recall spell before too long anyway.
awldune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15, 2008, 21:48   #3
PowerDiver
Prophet
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,712
PowerDiver is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by awldune View Post
1. Gloves that give + Agility or Free Action don't carry any penalty for mages. I would never wear gloves that do carry a penalty, though.
My last mage used gloves of combat for the con bonus. HP are more important than SP.
PowerDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15, 2008, 22:23   #4
aeneas
Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The place of virtuous unbelievers
Posts: 158
aeneas is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerDiver View Post
My last mage used gloves of combat for the con bonus. HP are more important than SP.
I think you need to assess this on a case-by-case basis. For a mage as fast as you were playing I imagine that Con would almost always be better. Actually, that's probably true for any mage that is at all fast, if you're lucky enough to find gloves like that. But my mage-casters are often not able to find gloves good enough to wear till very late.

Also, I'm kind of bad on some game statistics so you might want to take this with a grain of salt, but I believe that once your dex is over 18/150 you can't be stolen from. Of course you could get drained and then stolen from... in practice it doesn't seem to be much of a concern. I tend to carry one ?recall down with me for a while after I get the rod, until my dex is reasonably high, unless I need the slots at home. I think that is overly paranoid- I never need it.
aeneas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15, 2008, 22:39   #5
Pete Mack
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,382
Donated: $40
Pete Mack is on a distinguished road
With the regular artifacts, you generally find Cambeleg prior to gloves of Combat, so the issue rarely comes up. But with randarts, I agree Combat gloves are a likely source of CON for a Mage with 0-fail.
Pete Mack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15, 2008, 22:54   #6
PowerDiver
Prophet
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,712
PowerDiver is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeneas View Post
I believe that once your dex is over 18/150 you can't be stolen from.
You are completely safe at 18/150, and you can reduce that by your level as a multiple of 10. I.e. clvl 37 is safe at 18/120.

However, I really prefer to carry multiple rods. I have lost track of the number of times I have chosen to undo my recall. E.g. while you are waiting for it to kick in, a tasty Wyrm comes to make a donation. Or you forgot you dropped your ?*ID in another room to avoid it getting burnt.
PowerDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15, 2008, 23:02   #7
aeneas
Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: The place of virtuous unbelievers
Posts: 158
aeneas is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerDiver View Post
However, I really prefer to carry multiple rods. I have lost track of the number of times I have chosen to undo my recall. E.g. while you are waiting for it to kick in, a tasty Wyrm comes to make a donation. Or you forgot you dropped your ?*ID in another room to avoid it getting burnt.
Yep, that's a very good point, and I actually almost always carry a few of them for that reason, once I have a few of them.
aeneas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 15, 2008, 23:59   #8
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 7,835
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by fmackenz View Post
2. Is there any value to having more than one Rod of Recall? Can they be stolen or destroyed?
If you have a second rod and zap the first one accidentally (I know I'm not the only person this sort of stuff happens to - I've read about it), you can zap the second to cancel the recall. Also, occasionally you can be about to enter a battle which you're unlikely to win, but unlikely to die fast. One plan is to zap one rod, then zap the second if the battle is going better than expected. The prime example here is melee-only uniques who are the same speed as you - if things don't work out, you can just run until the recall kicks in.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old September 16, 2008, 13:58   #9
Narvius
Knight
 
Narvius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Poland, Katowice
Age: 27
Posts: 589
Narvius is on a distinguished road
That plan can backfire, though - if you forget to unrecall, kill that thing and don't get the time to pick up that phial...
__________________
If you can convincingly pretend you're crazy, you probably are.
Narvius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 16, 2008, 15:52   #10
fmackenz
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 14
fmackenz is on a distinguished road
Thanks. I just found the book that has recall in it. Once you have that, do you still carry Rods?

Almost died yesterday. Saruman of Many Colors was in a vault on level 33! Luckly, I survived one round against him before I could port away.

Stupid mistake on my part for not seeing him earlier. Feeling too confident will get you killed.
fmackenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Casters and gloves? EvilScoop Vanilla 6 March 1, 2008 07:33
YACD my first mage (but not getting the full mage experience) will_asher AAR 9 September 8, 2007 07:34


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.