Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 24, 2015, 19:22   #81
Ingwe Ingweron
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA
Posts: 1,858
Ingwe Ingweron is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerWyrm View Post
IIRC, the command for quiver is still '.' unless it was changed recently.
It was changed to '|' in the equip/inventory/quiver menu cycle (along with being able to use arrow keys to move through the menu cycle) and was also changed on the keyboard access from '.' to '|' in order to be consistent.
Ingwe Ingweron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25, 2015, 00:25   #82
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 7,984
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
All bugs reported in this thread are now fixed in the latest dev version, except:
  • Sound issues - if people who use sounds could report either working as expected, or if not how not, that would be helpful
  • Crash bugs still not identified. There was definitely one crash on hitting a trap, which is possibly summoning related, but I'm really clueless. Any info on crashes gratefully received.

I am hoping to get 4.0.2 out fairly soon.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 25, 2015, 23:40   #83
hein
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 14
hein is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
All bugs reported in this thread are now fixed in the latest dev version, except:
  • Crash bugs still not identified. There was definitely one crash on hitting a trap, which is possibly summoning related, but I'm really clueless. Any info on crashes gratefully received.
Was about to tell you about the crash bugs.

The game crashes repeatedly a few times every game without any warning. The good thing about this is when you restart the game, the same level is generated, also with the same pre-generated monster drops, appearantly.

This last time, it was definitely summoning trap related. A summoning trap was three steps away from the down stairs, and it crashed the first two times I stepped on it, before it behaved as normal again.

The last couple of games, I have on purpose tried to recreate this bug by trying to remember where I was and step on the exact same spot, only to have it crash again. I havenīt been able to confirm that this was what happened the other times, but it is likely that every other time this has happened, I was doing nothing but moving to a new tile (as opposed to being in combat etc.)
hein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 26, 2015, 08:30   #84
Carnivean
Knight
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 526
Carnivean is on a distinguished road
Those crash bugs sound like a single type of new monster generation (via summoning trap, random generation over time) is causing it. The brute force method to track that would be to log every monster created after level generation and sort to see which doesn't appear.
Carnivean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27, 2015, 00:17   #85
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 7,984
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by hein View Post
The last couple of games, I have on purpose tried to recreate this bug by trying to remember where I was and step on the exact same spot, only to have it crash again. I havenīt been able to confirm that this was what happened the other times, but it is likely that every other time this has happened, I was doing nothing but moving to a new tile (as opposed to being in combat etc.)
If you get a case where you have a reproducible crash, a savefile plus instructions on how to crash it would be really useful. It may be a particular type of monster doing it, or some interaction between the monster and the dungeon, or some third thing.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27, 2015, 09:34   #86
Nivra
Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 112
Nivra is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
All bugs reported in this thread are now fixed in the latest dev version, except:
  • Sound issues - if people who use sounds could report either working as expected, or if not how not, that would be helpful
  • Crash bugs still not identified. There was definitely one crash on hitting a trap, which is possibly summoning related, but I'm really clueless. Any info on crashes gratefully received.

I am hoping to get 4.0.2 out fairly soon.
Using Sounds. Greatly enjoying it. Sometimes get a random loud Gong like sound. Have no idea what it is. Also, the Music is just weird and kicks in randomly. Not sure I like that as much. I second the proposal for a level feeling sound (The Gong would work perfectly). Would be super appreciated.

I am running OS X Yosemite, and I get random crashes, too. They are definitely repeatable. I've loaded the same save file, done the exact same actions, and the crash repeats. Yes, at least some of them have seem trap related. Otoh, I have also reloaded the save done a separate sequence of actions, and no crash for the exact same area/tile in the map. At least one of the crashes happened after a sub-window movement or resize.

Tileset Bug: When using classic tile set, after detecting treasure/objects, the * symbols will leave little trails across the map when moving (I use center on player).

Quiver Bug: When using roguelike keys (my pref - macbook has no corner arrows - and I've always played this way), inscribing ammo with @v1 does not move it to slot 1 as you suggested earlier in the thread. It remains in it's current slot, and when I type "v1" the arrow that occupies slot 1 is fired, not the one inscribed @v1. However, if I inscribe it @v9, and it's in slot 2, then either "v2" or "v9" work.

Alter Bug: Alter doesn't seem to be working except for tunneling. I've tried both [Ctrl]-[direction] and +[direction]. All it seems to do is "spin me around." I have to open chests and close doors using 'o' and 'c'.

Quiver Thoughts: Firstly, love Nomad's re-ordering suggestion. Especially with implementation of [tab] firing to use up the cheapest stacks first. Overall, I like the new quiver, but I have a few suggestions. (1) The "|" key is really out of place. "e" and "i" are easily accessible, but "|" is just inconvenient. It's used so often, that a keypress without moving the hands and or a modifier would be much preferred. Keeping arrow stacks @ 40 is important. I'd really like to see an interface that helps this. For instance, if I have 60 arrows, and two stacks of 30 arrows each. When I drop stack 2, maybe it could prompt me for how many and possibly have * for all, or & for the # to drop back to 40 arrows, in this case & would drop 20 arrows, giving me a stack of 30 and a stack of 10. Likewise, an option when I get arrows to prompt for just enough to complete my current 1 quiver inventory would be appreciated, too. Especially, when I want just 10 arrows out of a stack of 30 on the ground with my inventory full, I can't just pick up 10. Pressing "g" gives me the "No room in inventory." message. So I have to drop another stack >20 (or multiple stacks), pick up these arrows, then drop 20 separately, then go back and pick up the first stack.

Thoughts on "Use Old Target": I used to play with this, and I started off playing with this, but there have been multiple instances this game where it hasn't targetted like I expected, so I turned it off, and now I'm using new targetting each time, and it's slightly annoying too but at least I don't target incorrectly. I'll turn use old target back on and see if I can figure out when the unexpected targetting is happening.

Feature Request: "R&" works to rest for word of recall, but it doesn't rest until an activation cooldown alert. Sometimes I need to rest until a cooldown is up, and would appreciate an easy way to do this rather than examining item, figureing out it's expected cooldown, and doing increments until I get there (since some time has passed already).

Max OS X Feature Request: Command-1, Command-2, ... Command-7 get mapped to the terminal sub-windows.

[Update: Additional Feature Request: If you fill your current lantern with a lantern on the ground, then auto-squelch or just plain destroy the empty lantern. Is there any significant use for a Lantern that's just been used to refill your current lantern? If it was better you would have equipped it and discarded your current one.]

[Update 2: Another additional Feature Request: Being able to save whole sets of equipment, so I can press one keymap and switch out multiple peaces of gear. That would be uber convenient.]

Last edited by Nivra; August 27, 2015 at 11:43.
Nivra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27, 2015, 12:15   #87
fph
Knight
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Berlin / Italy
Posts: 806
fph is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nivra View Post
Quiver Bug: When using roguelike keys (my pref - macbook has no corner arrows - and I've always played this way), inscribing ammo with @v1 does not move it to slot 1 as you suggested earlier in the thread. It remains in it's current slot, and when I type "v1" the arrow that occupies slot 1 is fired, not the one inscribed @v1. However, if I inscribe it @v9, and it's in slot 2, then either "v2" or "v9" work.
This is a known issue with the roguelike keyset: when you use inscriptions, you still need to specify commands in the original keyset, not in the roguelike one. So use @f1 for arrows, not @v1. And !d!k@m1@G1@b1 for books.
__________________
Dive fast, die young, leave a high-CHA corpse.
--
You read a scroll labeled 'lol gtfo' of Teleport Level.
fph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27, 2015, 13:05   #88
PowerWyrm
Prophet
 
PowerWyrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,701
PowerWyrm is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Thoughts on "Use Old Target": I used to play with this, and I started off playing with this, but there have been multiple instances this game where it hasn't targetted like I expected, so I turned it off, and now I'm using new targetting each time, and it's slightly annoying too but at least I don't target incorrectly. I'll turn use old target back on and see if I can figure out when the unexpected targetting is happening.
It works if you target something directly. Using manual targeting now considers that you target the square instead of what's inside it, so using old target means you will forever target the same square until you target something else.
__________________
PWMAngband variant maintainer - check http://powerwyrm.monsite-orange.fr (or http://www.mangband.org/forum/viewforum.php?f=9) to learn more about this new variant!
PowerWyrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27, 2015, 16:48   #89
Ingwe Ingweron
Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Manhattan Beach, CA
Posts: 1,858
Ingwe Ingweron is on a distinguished road
When you use '?' to view the commands descriptions, the command line for the quiver doesn't show the '|' symbol, it just shows ' '.
Ingwe Ingweron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 27, 2015, 17:04   #90
kandrc
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 299
kandrc is on a distinguished road
While attempting to target in town, on press of '*':

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
0x00000000004081a1 in square_monster (c=0x9d00c8, y=22, x=33)
at cave-square.c:694
694 if (c->squares[y][x].mon > 0) {
(gdb) bt
#0 0x00000000004081a1 in square_monster (c=0x9d00c8, y=22, x=33)
at cave-square.c:694
#1 0x00000000004c93d8 in draw_path (path_n=11, path_g=0x7fffffffd210,
c=0xa22258 L"\037\037t \037#", a=0x9caa58, y1=11, x1=33)
at ui-target.c:811
#2 0x00000000004c9925 in target_set_interactive (mode=1, x=33, y=14)
at ui-target.c:1004
#3 0x00000000004c9290 in textui_target () at ui-target.c:741
#4 0x00000000004a563e in textui_process_command () at ui-game.c:314
#5 0x00000000004a568a in textui_get_cmd (context=CMD_GAME) at ui-game.c:326
#6 0x00000000004a593e in play_game (new_game=false) at ui-game.c:429
#7 0x00000000004dcc66 in main (argc=1, argv=0x7fffffffdc78) at main.c:552
(gdb) print c->squares[y][x]
Cannot access memory at address 0x549
kandrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bugs with 3.5 donalde Vanilla 10 February 24, 2014 18:28
Bugs: V3.1.2 Pete Mack Vanilla 34 December 1, 2010 18:18
V bugs (3.1.1) Pete Mack Vanilla 3 January 10, 2010 10:02
3.1.0 bugs Slick Vanilla 23 February 5, 2009 15:44
V 3.9 Bugs momo125 Vanilla 3 September 11, 2007 16:48


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.