Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 13, 2011, 20:16   #1
Malak Darkhunter
Knight
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: US
Age: 45
Posts: 730
Malak Darkhunter is on a distinguished road
Latest Angband Nighty build

I have windows Vista, trying the newest Nightly build for Angband, I like playing in full Ascii, however with the no graphics options checked I have no walls, anybody know for a fix for this?
Malak Darkhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13, 2011, 21:57   #2
EpicMan
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 454
EpicMan is on a distinguished road
There's a thread about this: http://angband.oook.cz/forum/showthread.php?t=4733. It's caused by a difference in how Windows Vista/7 (and probably Server 2008) display the higher ASCII codes.
EpicMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13, 2011, 22:42   #3
Malak Darkhunter
Knight
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: US
Age: 45
Posts: 730
Malak Darkhunter is on a distinguished road
I can't get into the font files, I get an error message. I hate Vista, I do remember a vista font fix somewhere though.
Malak Darkhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13, 2011, 22:59   #4
Malak Darkhunter
Knight
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: US
Age: 45
Posts: 730
Malak Darkhunter is on a distinguished road
I think I will just use the graphics for now, it works reasonably until i get a chance to ditch this vista laptop and pick up windows 7, or maybe reformatt it for windows xp.
Malak Darkhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14, 2011, 10:11   #5
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,060
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malak Darkhunter View Post
I think I will just use the graphics for now, it works reasonably until i get a chance to ditch this vista laptop and pick up windows 7, or maybe reformatt it for windows xp.
I highly recommend the latter. My wife's laptop is reasonably new and still Win 7 is dog slow. In fact I've never yet seen Win7 run fast on any machine.
__________________
"3.4 is much better than 3.1, 3.2 or 3.3. It still is easier than 3.0.9, but it is more convenient to play without being ridiculously easy, so it is my new favorite of the versions." - Timo Pietila
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14, 2011, 11:40   #6
Timo Pietilš
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Climbing up from hole I just dug.
Posts: 4,096
Timo Pietilš is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnate View Post
I highly recommend the latter. My wife's laptop is reasonably new and still Win 7 is dog slow. In fact I've never yet seen Win7 run fast on any machine.
I have. Faster than XP. Win7 requires memory. If you have enough memory in the machine and multi-core processor Win7 can be quite a bit faster than XP. I recommend 64bit Win7 for new computers.
Timo Pietilš is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14, 2011, 11:46   #7
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,060
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timo Pietilš View Post
I have. Faster than XP. Win7 requires memory. If you have enough memory in the machine and multi-core processor Win7 can be quite a bit faster than XP. I recommend 64bit Win7 for new computers.
Interesting. I presume it needs more than 2GB then?

I had forgotten the multi-core thing (most of my machines are still using single-core CPUs). I expect you're right that Win7 makes much better use of multiple cores.
__________________
"3.4 is much better than 3.1, 3.2 or 3.3. It still is easier than 3.0.9, but it is more convenient to play without being ridiculously easy, so it is my new favorite of the versions." - Timo Pietila
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14, 2011, 12:31   #8
Malak Darkhunter
Knight
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: US
Age: 45
Posts: 730
Malak Darkhunter is on a distinguished road
You can throw 8GB of memory at windows 7, you can have double the memory that you used to have with xp, vista. But you kind of need it because it takes a lot more memory just for the win 7 platform just to run.
Malak Darkhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14, 2011, 13:12   #9
Malak Darkhunter
Knight
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: US
Age: 45
Posts: 730
Malak Darkhunter is on a distinguished road
Amazingly the fix that seany c suggested worked here as well. All I had to do was rename the pref-font-win folder to font-winx to disable it and it worked perfectly, now I got walls.
Malak Darkhunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 14, 2011, 14:06   #10
Seany C
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Deepest, darkest Yorkshire...
Posts: 283
Donated: $20
Seany C is on a distinguished road
Cool

If I'm not careful, I may get a (throroughly undeserved) reputation as a technosavant....
Seany C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mk build system? CJNyfalt Development 11 March 25, 2015 07:25
Problem with VC++ compile of latest Vanilla build PaulBlay Development 1 May 9, 2009 05:59
Compile error - latest Vanilla Angband SVN PaulBlay Development 3 April 19, 2009 21:20
Bugs in angband-r1341 (nightly build) Mondkalb Vanilla 1 April 12, 2009 15:10
[ToME] Notes on a thaumaturgist build Therem Harth AAR 0 January 19, 2008 22:08


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.