Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 15, 2009, 07:01   #1
ElectricPaladin
Scout
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 33
ElectricPaladin is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to ElectricPaladin
Ring of Element - How Do They Work?

The question's in the title - how do they work? They add to AC, I can see that. In what way do they add to damage (I get the - "you freeze") message. Do they add their rating, or do they just confer the usual "element brand" power?

While I'm at it, how exactly does that power work?

I'm clearly full of questions today.
__________________
A/Z/Steamband W H- D c-- f PV+ s- TT? d P++ M+

A C "Perra" HPa L:25 DL:'800 A R !Sp w:*Holy Avenger* Mace
ElectricPaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2009, 07:33   #2
Pete Mack
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 5,414
Donated: $40
Pete Mack is on a distinguished road
It grants an elemental brand on your melee weapon. It works by magic.
Pete Mack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2009, 08:19   #3
ElectricPaladin
Scout
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 33
ElectricPaladin is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to ElectricPaladin
Question 2: Does the elemental brand granted by a ring of X stack with a weapon of Y, or an artifact weapon branded with Y? What about a weapon of X or artifact weapon branded with X? What happens if I wear two of the same ring? Two different rings?
__________________
A/Z/Steamband W H- D c-- f PV+ s- TT? d P++ M+

A C "Perra" HPa L:25 DL:'800 A R !Sp w:*Holy Avenger* Mace
ElectricPaladin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2009, 08:27   #4
PowerDiver
Prophet
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,712
PowerDiver is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ElectricPaladin View Post
Question 2: Does the elemental brand granted by a ring of X stack with a weapon of Y, or an artifact weapon branded with Y? What about a weapon of X or artifact weapon branded with X? What happens if I wear two of the same ring? Two different rings?
You get the maximum multiplier. No addition, just the best.
PowerDiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2009, 17:24   #5
Marble Dice
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Columbia, MO. USA
Posts: 405
Marble Dice is on a distinguished road
Having multiple different slays will allow you to do extra damage to multiple types of enemy without swapping gear. Slays and brands confer a damage multiplier when applicable, but multipliers only increase the damage done by a weapon's base damage dice (+dam bonuses are not included). As mentioned, you only use the highest applicable multiplier for each attack on each enemy. Brands will activate on any enemy that doesn't resist that element.

Slay Animal, Evil = x2
All Brands, Slay Orc, Troll, Giant, Demon, Dragon, Undead = x3
*Slay Demon*, *Dragon*, *Undead* = x5

So if you're fighting a Dracolich (evil, undead, dragon, resists cold and poison) and you've got slay evil, orc, undead, *dragon*, frost brand, and fire brand, the applicable multipliers would be slay evil (x2), undead (x3), *dragon* (x5), and fire brand (x3), but the multiplier used would be the highest x5 from *dragon*. This would only affect the damage from your base weapon dice, so if you're using a dagger (1d4) you'd do an average of 12.5 instead of 2.5, but if you were using an executioner's sword (4d5) you'd do an average of 60 instead of 12. Add your damage bonuses on top of that, and then factor in multiple blows.

Deeper in the dungeon, consider keeping the best weapon you can find with the x5 executes for demons, dragons, and undead. Acid brand is the best multiplier you can get on Sauron, and slay evil is the best for Morgoth. This isn't to say a weapon with those attributes will always be worth using over one that doesn't have them, but there's a good chance it will be.
Marble Dice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2009, 19:39   #6
azfalt
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 51
azfalt is on a distinguished road
wouldn't slay giant work on Morgoth?
azfalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 2009, 19:49   #7
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by azfalt View Post
wouldn't slay giant work on Morgoth?
No. He shares their symbol, but lacks the GIANT flag.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 19, 2009, 00:12   #8
rdanhenry
Scout
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sol III
Posts: 29
rdanhenry is on a distinguished road
Morgoth should not be a 'P'. 'A' should be for 'A'inu, not 'A'ngel and Morgoth should be an 'A'.
rdanhenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does object recall work? d_m Vanilla 13 April 21, 2009 08:17
The One Ring curinor Variants 9 April 11, 2009 06:38
I can't seem to get Angband to work kaicharlton Vanilla 4 September 17, 2007 01:30
getting graphics to work arcane Vanilla 5 September 8, 2007 23:39
[Un] Unangband 0.6.2 work in progress 5b released andrewdoull Variants 3 June 21, 2007 20:15


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.