Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Old November 11, 2017, 20:39   #1
gkorbel
Rookie

gkorbel is on a distinguished road
Randart Ring

I've been playing Angband / Moria for three decades. I think this is the best randart ring I've ever found.

c) the Ring 'Noeglien' <+5, +1>
Found lying on the floor in a vault at 100 feet (level 2)

+5 strength.
+1 light.
Provides immunity to lightning.
Provides resistance to cold, poison, sound, nether, chaos,
disenchantment.
Provides protection from fear, confusion.
Cannot be harmed by lightning.
Sustains strength, intelligence, wisdom, dexterity, constitution.
Speeds regeneration. Prevents paralysis.
Radius 1 light.

At 100' -- that ought to help!
gkorbel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11, 2017, 21:26   #2
Grotug
Knight

Grotug is on a distinguished road
A ring of STR <+5> at that depth is insane. A ring of Lightning immunity on level 2 would be a huge find. A ring of rPois at that depth is wonderful to find, not to mention a =FrAct. All of those things and more in one ring? That's just bonkers.
Grotug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 11, 2017, 22:19   #3
luneya
Adept

luneya is on a distinguished road
Simply encountering a vault at 100 feet is nuts. The artifact seems reasonable for a ring of power, but even in vaults you shouldn't be finding those until DL 80 or so.

Granted, you do occasionally find some sweet loot on DL 1, but not like that! DL 1 'Thancs are common (or the randart equivalent; I usually play standarts). My best was a DL 1 Raal's when I was actually playing a mage. That was a fun early game, but of course it wasn't any different to playing a normal mage game once I got down to the depths where Raal's is native.
luneya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 12, 2017, 00:15   #4
Sky
Knight

Sky is on a distinguished road