Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old September 11, 2012, 19:37   #1
Zappa
Apprentice
 
Zappa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 56
Zappa is on a distinguished road
Customizing Home Capacity.

I'd like to play with a (much) larger Home size just for the personal enjoyment factor and I'm curious if such a thing is possible to modify. This isn't something I'd use to submit a dump to the ladder, at least not without heavy disclaimers and an understanding that it didn't count, just something I'd like to try out, so:

1. Is it possible to modify home capacity? 2. Is it within my abilities to accomplish?(no programming/compiling experience to really speak of). 3. If it isn't within my limited programming abilities, would someone point me in a direction to get help on it?

Also I apologize in advance if this has been covered in a previous thread that I was not able to find.

Thanks.
Zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11, 2012, 20:31   #2
Derakon
Prophet
 
Derakon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8,970
Derakon is on a distinguished road
Unfortunately, house capacity is hardcoded. Indeed all stores (including the house) share the same maximum capacity of 24 items, as defined in store.h. Changing this would require recompiling the program, and there might be other consequences as well -- for example, I don't know if the store interface will correctly handle slots "off the end of the alphabet".

Older versions of Angband had paginated stores, with each page providing access to something like 18 items. I could believe that adding support for more pages would have been easier than increasing the store limit in the current version. Either way though, you'd need to recompile the game.
Derakon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 11, 2012, 20:39   #3
fizzix
Prophet
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Madison, Wisconsin, US
Posts: 3,002
fizzix is on a distinguished road
A while back ewert made an infinite home for angband, it's out of date now, but if you don't mind playing an earlier version with some other custom mods, and an infinite home option, it might be ok. See if the iVanilla on this download page works: https://github.com/ewert/angband/downloads (I have not tried this, but it does seem to have the infinite home commit in it.) There are some other custom changes like a smite spell for priests in iVanilla, but it's not too different from 3.1.2 Vanilla.

To update to 3.4.0, would require both some coding and compiling. If you want to go this route, you'll find many people willing to help, including myself.

(here's a ladder character of mine that I played with the infinite home mod http://angband.oook.cz/ladder-show.php?id=10688)
fizzix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12, 2012, 10:37   #4
Zappa
Apprentice
 
Zappa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 56
Zappa is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by fizzix View Post
To update to 3.4.0, would require both some coding and compiling. If you want to go this route, you'll find many people willing to help, including myself.
I'm game for this. I'd like to see if I could fix my issue of being unable to increase the font size of the main window without distorting the font while we're at it. I haven't played much 3.4.0 because of that.

I'm running XP, but I have a dual boot with ubuntu(?) so which ever is easier for you to explain things on I can use.

Thanks.

EDIT: As far as the 3.1.2 version, when did they add the green DTrap radius? Probably one of my favorite improvements since picking up Angband.
Zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 12, 2012, 15:50   #5
fizzix
Prophet
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Madison, Wisconsin, US
Posts: 3,002
fizzix is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zappa View Post
I'm game for this. I'd like to see if I could fix my issue of being unable to increase the font size of the main window without distorting the font while we're at it. I haven't played much 3.4.0 because of that.

I'm running XP, but I have a dual boot with ubuntu(?) so which ever is easier for you to explain things on I can use.
Great! There are two things you need, a way to compile and a way to get access to the source code. We'll do the source code first.

The absolute easiest way to get the source code (say for 3.4) is to go here and click the ZIP button on the top left. This will download the source code. However, while this is the easiest way it is certainly not the best way. The best way is to get it through git (instructions here)

For compiling, either XP or Linux should work. I compile on XP using MinGW, but others have used Cygwin. I cannot help with Linux, but others can.

The quick steps for MinGW are:
install MinGW (it's free)
Add it to PATH (instructions here)
run cmd
go into the src directory
run Mingw-make -f Makefile.win

and that's it, you should get an executable that you can run.

(here's a recent thread about windows compilation)

There is an IRC chat room #angband-dev at irc.freenode.net where people can help you. I'm not the most knowledgeable about compiling, but there are other people who know more than me that might be able to help. (also our time zones might not overlap)

Quote:
EDIT: As far as the 3.1.2 version, when did they add the green DTrap radius? Probably one of my favorite improvements since picking up Angband.
I think that predates 3.1.2, but unfortunately for ewert's branch he was messing around with Line-of-Sight trap detection and may have removed the detect traps spells. If you decide to use Git, it's best to keep separate ideas in separate branches (or at least in separate commits) this way it's easy to navigate through them. Ewert didn't do this so it makes it difficult to pick out exactly what is related to the infinite home and what relates to some of his other changes.

Don't bang your head over git, people in #angband-dev or here will be very willing to help. It has a very steep learning curve, and poor online help documentation, but it's extremely useful once you figure out what's going on.
fizzix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13, 2012, 00:24   #6
Aelcalan
Rookie
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 1
Aelcalan is on a distinguished road
I'm curious, do you want a larger home because you have that many items that you're trying to stockpile? Or is it a matter of wanting to hang on to artifacts? If it's the latter, I'm with you wanting a way to hang onto them. [LOST] is second only to "You die." on my list of things I dislike seeing in Angband.
Aelcalan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13, 2012, 02:03   #7
fizzix
Prophet
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Madison, Wisconsin, US
Posts: 3,002
fizzix is on a distinguished road
There's a quick fix that seems to work. You can set STORE_INVEN_MAX in store.h to a larger number. This will allow you to store more in your home. It will also increase the capacity of all the other stores, but they won't stock more items, they just can hold on to more of the stuff you sell them (which will disappear after a store refresh).

You can still select items from the home by scrolling down to the correct item and using g and then enter. The display preceding the item is not correct

Fixing the display seems (for example paginating it) seems like much more work, which I'm not up for at the moment. But this is certainly playable with just changing the STORE_INVEN_MAX parameter.
fizzix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13, 2012, 03:17   #8
Zappa
Apprentice
 
Zappa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 56
Zappa is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aelcalan View Post
I'm curious, do you want a larger home because you have that many items that you're trying to stockpile? Or is it a matter of wanting to hang on to artifacts? If it's the latter, I'm with you wanting a way to hang onto them. [LOST] is second only to "You die." on my list of things I dislike seeing in Angband.
Yeah that's more or less why I'd like to have it.

Thanks fizzix. I just compiled with that change so we'll see how it works.
Zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13, 2012, 05:00   #9
Zappa
Apprentice
 
Zappa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 56
Zappa is on a distinguished road
Now I seem to be getting a blank screen after I compile any version. AS in, game starts up but everything is black. I can see the cursor move around during birth. I am sure this is a problem of my making, but if anyone has seen this before I could use a hint.
Zappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old September 13, 2012, 07:16   #10
Mikko Lehtinen
Veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1,246
Mikko Lehtinen is on a distinguished road
Maybe the game lost font information for some reason? Try changing fonts after starting the game.
Mikko Lehtinen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Customizing my Graphics Question Rivendell Vanilla 7 January 10, 2012 13:29
Home/no store option UglySquirrell Vanilla 12 July 18, 2011 11:56
Quiver at home? fyonn Vanilla 48 February 23, 2011 12:48
3.1.1 Home Drop Bug paboperfecto Vanilla 7 December 11, 2009 18:07
Trouble Getting Home orbs AAR 3 March 24, 2008 06:01


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.