Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 1, 2013, 11:16   #1
Goldbug
Scout
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 25
Goldbug is on a distinguished road
Just lost all the subwindows in 3.4.1

I've been playing Vanilla 3.4.1 for a while now. I really like the way that the subwindows (ie Monsters seen, Treasure seen, recent messages, etc) are all shown.

But around half an hour ago I switched tabs to read something on the internet, and when I re-opened the Angband tab all of those subwindows were gone.

I've tried messing around with the "Window" and "Options" tabs with no success.

eg When I try Window>Visibility>Term 0 Window the option has a tick by it, and when I try to click on it I get an error message saying: "You are not allowed to do that!"

It's kind of annoying, because my current Mage found some Power Dragon Scale Mail lying on the floor at 1250'.

How on Earth did I shut off all of those subwindows? Can I get them back without reinstalling the game?
Goldbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1, 2013, 12:18   #2
PowerWyrm
Veteran
 
PowerWyrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,382
PowerWyrm is on a distinguished road
My guess is that the x and y positions in the ini file are set to a negative value. Look in angband.ini, search for positionX and positionY and set them to zero for each subwindow. Then launch your game and move those windows which should be at the top left part of your screen.
__________________
PWMAngband variant maintainer - check http://powerwyrm.monsite-orange.fr (or http://www.mangband.org/forum/viewforum.php?f=9) to learn more about this new variant!
PowerWyrm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1, 2013, 12:20   #3
takkaria
Veteran
 
takkaria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,850
Donated: $40
takkaria is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldbug View Post
I've been playing Vanilla 3.4.1 for a while now. I really like the way that the subwindows (ie Monsters seen, Treasure seen, recent messages, etc) are all shown.

But around half an hour ago I switched tabs to read something on the internet, and when I re-opened the Angband tab all of those subwindows were gone.

I've tried messing around with the "Window" and "Options" tabs with no success.

eg When I try Window>Visibility>Term 0 Window the option has a tick by it, and when I try to click on it I get an error message saying: "You are not allowed to do that!"

It's kind of annoying, because my current Mage found some Power Dragon Scale Mail lying on the floor at 1250'.

How on Earth did I shut off all of those subwindows? Can I get them back without reinstalling the game?
As a note, Term window 0 is the Angband window, which is why you can't close it!
__________________
"Physician, heal thyself."
takkaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1, 2013, 12:38   #4
Goldbug
Scout
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 25
Goldbug is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by takkaria View Post
As a note, Term window 0 is the Angband window, which is why you can't close it!
When I tried messing around with Term window 2 it brought up the relevant subwindow. But it would hide itself again when I clicked on the main display to continue playing.

Nevermind. I installed the game again to a new folder and got the subwindows back. Lost my old high score list, but I don't really care about that.

Still not sure what I did to lose the subwindows in the first place. AFAIK all I did was click on an internet tab, and when I came back to the Angband tab they were gone.

Problem solved, anyway. Thanks for your answers takkaria and PowerWyrm.
Goldbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1, 2013, 12:59   #5
takkaria
Veteran
 
takkaria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,850
Donated: $40
takkaria is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldbug View Post
When I tried messing around with Term window 2 it brought up the relevant subwindow. But it would hide itself again when I clicked on the main display to continue playing.

Nevermind. I installed the game again to a new folder and got the subwindows back. Lost my old high score list, but I don't really care about that.

Still not sure what I did to lose the subwindows in the first place. AFAIK all I did was click on an internet tab, and when I came back to the Angband tab they were gone.

Problem solved, anyway. Thanks for your answers takkaria and PowerWyrm.
If you copy across the entire 'lib' folder than you'll get your high scores back. And in future, there's no point reinstalling - just delete the Angband.ini file, it has the same effect.
__________________
"Physician, heal thyself."
takkaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 1, 2013, 13:20   #6
Goldbug
Scout
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 25
Goldbug is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by takkaria View Post
If you copy across the entire 'lib' folder than you'll get your high scores back. And in future, there's no point reinstalling - just delete the Angband.ini file, it has the same effect.
Thanks for that. I copied the Angband.ini file from the new folder back to the old folder, and the old installation is working properly again now.
Goldbug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2, 2013, 07:50   #7
Timo Pietilš
Prophet
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Climbing up from hole I just dug.
Posts: 4,093
Timo Pietilš is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by takkaria View Post
If you copy across the entire 'lib' folder than you'll get your high scores back. And in future, there's no point reinstalling - just delete the Angband.ini file, it has the same effect.
Important directories in 'lib' are User (your prefs), Apex (score) and Save (your savefiles). Pretty much everything else can be left behind unless you have tweaked with for example fonts used (I have changed font-win.prf, so I need that too from pref-directory). angband.ini is only user-modified file that is not in lib, so that I tend to forget to copy, but fortunately it is easy to notice that I forgot it .

AFAIK directories 'bones' and 'script' are not used to anything currently. Bones used to have player ghosts (you die, and then your char ghost appeared somewhere close to that dlvl when you start next char).
Timo Pietilš is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 2, 2013, 10:34   #8
MattB
Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Berkshire, UK
Posts: 1,094
MattB is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timo Pietilš View Post
AFAIK directories 'bones' and 'script' are not used to anything currently. Bones used to have player ghosts (you die, and then your char ghost appeared somewhere close to that dlvl when you start next char).
I miss ghosts. Any reason why they're not in any more?

(And yes, Nick, I know they're still in FAangband! )
MattB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Balance of subwindows GCU Kramborn Development 0 June 15, 2013 18:45
[3.2] Quiver slot e) appears as f) in subwindows PowerWyrm Vanilla 5 April 22, 2011 11:08
Mac save file crash bug - dead or retired character, with subwindows set in prefs Taha Development 6 February 13, 2011 00:24
Subwindows and fonts options in curses mode krugar Vanilla 7 October 3, 2010 17:54
How to display subwindows in Linux? dfreer Vanilla 4 October 4, 2008 10:07


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.