Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Old April 22, 2019, 22:43   #1
Sky
Veteran

Sky is on a distinguished road
what does starlight DO ?

i've been playing this game now for what, 2 years straight, and i still cannot tell you what Starlight does.

I used to think scrolls of Teleport Level and Deep Descent were cursed items and would squelch them right away, and yet i've come to know better - but still i cannot find a use for Starlight. I can make use of Trap Creation (trapdoors), Summon Monsters (easy exp), i've learned to appreciate the finer aspects of the game (of sorts) but .. WHAT DOES STARLIGHT DO.

Is it supposed to be a buffed staff of light? Because it's not, it doesn't light up rooms.
Is it supposed to be a buffed WAND of light? I suppose it could be, but less charges and no real use for the additional beams. I'm thinking it's supposed to hurt light-sensitive monsters, but the awkward activation makes it marginally more useful than a simple DL1 wand of light, that weights more and has less charges.

Unless you have a whoooole bunch of orcs all surrounding you, in which case GG.
Old April 22, 2019, 22:56   #2
Goaticus
Rookie

Goaticus is on a distinguished road
I'm glad you asked! I don't know the answer but can't wait to see what others say. I've been playing the game (on and off) for ~25 years now and I have never found a use for them so don't feel bad. Or maybe I should feel bad, too...
Goaticus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22, 2019, 23:11   #3
Estie
Veteran

Estie is on a distinguished road
It is more useful than the amulet of adornment, or is it ?

I think I used one once when I just happened to find it and didnt have a wand of light and wanted to light up a hallway. But yeah, squelched as found for me
Estie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old April 22, 2019, 23:21   #4
Derakon
Prophet

Derakon is on a distinguished road