Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 12, 2010, 07:23   #1
Mushuukyou
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 18
Mushuukyou is on a distinguished road
Does anyone have sound working? 64bit Windows problem?

I had sound, of course, with ZangbandTK.. however, this one doesn't appear to have sound. I see it has a few sounds in it, but they don't work, even if I add "Sound=1" in the angband ini file.

Has anyone gotten sound to work? I would think it would be good to have, eh?

I'm in Windows 7 64bit.

I'd love to get all of ZangbandTK's sounds working in this latest version.

Last edited by Mushuukyou; March 12, 2010 at 22:52.
Mushuukyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12, 2010, 07:32   #2
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 6,702
Donated: $60
Nick is on a distinguished road
In latest V sound is an in-game option - first item on the interface option screen.
__________________
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12, 2010, 09:00   #3
Mushuukyou
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 18
Mushuukyou is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
In latest V sound is an in-game option - first item on the interface option screen.
I've enabled this, but still no sound...
Mushuukyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12, 2010, 10:52   #4
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 6,702
Donated: $60
Nick is on a distinguished road
It's fine for me in 3.1.2 v2 on Windows 7.
__________________
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12, 2010, 17:30   #5
redmelons
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
redmelons is on a distinguished road
Sound works 'out of the box' with Angband 3.1.2 v2 on OS X 10.6.2 (Snow Leopard). I even downloaded an extended sound set and was unsure how they should be enabled, but to my surprise just dropping the sounds into the 'sound' folder automatatically enable all the extra sounds. They quickly became annoying though so went back to the standard sound setup.
redmelons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12, 2010, 20:13   #6
Mushuukyou
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 18
Mushuukyou is on a distinguished road
Well I have Windows 7 64bit, and I have *NO* sound whatsoever for the game (windows sound works and other games work with sound).
I enabled the sound option in =, but doesn't work at all still.

I'd really like my sounds to work, and I'd like to know where you got your extended sounds. (I think I found some more sounds to add).

When I'm using Angband, it doesn't even show up as a sound option in my sound mixer... and usually you can see those things there so you can enable sound or not for them in the OS, and change the volume.

Last edited by Mushuukyou; March 12, 2010 at 20:41.
Mushuukyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12, 2010, 20:26   #7
Mushuukyou
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 18
Mushuukyou is on a distinguished road
I've tried to unpack the game on my C: drive (I usually play it on my flash drive so I can carry it around) and I also tried to put in the extra sounds in there, but no luck.

Sounds is enabled in the menu, but it's as if it doesn't give a shit.

My windows sounds work fine, my other game sounds work fine.

I just can't play anymore until I get sounds.. this silence thing is killin' me.

Things I've done to resolve:

* Turned on sound in options of Angband
* Downloaded sound drivers for my EVGA mobo
* Restarted my computer
* Ran the game in compatibility mode
* Ran the game with administrator rights

When I go into Angband, the option to use sound is set to "yes" always.
I was going to load it up, say no, exit the game, come back, then say yes and then see if it works... but when I come back to it and say yes, it's already at yes.

Some information that may help:

I can't get sound to work in Dungeon Crawl Stone Soup, either.

I downloaded the angband bundle with sound from:
http://chambrook.org/angband/soundfx.php

....and it didn't play any sound, either.


I'm starting to think it has something to do with the fact that I'm running 64bit of Windows 7.
I'm on an EVGA X58 mobo with on-board sound.. drivers updated to latest version.

I can launch the wav files just find and they'll play in windows no problem, but the game just won't utilize them.


Last edited by Mushuukyou; March 12, 2010 at 23:11.
Mushuukyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12, 2010, 23:31   #8
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 6,702
Donated: $60
Nick is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mushuukyou View Post
When I'm using Angband, it doesn't even show up as a sound option in my sound mixer... and usually you can see those things there so you can enable sound or not for them in the OS, and change the volume.
It doesn't for me either, but it does work. I'm running Win 7 64-bit as well - although I have only tested in a virtual machine. This beats me.
__________________
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 12, 2010, 23:39   #9
Mushuukyou
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 18
Mushuukyou is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
It doesn't for me either, but it does work. I'm running Win 7 64-bit as well - although I have only tested in a virtual machine. This beats me.
Well... it's messed up.

Can you go into Angband and turn off sound option, exit, come back and is it on or off then?

I really wish I knew what the problem is. I can't play at all with no sound.

So you're saying you've only run Angband in a VM with Windows?




I'm seriously thinking this is a 64bit issue.
I bet you we won't get anyone telling us they have Windows 7 64bit running and they can play Angband with sound no problem.

Last edited by Mushuukyou; March 13, 2010 at 00:25.
Mushuukyou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 13, 2010, 00:37   #10
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 52
Posts: 6,702
Donated: $60
Nick is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mushuukyou View Post
Can you go into Angband and turn off sound option, exit, come back and is it on or off then?
It all works exactly as expected.

Quote:
So you're saying you've only run Angband in a VM with Windows?


I'm seriously thinking this is a 64bit issue.
I bet you we won't get anyone telling us they have Windows 7 64bit running and they can play Angband with sound no problem.
I have a bootable Windows 7 64 bit partition on my Mac, which I can also open as a VM through OSX. I have been testing this in the VM. Later today I should have a chance to reboot into windows and try it natively.

One thing I thought - I am running Angband from a folder on my desktop. I know Win7 applies some extra rules when you have things installed in certain places (the Program Files folder, IIRC) - have you tried running it from somewhere else?
__________________
One Ring to rule them all, One Ring to find them,
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness bind them.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get sound working Mushuukyou Vanilla 0 February 27, 2010 07:59
flip-pickup not working? bron Vanilla 1 February 21, 2010 23:02
help with my varient i am working on treytrey119 Variants 1 May 9, 2008 03:31
unique drops working? CunningGabe Vanilla 6 February 8, 2008 18:00
Screen Saver still not working APWhite Vanilla 1 September 23, 2007 06:10


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.