Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old August 7, 2007, 23:04   #21
pgraham
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
pgraham is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgraham View Post
I used softy to discover that ascii code 4 is a dark grey block.

in font-win.prf I replaced all instances of 1/127 (which should be light grey block but isn't for some reason) with 1/4

and the walls are now dark grey blocks in Vista.
update: - you may have to play with it a bit.. I missed a few codes for "earth walls" and things in the NPP varient I am playing.

should be obvious in the font-win.prf file though. its well commented.
pgraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 8, 2007, 21:38   #22
ctate
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 18
ctate is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgraham View Post
I used softy to discover that ascii code 4 is a dark grey block.

in font-win.prf I replaced all instances of 1/127 (which should be light grey block but isn't for some reason) with 1/4 and the walls are now dark grey blocks in Vista.
Huh! That's awesome, although quite surprising. This is with 3.0.8 or 3.0.9?

(127 is not drawn under Vista because Windows now understands that character code 127 is not supposed to be printable, so it doesn't even try -- even though the font supplies a glyph for that code point.)

--
ctate
ctate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9, 2007, 21:07   #23
pgraham
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
pgraham is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctate View Post
Huh! That's awesome, although quite surprising. This is with 3.0.8 or 3.0.9?
ctate
Its actually in NPPangband but it should work with anything. - Silly vista.

Anyway this fix works great. in NPP there are coloured varients of the walls as well -- like darker grey for magma, brown for dirt, etc... and the colours all work fine with the ascii code 4, so its all good. Just look for any 127's in font-win.prf and replace them with "4" and you are set to go.
pgraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 9, 2007, 22:35   #24
pgraham
Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 4
pgraham is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by pgraham View Post
Its actually in NPPangband but it should work with anything. - Silly vista.

Sorry for the confusion... I guess NPP actually does have a different font set... if you want this to work in vanilla you would have to use the NPP font directory (uses 8x12 instead of 8x13 and some other changes) ... most of the ascii table is identical so I don't think this would affect display in vanilla .. (a "p" is still a "p", etc)... however I have not tested this extensivly so there may be some character substitution in vanilla.

anyway... a fix if you want to try it for vanilla

1. swap out your vanilla fonts folder for NPP's fonts (you may need to copy any vanilla fonts currently in use into the new fonts folder and then switch to NPP's version after your first game start-up. i.e. if you are using 8x13.fon which NPP dosn't have)

2. in font-win.prf change any reference to "127" into "4"
pgraham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 11, 2007, 03:01   #25
Madoka
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 64
Madoka is on a distinguished road
I just got a copy of Entroband 1.7.1. It uses the system's Courier font, I think, but is able to show blocks in Vista. Not smart enough to know why Entroband does that and not, say, Hengband 1.6.2.

Although I must admit that the Courier font is not as nice as the default font in Heng 1.6.2. The "." seems too small.

Edit: Ah, it can use the font that the other *bands use, and still show the blocks.

Last edited by Madoka; August 11, 2007 at 22:30.
Madoka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 3, 2007, 16:46   #26
binkley
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
binkley is on a distinguished road
What about a custom .fon file to solve this?

Looking at the top of font-win.prf in Anbgand 3.0.9:
# This file is used by Angband (when it was compiled using "main-win.c")
# to specify simple attr/char remappings using a standard font, allowing
# the use of special pseudo-graphic pictures for walls and such.
#
# Note that this file is extremely similar to the "font-ibm.prf" file,
# but it uses different codes, since it uses the special pseudo-graphic
# symbols defined in the "lib/xtra/font/*.FON" files, and there is only
# one special wall type, so we have to use special "colors".
I realize that perhaps the reason the wall characters to not appear is that perhaps the .fon file I use (10x20) is not a complete character set.

Cheers,
--binkley
binkley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 5, 2007, 10:57   #27
takkaria
Veteran
 
takkaria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,947
Donated: $40
takkaria is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by binkley View Post
I realize that perhaps the reason the wall characters to not appear is that perhaps the .fon file I use (10x20) is not a complete character set.
That font does have the wall tile, but Vista doesn't like displaying it.
takkaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 29, 2007, 03:25   #28
fink
Rookie
 
fink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
fink is on a distinguished road
This came up as well for us in MAngband (tho keep in mind we are based on a very ye olde version of Ang) - a number of Vista users were reporting a number of display related problems. One user tracked down the problem she was experiencing, and posted some comments on what she ran into, and how she fixed it in the following thread. Give a peek and see if it sounds like it might be up your alley:

http://www.mangband.org/cgi-bin/yabb...num=1189894722
fink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 12, 2008, 20:39   #29
d1sc0nnected
Scout
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 27
d1sc0nnected is on a distinguished road
Send a message via AIM to d1sc0nnected Send a message via MSN to d1sc0nnected
Suggestion above to delete font-win.prf does semi-solve the problem by making walls # and %, like old school moria, but I would love to fix it to show colored solid blocks again.

Graham's suggestion to manually change the ascii code from 127 to 4 switched my walls to subscript f's..so 4 is evidently not the correct ascii # for solid block. It seems that if I know what the default font set is for vanilla the correct code could be found.. anyone know what it is?

Or am I missing the root of the problem?
d1sc0nnected is offline   Reply With Quote
Old February 5, 2008, 13:54   #30
Kadoles
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 58
Kadoles is on a distinguished road
Has anyone found a replacement char for 127?

also what exactly does this line do in the font-win.prf file?

F:52:2/127
Kadoles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.