Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 21, 2009, 19:10   #1
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Restoring 6x9.fon - help needed

I decided I wanted to use the 6x9 font, which has been removed because it's non-free. I downloaded it from here:

http://trac.rephial.org/browser/trun.../6x9.fon?rev=2

and placed it into lib/xtra/font/, and started the game (in SDL mode). I clicked on a subwindow, clicked on the font menu and clicked on 6x9.fon, and got a thrilling new message:

A gruesome software bug LEAPS out at you! Panic save ....


... can anyone tell me how to fix this? Do I have to do anything else to 'register' the font? (This is Linux btw.)

Thanks in advance,

CC

Last edited by Magnate; May 21, 2009 at 21:59.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2009, 22:14   #2
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Ignore me. I downloaded it from the wrong link. When I downloaded the actual font file, instead of the web page it was on, it worked fine.
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2009, 22:16   #3
takkaria
Veteran
 
takkaria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,936
Donated: $40
takkaria is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnate View Post
Ignore me. I downloaded it from the wrong link. When I downloaded the actual font file, instead of the web page it was on, it worked fine.
Good to know that SDL's font-file loading routines are so well written.
__________________
takkaria whispers something about options. -more-
takkaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2009, 22:47   #4
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 7,849
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnate View Post
Ignore me. I downloaded it from the wrong link. When I downloaded the actual font file, instead of the web page it was on, it worked fine.
I disagree; IMHO takkaria should fix that so that the game parses the web page and then goes and gets the appropriate font. Or at least make that behaviour an option.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2009, 22:51   #5
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
I disagree; IMHO takkaria should fix that so that the game parses the web page and then goes and gets the appropriate font. Or at least make that behaviour an option.
Would that be before or after he writes the code to optimise window size, placement and font choice based on the screen resolution and window flag options?
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2009, 00:47   #6
Atarlost
Swordsman
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 441
Atarlost is on a distinguished road
After that, but before the code to search out your medical history in order to automatically adjust font choice based on your age and glasses prescription.
__________________
One Ring to rule them all. One Ring to bind them.
One Ring to bring them all and in the darkness interrupt the movie.
Atarlost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2009, 00:49   #7
PaulBlay
Knight
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 657
PaulBlay is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Atarlost View Post
After that, but before the code to search out your medical history in order to automatically adjust font choice based on your age and glasses prescription.
Yeah, I'm sure not going to get by with a 6x9.fon.
__________________
Currently turning (Angband) Japanese.
PaulBlay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 22, 2009, 09:33   #8
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulBlay View Post
Yeah, I'm sure not going to get by with a 6x9.fon.
I usually use 6x10 on a 1280x1024 screen, but I'm playing on a 1280x800 laptop so I have to choose between shrinking the font height or completely changing my window layout. 6x9 is just about tolerable if it allows me to leave the windows in their usual places. (I use 8x13 for the main window, which is fine.)
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
keypress_h needed? PaulBlay Development 2 April 22, 2009 16:01
Help needed with PuTTY and NumPad Magnate Vanilla 4 February 5, 2009 19:54
advice needed - never been this far down (3200') bebo Vanilla 9 February 2, 2009 22:24
[Un] Beginners pointers needed pndrev Variants 13 September 17, 2008 03:15
[Hell] Help needed for ASCII art konijn_ Variants 1 July 29, 2007 18:06


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.