Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 10, 2014, 00:46   #21
takkaria
Veteran
 
takkaria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,936
Donated: $40
takkaria is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick View Post
Same goes for anyone who can abide my brutal and autocratic management style.
I can vouch that Nick is where the Steve Jobs' soul went after he died.
__________________
takkaria whispers something about options. -more-
takkaria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10, 2014, 08:34   #22
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 7,835
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by LostTemplar View Post
How save files are working in current version ?
It refuses to save and I cannot fix it yet.

Not that bad, it works if I manually create ~/angband/Angaband/save
Seems like bug to me.
That's odd. Could that have been a permissions issue?
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10, 2014, 08:35   #23
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 7,835
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by takkaria View Post
I can vouch that Nick is where the Steve Jobs' soul went after he died.
you'll pay for that
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10, 2014, 10:10   #24
LostTemplar
Knight
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 670
LostTemplar is on a distinguished road
Quote:
That's odd. Could that have been a permissions issue?
Not likely, at first it simply was unable to save, then I did something and it started giving "cannot create /home/lt//.angband" message and quit, and then eventually it got magically fixed and now create required dirs if I delete them.

"cannot create" I can understand, but why it doesn't even try to create dirs at first.
LostTemplar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10, 2014, 10:53   #25
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 7,835
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by LostTemplar View Post
Not likely, at first it simply was unable to save, then I did something and it started giving "cannot create /home/lt//.angband" message and quit, and then eventually it got magically fixed and now create required dirs if I delete them.

"cannot create" I can understand, but why it doesn't even try to create dirs at first.
I don't think "cannot create" is an angband error message - maybe something to do with configure options.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10, 2014, 11:27   #26
LostTemplar
Knight
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 670
LostTemplar is on a distinguished road
Init.c line 215, message is from there.
Btw this function create_needed_dirs () is only called from main () if UNIX is defined, is it intended behaviour ?
Also it is called from main_crb, but nowhere else.

So it seems that it never create any dirs unless unix or OS X is used.

Also on unix it behave incorrectly if defines are incorrect, and I got this at first somehow (I cannot understand how autoconf works).

One more strange thing, it defines in autoconf.h a full path to angband, so it only can run from the same place, where it was compiled, IMHO not the best behaviour.

Last edited by LostTemplar; October 10, 2014 at 12:08.
LostTemplar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10, 2014, 12:24   #27
debo
Veteran
 
debo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,364
debo is on a distinguished road
You have to restructure your directories to play angband after the restructure. It's meta.
__________________
Glaurung, Father of the Dragons says, 'You cannot avoid the ballyhack.'
debo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 10, 2014, 15:24   #28
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 7,835
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Quote:
Originally Posted by LostTemplar View Post
Init.c line 215, message is from there.
Btw this function create_needed_dirs () is only called from main () if UNIX is defined, is it intended behaviour ?
Also it is called from main_crb, but nowhere else.

So it seems that it never create any dirs unless unix or OS X is used.

Also on unix it behave incorrectly if defines are incorrect, and I got this at first somehow (I cannot understand how autoconf works).

One more strange thing, it defines in autoconf.h a full path to angband, so it only can run from the same place, where it was compiled, IMHO not the best behaviour.
So, a few things.

I think you have master branch; you probably want restruct.

UNIX is defined for everything except Windows.

The best way to build from the github source is
Code:
./autogen.sh
./configure (you may want options here like --with-no-install to run out of the source directory; --help gives an exhaustive list)
make
and if you are installing
Code:
make install (or maybe sudo make install)
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 27, 2014, 13:41   #29
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 54
Posts: 7,835
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Last Friday (or Saturday, or both, depending where you live) we had a devteam meeting; this seems a good time to do an update.

Main stuff since last update:
  • Effect unification is complete
  • A lot of duplicate spell code has been removed
  • More work on the core-UI split.
  • Terrain types have been drastically simplified, and door locks are now handled in the trap layer instead of the terrain layer
  • Monster memory is now in a separate file in the user directory instead of in savefiles
  • The monster movement and attack code has been reorganised and cleaned up
  • Many of the game constants have been put in an edit file rather than being compiled in, so they are user alterable
  • Edit file format has been standardised, and edit files made (hopefully) more readable
  • Lots of other code simplification.

Looking forward, we are hoping to get the code to a playable state probably fairly early next year, and do some form of pre-release so that people can shoot holes in it all. Once we actually have a real release, I believe we should be able to do actual new stuff at a fairly rapid rate.

Thanks to everyone for your patience, and to everyone who is contributing to this process; also especial thanks to the devteam for at least trying to keep some sort of check on my insanity.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 31, 2014, 20:09   #30
AnonymousHero
Veteran
 
AnonymousHero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,367
AnonymousHero is on a distinguished road
Just curious: Is it semi-playable, or is it too buggy/crashy for that ATM? (I don't mind starting new games if there are savefile compat changes or if the game eats a character.)
AnonymousHero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ladder restructure request OOD Town drunk Vanilla 7 April 4, 2013 17:11
v4 update Magnate v4 10 December 13, 2011 14:40
Ladder Update UglySquirrell Vanilla 2 September 20, 2011 05:50
Quickband update Antoine Variants 11 March 21, 2011 02:26
Help me update PosBand! pampl Development 20 December 27, 2010 19:55


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 07:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.