Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old July 27, 2008, 16:34   #1
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Something odd about monster.txt

(Reposted from rgra in case anyone here can help)

Magnate wrote:
> Magnate wrote:
>> "Werner Baer" <werner.baer@gmx.de> wrote
>>> "Magnate" <not@receiving.here> schrieb...
>>>>
>>>> My investigations into vortices have made me fear that I don't
>>>> understand something about monster.txt, or that something has changed.
>>> [...]
>>>> Checking my current monster.txt for 3.0.9b, sure enough all the early
>>>> vortices have W lines starting W:21:1...
>>>>
>>>> Yet they show up on my current monster recall as being native to 350', not 1050' ...??
>>>
>>> The game reads the data from monster.raw in the lib/data folder.
>>> That file gets recreated from monster.txt if it's not there, or
>>> monster.txt is newer.
>>>
>>> So delete your monster.raw file, and all should be fine after the next
>>> start.
>>
>> Wow. How on earth did that happen?

Well, I still don't know how, but every time I start Angband it writes a
version of monster.txt into /home/chrisc/.angband/Angband - regardless of what is in /etc/angband/edit or /var/games/angband/data

Once upon a time, about a year ago, I downloaded UnAndrew's rebalanced monster.txt for 3.0.8 - http://prdownload.berlios.de/unangband/monster.txt
(see http://angband.oook.cz/forum/showthread.php?t=30)

This is the monster.txt that is getting created in my ~/.angband/Angband
directory every time I start Angband. I don't understand how - it doesn't
exist anywhere on this system.

What I don't understand is,

1. Why is it doing this? Does anybody else's version write monster.txt into
their home dir?

2. Where is it getting its info from? The only other monster.txt on the
system is in /etc/angband/edit and is the untouched version from 3.0.9b

3. Why is it ignoring the correct monster.txt in /etc/angband/edit?

Really grateful if somebody could help me get to the bottom of this. It does
this whenever Angband starts, no matter what I do. (It doesn't happen on my Windows version.)

... well, at least I now know the source of the problem. Somehow my Angband installation recreates UnAndrew's rebalanced 3.0.8 monster list (even though the one it creates in ~/.angband/Angband is more up to date than that, complete with FORGET flags). So, a question for Takkaria: did you incorporate UnAndrew's rebalancing code into 3.0.9 or 3.0.9b?

If not, I can't understand why this is happening. The monster.txt in /etc/angband/edit is being totally ignored. The game is creating its own version, the instant it starts (without loading a savefile, without any monster.raw existing, before a character is even created).

Does nobody else have this problem??

CC
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old July 29, 2008, 22:02   #2
andrewdoull
Unangband maintainer
 
andrewdoull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
Age: 45
Posts: 872
andrewdoull is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnate View Post
(Reposted from rgra in case anyone here can help)

Does nobody else have this problem??

CC
Check your config.h. You've probably enabled ALLOW_TEMPLATES_foo (I can't remember what the foo is), which does this behaviour.

Andrew
__________________
The Roflwtfzomgbbq Quylthulg summons L33t Paladins -more-
In UnAngband, the level dives you.
ASCII Dreams: http://roguelikedeveloper.blogspot.com
Unangband: http://unangband.blogspot.com
andrewdoull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old August 3, 2008, 01:25   #3
Magnate
Angband Devteam member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 5,057
Magnate is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Magnate Send a message via Yahoo to Magnate
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewdoull View Post
Check your config.h. You've probably enabled ALLOW_TEMPLATES_foo (I can't remember what the foo is), which does this behaviour.
Yes, thanks - ALLOW_TEMPLATES_PROCESS had been switched on in the Debian build. I've rebuilt my own version and alerted the Debian maintainer.

My version has a run-time switch for this, so you can edit monster.txt, see what happens with rebalancing, and then play without rebalancing, all without recompiling. I posted the patch for this to rgra.

CC
Magnate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Editing the monster.txt file Jothar Hillpeople Vanilla 3 September 4, 2008 20:23
(Macintosh 3.0.9b) Where are the .txt files hiding? Skyknight Vanilla 2 April 17, 2008 15:00
Odd question about corpses Jude Variants 8 November 23, 2007 18:03
new to Angband, found a few things odd... Mongler Vanilla 13 October 13, 2007 07:23
Really odd artifact experience ctate Vanilla 12 August 7, 2007 12:13


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.