Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Obsolete > v4

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 2, 2012, 00:43   #1
dionysian
Apprentice
 
dionysian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Washington, DC Metropolitan Area
Age: 36
Posts: 64
dionysian is on a distinguished road
Walls

They don't seem to show up. :-o

I'm not sure how to mess with the characters that are displayed anymore... I probably did about 10 or 15 years ago. :P
__________________
Oh, Mr. Speaker, I had underestimated the tenderness of the feelings of the members opposite.
--Barney Frank
dionysian is offline  
Old March 2, 2012, 07:10   #2
d_m
Angband Devteam member
 
d_m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age: 39
Posts: 1,516
d_m is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by dionysian View Post
They don't seem to show up. :-o

I'm not sure how to mess with the characters that are displayed anymore... I probably did about 10 or 15 years ago. :P
What OS are you playing on? If Linux, what graphics mode are you using (GCU? X11? SDL? GTK?)
__________________
linux->xterm->screen->pmacs
d_m is offline  
Old March 3, 2012, 06:54   #3
dionysian
Apprentice
 
dionysian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Washington, DC Metropolitan Area
Age: 36
Posts: 64
dionysian is on a distinguished road
Using Linux. The same thing happens in both gcu and x11.
__________________
Oh, Mr. Speaker, I had underestimated the tenderness of the feelings of the members opposite.
--Barney Frank
dionysian is offline  
Old March 3, 2012, 19:43   #4
dionysian
Apprentice
 
dionysian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Washington, DC Metropolitan Area
Age: 36
Posts: 64
dionysian is on a distinguished road
So, I was able to go to the knowledge screen, find granite walls, which were some non-visible character or empty. I changed it to a white hash symbol, to look like normal walls. But now they only show up when the light is shining on them... which does look kind of cool, but it's a bit distracting.

The features that always show up seem to have three of the symbols displayed... but I don't know how to do that from within the knowledge screen.

Also, it is a little weird when selecting characters when changing them, because the cursor is shifted several spaces. Not the end of the world, though.
__________________
Oh, Mr. Speaker, I had underestimated the tenderness of the feelings of the members opposite.
--Barney Frank
dionysian is offline  
Old March 3, 2012, 22:24   #5
ghengiz
Adept
 
ghengiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Roaming in Terry Pratchett's Discworld
Posts: 178
ghengiz is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by dionysian View Post
So, I was able to go to the knowledge screen, find granite walls, which were some non-visible character or empty. I changed it to a white hash symbol, to look like normal walls. But now they only show up when the light is shining on them... which does look kind of cool, but it's a bit distracting.

The features that always show up seem to have three of the symbols displayed... but I don't know how to do that from within the knowledge screen.

Also, it is a little weird when selecting characters when changing them, because the cursor is shifted several spaces. Not the end of the world, though.
Maybe this old post can be useful...
HTML Code:
http://angband.oook.cz/forum/showpost.php?p=3827&postcount=6
ghengiz is offline  
Old March 3, 2012, 22:50   #6
dionysian
Apprentice
 
dionysian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Washington, DC Metropolitan Area
Age: 36
Posts: 64
dionysian is on a distinguished road
After glancing at that, I decided to poke around the pref files.. I didn't see anything that jumped out as the obvious solution. So I dumped the pref, and saw there were 3 lines: bright, lit and dark. I changed bright and dark to match lit, and now walls seem to be functioning.

Though having to go through that process just to get visible walls still strikes me as kind of buggish. Walls should work out of the box.

And also it kind of throws off the visual style. Non-granite walls are solid blocks and it clashes.
__________________
Oh, Mr. Speaker, I had underestimated the tenderness of the feelings of the members opposite.
--Barney Frank
dionysian is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Oldschool walls Whelk Vanilla 21 June 19, 2011 23:09
Bugged walls researcher Vanilla 16 October 12, 2009 15:41
Help With Walls In Vista z118 Vanilla 2 December 8, 2008 16:44
(Un, G, FA, etc) High ASCII walls? Taqq Variants 6 December 5, 2007 16:26
[FA,Un] I want me walls back !! Arralen Variants 5 November 15, 2007 09:19


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.