Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Vanilla

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 11, 2020, 10:12   #1
Kazmahu
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 7
Kazmahu is on a distinguished road
Game crush when changing subwindow settings?

Putting this here because there's a nonzero chance this is user error rather than a bug. I'm trying to set term-7 to display player (extra). I go into the options, remove the X under seven for player (compact), place one for (extra), then press ESC to get out of the menus... and the game unceremoniously crashes without retaining the settings, every time. I don't have term-0 open (in fact this is my first attempt to deviate from the default window setup) and the only change I've made in the menu bar is shrinking the main view's font size to zoom out a bit. Do I need to do something first to make sure the change goes through?
Kazmahu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11, 2020, 10:56   #2
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 55
Posts: 8,509
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
That certainly shouldn't happen. What do you mean by
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kazmahu View Post
I don't have term-0 open
- term-0 usually means the main window. Did you mean term-7? Also I assume you're playing in Windows - is that correct?
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 11, 2020, 11:08   #3
Kazmahu
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 7
Kazmahu is on a distinguished road
Whoops! Yes, I meant term-7. And yeah, windows. Just downloaded whatever package is recommended to me on the landing page - 4.2.1, unzip-and-go version. I'm playing on an up-to-date version of win10 64-bit, if that helps.
Kazmahu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11, 2020, 11:44   #4
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 55
Posts: 8,509
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
This doesn't happen for me on Windows, and there haven't been any other reports like this. Some things you could try:
  • Just toggle a window off and exit
  • Change some other windows besides 7
  • Have 7 open when you change it
If you play with it for a bit and get a sense of what makes the crash and what doesn't, that would be helpful.
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 11, 2020, 11:53   #5
Kazmahu
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 7
Kazmahu is on a distinguished road
Had a play and somehow got it to work. At first it kept happening whether the window was on or not, but other setting work. One thing I did before trying (extra) again was resizing the window, which was *way* too small for all the text to display. So I don't know if it was connected to the game trying to cram far too much text into a tiny window? In any case, looks stable now. Thanks!
Kazmahu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 11, 2020, 11:55   #6
Nick
Vanilla maintainer
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 55
Posts: 8,509
Donated: $60
Nick will become famous soon enough
Excellent
__________________
One for the Dark Lord on his dark throne
In the Land of Mordor where the Shadows lie.
Nick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old October 11, 2020, 17:09   #7
backwardsEric
Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 92
backwardsEric is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kazmahu View Post
I don't have term-0 open (in fact this is my first attempt to deviate from the default window setup) and the only change I've made in the menu bar is shrinking the main view's font size to zoom out a bit. Do I need to do something first to make sure the change goes through?
The crash you mentioned is repeatable on OS X when terminal 7 is not tall enough. I see you found the workaround.

Last edited by backwardsEric; October 11, 2020 at 18:07. Reason: Only saw the first two posts, edited to reflect the others
backwardsEric is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
subwindow setup voirin Vanilla 2 September 18, 2013 17:50
changing command settings help bryony80 Vanilla 3 February 25, 2013 19:26
Subwindow display settings. LCC Vanilla 10 August 21, 2009 02:25
3.1.0 subwindow bug miyazaki Vanilla 1 January 16, 2009 23:36
3.1 subwindow display settings RogerN Vanilla 6 January 15, 2009 09:02


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.