Angband.oook.cz
Angband.oook.cz
AboutVariantsLadderForumCompetitionComicScreenshotsFunniesLinks

Go Back   Angband Forums > Angband > Development

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old October 7, 2018, 13:45   #51
t4nk
Swordsman
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 330
t4nk is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by fph View Post
Issue: the SDL2 port does not display the cursor. This makes the 'look' command, for instance, almost unusable.
You probably disabled it in menu? (the one in the top left corner: Menu -> Angband -> Cursor). TBH, I don't even remember why this option is there
t4nk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old October 7, 2018, 14:59   #52
fph
Knight
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Berlin / Italy
Posts: 792
fph is on a distinguished road
Yep, good call, thanks! I must have clicked on it inadvertently when I was playing around to get the window sizes right.
__________________
Dive fast, die young, leave a high-CHA corpse.
--
You read a scroll labeled 'lol gtfo' of Teleport Level.

Last edited by fph; October 7, 2018 at 17:09.
fph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 25, 2018, 01:38   #53
wkmanire
Rookie
 
wkmanire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Seattle, USA
Posts: 5
wkmanire is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Looking good!

I tried out the new SDL2 graphics mode and it is really looking great. I love the @ background too. I have a couple of suggestions for the menu behavior though.

Toggling Menu Items
For toggle-able menu options, such as whether to show the cursor or not, there really should be some kind of checkbox interface. When menu items are "greyed out" or "black", they seem like they're disabled and not available for being clicked on as opposed to being toggled off.

Resizing Windows
For some reason, I did not see the resize and move options in the right hand side of the menu bar for a good 5 minutes. I kept searching for a way to resize the windows the same way it worked in the SDL1.2 version. I think this new design is clean and it reduces the possibility of accidentally moving or resizing windows (for people that use the mouse to interact with the game). At the same time, it's probably not intuitive, especially for users going to SDL2 from SDL1. I don't have a suggestion for how to improve this though, other than the standard resize behavior of mousing over the border of a window and seeing the cursor change.

Great work dudes! Looking forward to seeing this UI land in an official release.
__________________
Experience Points: 19 dead characters
wkmanire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 15, 2019, 12:57   #54
t4nk
Swordsman
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 330
t4nk is on a distinguished road
Hi, thanks for feedback! Sorry for abandoning you guys temporarily.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wkmanire View Post
I tried out the new SDL2 graphics mode and it is really looking great. I love the @ background too. I have a couple of suggestions for the menu behavior though.

Toggling Menu Items
For toggle-able menu options, such as whether to show the cursor or not, there really should be some kind of checkbox interface. When menu items are "greyed out" or "black", they seem like they're disabled and not available for being clicked on as opposed to being toggled off.
Reasonable complaint. Perhaps the text of menu items should also be highlighted on mouseover? (like buttons do)

Quote:
Resizing Windows
For some reason, I did not see the resize and move options in the right hand side of the menu bar for a good 5 minutes. I kept searching for a way to resize the windows the same way it worked in the SDL1.2 version. I think this new design is clean and it reduces the possibility of accidentally moving or resizing windows (for people that use the mouse to interact with the game). At the same time, it's probably not intuitive, especially for users going to SDL2 from SDL1. I don't have a suggestion for how to improve this though, other than the standard resize behavior of mousing over the border of a window and seeing the cursor change.
Actually the main reason for doing the UI like that was what Grotug said ("I don't like to see any elements that aren't part of the game on my screen. Therefore, it's really important to me to have the main Angband window take up as much of my screen as possible, and for there to be no white space anywhere on the screen ...")
One of the things I really didn't like about SDL1 port is that UI elements are small and bright (yellow), while the game itself is very dark. Small, bright elements of dark background attract attention, which is the opposite of how the UI should be - it's the game that is the foreground, and UI is background! The buttons (especially "Size" and "Move") are hard to notice, which is a problem, but on the other hand, it's a feature
Anyway, it's indeed a bit of a problem and I think the way to fix it is to add "Help" item to the menu, which will display a short help file, describing how to use the UI. Come to think of it, I can reuse Angband's help reader for that... Anyone wants to write the help file?
t4nk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 19, 2019, 23:58   #55
Bandobras
Knight
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 725
Bandobras is on a distinguished road
Oooh, great news! I'd like to try that. I couldn't find any summary on the first post of this thread. Could you tell me how to compile your work? Is it on some branch or just master?

Last edited by Bandobras; January 20, 2019 at 00:25.
Bandobras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20, 2019, 22:16   #56
fph
Knight
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Berlin / Italy
Posts: 792
fph is on a distinguished road
@Bandobras: it is in master. I have recently posted instructions on how to compile it (for Linux) in another thread: http://angband.oook.cz/forum/showpos...63&postcount=9 .
__________________
Dive fast, die young, leave a high-CHA corpse.
--
You read a scroll labeled 'lol gtfo' of Teleport Level.
fph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 20, 2019, 23:48   #57
Bandobras
Knight
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 725
Bandobras is on a distinguished road
Thank you very much. I've got it to compile on Ubuntu 16.04 with `./configure --with-no-install --enable-sdl2 --disable-sdl2-mixer` and it runs perfectly, except for 2 quirks. First, I couldn't get rid of the transparency and actually start playing until I quit and restarted for the first time. Second, I can't get rid of the top row, the SDL menu. If the "Top" option is supposed to show/hide it, it doesn't and it seems to have no effect.
Bandobras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 22, 2019, 23:52   #58
t4nk
Swordsman
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 330
t4nk is on a distinguished road
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bandobras View Post
First, I couldn't get rid of the transparency and actually start playing until I quit and restarted for the first time.
What do you mean "get rid of transparency"?

Quote:
Second, I can't get rid of the top row, the SDL menu.
It's always shown. I considered adding an option to hide it, but decided that it's small enough already.

Quote:
If the "Top" option is supposed to show/hide it, it doesn't and it seems to have no effect.
This option is applied to terms (subwindows), and it means "always on top". This can be useful if you play with a mouse (except noone plays Angband with a mouse )
Someone really should write a readme
I am still pretty busy ATM, but hopefully soon I will find some time to work on the port. In the meantime, people, keep reporting about various issues!
t4nk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 23, 2019, 01:32   #59
Bandobras
Knight
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 725
Bandobras is on a distinguished road
All fair enough.

Quote:
Originally Posted by t4nk View Post
What do you mean "get rid of transparency"?
Initially the game window was partially transparent, with the @ warrior picture below it. Which was quite distracting. When I restarted, either the main game window became fully opaque, or the picture below vanished. Anyway, the background is black now, which is what I wanted.
Bandobras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old January 26, 2019, 10:58   #60
Bandobras
Knight
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 725
Bandobras is on a distinguished road
BTW, I'd like to report the scaled font I'm aspiring to contribute to Angband (https://github.com/angband/angband/b...s/16x16xw.woff) works fine with the SDL2 frontend. The only problem: 'size' ends at 21 points, and the font (being cheaply generated from a bitmap font) looks best at 16, 24, 32, etc. For 4K monitors it would make sense to bump it to 32 or even 64.

Last edited by Bandobras; January 26, 2019 at 11:15.
Bandobras is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
libsdl2


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Android-port not work Angrist Vanilla 1 October 14, 2014 04:24
Web Port wilbur07 Vanilla 6 February 27, 2014 14:39
OpenGL port BreathesFire Development 2 November 3, 2011 08:22
[FA] NDS port Donald Jonker Variants 54 October 6, 2011 16:49
[V] Gtk port Magnate Development 1 February 24, 2009 10:48


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.